We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but actual room was not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amalfi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel
Save
You added A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel to your Saves list
Piazza Umberto I, 5-6 | Amalfi, Campania, Italy, 84010, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location but actual room was not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is good for budget conscious travellers who want to relax in the small town of Atrani. The location is great and the brothers who run the hotel were very friendly and helpful. That said, do not come with high expectations for the actual room. We stayed in a dorm, which was clean but old and the bathroom was not up to par. See below for further details.

Pros:
• Very affordable for travellers with a budget
• The room and linen was clean, although the building was pretty old and somewhat run down
• The brothers who run the hostel were extremely friendly and helpful
• Breakfast was served in a common area and included a hot beverage, OJ and croissants
• The location was great for accessing both Atrani and Amalfi (Amalfi was only a 10min walk away)
• We loved the town of Atrani, which is very quiet and relaxing with a beautiful beach (located just minutes from the hotel)

Cons:
• The biggest problem with this hostel was the fact that the shower was not separated from the rest of the bathroom so whenever someone took a shower the floor and toilet got all wet
• Although free wifi is available, it is only available in the breakfast area, which means you can’t access it in the afternoon unless you sit outside the breakfast room (which is closed after 11am) and then the speed is pretty slow

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdyck4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    44
    10
    9
    12
See reviews for
7
33
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The room we stayed in was great: a nice double room, really close to Atrani's wonderful main piazza with a little balcony. Breakfast was included and the owners were helpful and friendly. Rooms did seem to vary a lot in quality. Ours was fantastic but the twin rooms seemed a bit small for the same price. Comparing it with other places in Italy in August, it was pretty good value.

Room Tip: Doubles seem much better than twins for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The staff are terrific. Very friendly, they made us feel especially welcome at breakfast when they would entertain our seven-month-old son so that my husband and I could enjoy breakfast together -- we're not sure if A'Scalinatella should be reviewed as an accommodation or a baby-sitting service!

Everything is expensive on the Almafi Coast, so the prices at A'Scalinatella are okay, especially given the fantastic location. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable enough, but the washrooms are below par. Musty and damp, the bathrooms were more of an encouragement to head to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluangel_bug02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband stayed at Ascalinatella 6 years ago but Filipo remembered him, so arriving in Atrani felt very warm and welcoming. We had a great room with our own bathroom, and loved how close we were to the square (and Bar Birecto) and the beach. Every morning we had great conversations with Filipo at breakfast, and they looked after us so very well. We felt that our money was well spent here and we look forward to coming back!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Countthebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at the end of June. Our room was clean, comfortable and ideally located just away from the main square. The owners Filippo and Gabriele were extremely helpful and made us feel like locals rather than tourists.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Local_Cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruden bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our stay at A' Scalinatella was just amazing. Having booked into the hostel, we were offered instead, an apartment overlooking the Piazza Umberto. We felt so much part of what was happening in Atrani. The atmosphere was tremendous as was the help we received from Filippo. We would certainly return.

Jill & Steve, Slains Studio, Cruden Bay, Scotland

Room Tip: We would thoroughly reccommend the room above the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel is in Atrani, a gorgeous 10 minute walk from Amalfi. We stayed in an apartment, which overlooked Piazza Umberto the cutest Piazza we found in Italy. The owners are great, more than willing to help. When we arrived with another couple we had booked 2 separate rooms, but he upgraded us to an available apartment for free. The hotel is pretty run down and dingy...it seemed that no one had stayed in this apartment for years. The floors/bathrooms/kitchen was so nasty (I never took my shoes off once). BUT if you could get over that part, the rest of the stay here was amazing. Great time!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#23 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#27 of 29 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Me.Fra Camere di Sonia Criscuolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sharon House
Sharon House
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Ferraioli
Palazzo Ferraioli
#1 of 3 in Atrani
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel

Property: A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel
Address: Piazza Umberto I, 5-6 | Amalfi, Campania, Italy, 84010, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 243
Also Known As:
a Scalinatella Hostel Hotel
a Scalinatella Hostel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing