We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel Amalfi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amalfi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Amalfi
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Hotel Amalfi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

While backpacking through Europe a couple friends and I decided to treat ourselves and head to Amalfi, Italy. We stayed at Hotel Amalfi and absolutely loved it! The hotel is in the perfect location tucked away right in the city square and very close to the beach. The staff were very friendly and most of them spoke very good english which was a plus. We got to know the night staff particularly well and they even phoned to wake us up one morning when we had accidentally overslept. Free breakfast in the mornings is good but nothing amazing. The roof top terrace where breakfast is, is very nice though! This hotel is definitely a bargain and the rooms were very nice and clean. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    176
    75
    37
    14
See reviews for
87
216
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

After enjoying our stay here last year, we were satisfied with our decision to stay here again. We split our stay here, staying in a double room for a night and then after staying in Ravello for a couple nights, we returned to stay in a deluxe double for a few more nights. Both rooms were nice with the deluxe being bigger and having a small balcony. Both had nice bathrooms, air conditioning, mini-fridges, and comfortable beds. WiFi is available in the lobby and on the first floor; it is somewhat slow, but still a great way to stay connected and send some photos out to friends. For a quiet break from the tourist crowds, there is a simple garden terrace off the third floor. The breakfast on the top floor terrace is nice by Italian standards. We felt the staff was friendly and helpful; Salvadore seemed to always know everyone's name even though the hotel has 40 rooms. The staff was helpful with helping guests with booking taxis, and suggesting events for tourists. The location is great--a five minute walk from the bus/ferry plaza and just a couple minutes from the piazza duomo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrqtTrvlr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and found the Amalfi tremendous value for the price. The staff were so helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. Bathrooms and bedrooms immaculate (bed was hard for us but everyone is different) The location is perfect as it is central to all the shops and restaurants. We will be visiting Amalfi again at some time and will definitely be staying at the Amalfi Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

For a nightly price of around 100 euros, hotel amalfi offers comparatively good value - especially considering it's a five minute walk to the beach and just two minutes to the main square. Some rooms are better than others - but the staff are always happy to offer upgrades where available. Be warned it can get noisy as other reviews mention, but overall a great option if you want a good location at relatively low price. We've returned twice.

Room Tip: Third floor balcony room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieJamesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our 65th hotel stay, on an extended around-the-world trip.

Overall: We felt the hotel was overpriced for the standard, and in comparison to the other Amalfi hotel we’d just stayed in; staff were a little unfriendly and we’d had a more enjoyable stay in a room twice the size, and at much better value at the L’Antico Convitto just across the road (see my review on that).

We decided on a longer stay in Amalfi, and unfortunately our previous hotel was full. We booked a double room here with aircon, and including breakfast for five nights on hotels.com the day prior to our stay, for EUR120/night (USD/AUD$147.50 per night). This was amongst the highest hotel prices we’ve paid in ten months of travel in around 20 countries, and we considered it poor value, especially compared to the other Amalfi hotel we stayed in.

What’s good: The hotel is just off the main Amalfi thoroughfare (up 18 cobbled steps) and our room (#101) was air-conditioned (essential in summer), clean with a fairly large bathroom. The window was able to be opened. Wifi was free and accessible in our room and on the terrace, though you’ll need to regularly re-enter a password and username (provided by reception). Our room also had a wardrobe, small desk, small colour tv (high up on the wall) and mini fridge. No tea/coffee making facilities. Bidet in bathroom. Room/bathroom has tiled floors.

Bedding was firm with flat pillows. Double-glazed windows prevented street noise, although our room was next to the door leading to the external stairs and alleyway, which was regularly slammed. We also experienced some noise from loud guests in reception and the room upstairs, so sleeping with earplugs was essential. Thick curtains help darken the room for sleeping, although the location of the room made it naturally dark anyway.

Disappointments: I was suprised to read other reviewers’ comments regarding spacious rooms, as ours was quite small. Another review suggesting there is a private beach has the wrong establishment. We had no balcony either, and our window looked onto an alleyway and a window in an opposite building. There were only two powerpoints in the room – one high on the wall for the television, and one in the bathroom, so using and charging electronic appliances was quite difficult. No tea/coffee making facilities in room.

On check-in we discovered the mini fridge in our room wasn’t working. After attempting to resolve the issue ourselves (perhaps it wasn’t plugged in properly?), we raised it with a gentleman at reception. He came to our room and tried the same things we did, but clearly it wasn’t working and as it was warm and had been for some time.

He asked us to wait half an hour to see if the fridge got cold. We explained it was warm now and didn’t seem to be working and therefore wasn’t likely to get colder. As well, we’d just purchased cold beers and were wanting them to stay that way. We were advised to go back to reception and explain the issue to someone else. We raised the issue in a polite, non-adversarial way and were firstly told it was ‘a mini bar’, and not a fridge. I’m not sure if we were expected to just accept that comment and go away, and despite some minor language difficulties (although we speak and understand a little Italian), it made no sense to us whatsoever – we didn’t think it was a non-refrigerated cupboard. On explaining we wanted to put our drinks in it to keep them cool, we were informed in a defensive and curt manner, they’d have to call someone to have it repaired. Which wasn’t really our problem. Several phone calls and conversations between themselves, we returned to our room to find a housekeeper inspecting the fridge, and in a few minutes she swapped it for one that did work. Just a small issue we felt could have been handled with a little more professionalism and pleasantry rather than the nonsense story we were given in a ‘it’s your fault’ kind of way.

Breakfast included in our rate was each morning until 10am, and on the fifth floor terrace. There’s not much of a view from the terrace and in summer it can be quite hot and stifling until well after sundown. Several varieties of cereal as well as croissants, a cut-up jam pastry, cold meat and cheese and juice were on offer. The fruit looked a little like seconds (bruised and brown spots) and despite having a proper expresso machine, it was suprising to see coffee (previously brewed?) poured from a stainless steel jug, then topped up with (sometimes) freshly frothed milk.

Whilst staff were mostly polite, greetings weren’t particularly warm or genuine when they were offered.

Security was average with rooms having a key rather than swipe access, and a keyed safe was available in the room (for a EU20 refundable key deposit – we had no problems with the refund), although we didn’t appreciate our passports being left in the room-key pidgeon hole in the unmanned reception area. For those travelling to Italy for the first time – hotels collect your passport on check-in to fill in traveller details for immigration purposes and (hopefully) return them to you later.

Our other experiences in the town ranged from quite deliberate overcharging and what seems to be a common sentiment of just tolerating tourists.

Nearby: Amalfi has a pharmacy, supermarket and delicatessen, as well as a Post Offiice (on the main boulevard opposite the beach). Restaurants that did provide great food and friendly service for reasonable prices without deliberate overcharging included Maccus, Pizzeria Donna Stella (fantastic pizzas) , the Cafe Duomo (in the square) and Il Teatro (great homestyle meals). There’s also a laundrymat with a wash and dry service (EU6 per kilo) – much cheaper than hotel rates, along the main thoroughfare, although they rounded up the weight to the nearest kilo, and were amongst the rudest people we’ve encountered in 10 months of around the world travel. See if you can get them to smile!

Places to Avoid: Bar ‘Lo Scugnizzo’ - EUR5 for a small toasted ham and (plastic-covered packet slice) cheese sandwhich, and Il Pianeta del Gelato – the gelato shop next to the fruit salad shop - depending on your nationality, you’ll likely be overcharged as I was with the price of the same gelati increasing from one day to the next.

Sadly Amalfi has become tourist-saturated with hundreds of cruise ship visitors each day, and the general unfriendliness and tourist price gouging makes me hesitant to recommend it as a place to visit. To minimise disappointment, I’d recommend a stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try L'Antico Convito across the road for cheaper, larger rooms, friendlier staff, better quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in July2012. A tad expensive at E213.00. but the room was a good size (there are larger ones with sofa's) bathroom excellent with a bath as well. fridge included. Unfortunately most smaller hotel/B&b do not have coffee making facilities in rooms. Otherwise it was great, staff helpful and spoke good English for us . Wifi available but sometimes did not reach the higher up rooms. Foyer was great for this. 5 floors but there is a lift.
I would like to add a tip re food in Amalfi and I guess other places along the coast. If you have had enough pizza and pasta for a while there is a small delicatessen type shop where you can get ham,cheese and salad rolls made fresh for about E3.00 and soft drink/water for E1.00. Go up the alley opp Bank di Napoli, keep right and you will find a shop called Alimentari. Run by an older couple. great for take away lunches and cheap cold beer/wine. There is a takeaway pizza joint that does chicken and chips also up the main drag on the right. Tiny little place and easy to miss. Happy eating

Room Tip: rooms at the back dull the church bell chimes. Although not really a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leganes
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of the town, but not in the noisy main street, and with only a handful of steps away..We have two double rooms sharing a balcony and facing a patio. We experienced no noise at all and a good rest. The rooms were large and clean, with modern bathrooms. Staff is friendly and talkative, and the hotel is a little weird, with indoor and outdoor steps. Good coffee in the mornings, but I think in general the breakfast is only passable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the patio to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patanete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfi

Property: Hotel Amalfi
Address: Vico Dei Pastai 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amalfi 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing