We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
B&B Residence Caprice
Nearby Hotels
$840
$762
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$488
$474
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Lara(Amalfi)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$266
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$466
$412
Residence Amalfi
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miramalfi Hotel(Amalfi)
$294
$279
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$540
$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aurora(Amalfi)
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amalfi(Amalfi)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
1
7
2
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
7
2
3
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 19 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2005

On the positive side: good location overlooking the harbor. Noise not a factor at night due to incredibly good shutters which eliminated all the noise to a whisper--even the church bells. Everything was clean, breakfast terrace very pleasant. Decent price at 130 Euros per night.

Negatives: I think we were in a spare room as it did not have a room number and our keys were different than the other keys. Plus, our entry was via another door down the hall which opened up into a suite of rooms, all the other rooms occupied by a family as their home. Their clothes were in our closets (although there was plenty of space for our clothes). The last night I think they hid the A/C remote from us so we wouldn't use it. The hotel was up several flights of stairs and had no real entrance. Once out the door, you were in the street (not even a sidewalk).

IN all, we enjoyed it and found the negatives just quirky. However, next time staying in Amalfi would probably check out other hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in early September, and were attracted by the reviews elsewhere, and the photos on the website.
We emailed the owner requesting Room 5, as per recommendations, and were given room 2 on arrival for 2 nights as room 5 was occupied. For the last 3 nights of our stay we moved to room 5 which was a pain moving but worthwhile.
I was disapointed with room 2. It was averagely sized, though the bathroom was very small and it had no balcony to take advantage of the sea views. The room is in need of a refurbishment, and after staying in room 5 also, I would say that this is true of the whole hotel. Rooms are very basic inside, with fairly poor bathrooms which were damp and not the nicest place to be. Simple details which could lift a hotel, like newish towels and bathrobes were missing, as the ones we got every day looked years old. Room 5 looks like the room to be in, as it was much bigger than room 2 and offered a nice terrace to sit on which overlooks the harbour area.
The staff/owners were friendly and helpful, and we took advantage of the useful winch for lowering down our case, which saved carrying it down 3 floors of concrete stairs.
Overall, this hotel is in a good spot, and doesn't cost as much as most of the other hotels in Amalfi, however it isn't the most modern and clean feeling, and would improve drastically if it had some money spent on it to improve the rooms. I would not stay here again if I visited Amalfi, and would probably look for a hotel in Positano next time, which I prefered as a town.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luckystrikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
newyork
11
Reviewed August 1, 2005

An extracteor fan is not Air conditioning. The room was damp and smelled. The bathroom was tiny. I was too tall to stand upright in the shower. Overprice for the standard of facilities and this hotel is not a 3 star hotel. Must hostels accross the world ae in better conditioning. Stay somewere else

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2004

We are indebted to the reviewers on venere.com who clarified the location and unloading arrangements for this hotel. We caused a little 'fun' by parking outside with the hazzard lights on (make sure you pull over as far as you can!) eventually attracting the attention of the traffic police in the main square as traffic can quickly back-up.

The owner was down the three floors (6 short flights of steep stairs) and helping our bags to be winched up only seconds after I had buzzed on the intercom. He then gave us brief directions to the garage and a piece of paper with the name of the hotel and garage on it.

The garage "Laudarno" can be found by taking the first left into the town square which is controlled by the traffic police - you will need to show the paper to get in. You then face a slow crawl up the progressively narrower crowded pedestrian street (watch the traffic lights!) until it opens out and you will see the garage(s) on your right. Parking cost us €16 for 24 hours but is much safer and cheaper than out on the street. When leaving, unless you are travelling alone, I would suggest getting your bags winched down to the bottom leaving someone with them whilst you go to pick up the car to minimise loading time. I would also recommend that you drive past the hotel, through the tunnel and turn round in the 'car park' on the right of the next left-hand bend, so that you can park next to the hotel entrance on your return.

The hotel itself is great. We paid for a triple room (double usage at €130) and, whilst I wouldn't want to have had another bed in there, it was large and comfortable. We had room 5 which is the bedroom pictured on the venere site (bottom left) along with it's semi-private balcony (top right).

We would definitely stay here again for its central location, the wonderful views and relaxing breakfast on the terrace. I'm not sure which day of the week the people complaining (on venere) about road noise stayed but we didn't experience any problems on the Saturday night.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews