We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The only place to stay in Amalfi...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Lara
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The only place to stay in Amalfi...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

Such a beautiful, charming and romantic place to stay. It really is the essence of Amalfi. Tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean this was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in during our month long trip in Italy. Perfectly located just a short walk to the centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    61
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
42
274
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

We visited Amalfi for our honeymoon and did not want to leave Villa Lara. The staff were helpful and friendly and the location of the villa was perfect. A short walk out of town and with amazing views.

We will definately be going back to Villa Lara!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhill047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

We spent few days in Villa Lara last week, it is an amazing place, small hotel, few rooms
cleaned and well refurnished. Staff, specially Nello and Roberto are at your disposal all the time, handsome and so polite to let you relax on the astonishing terrace.
View on the village and direct to the Cathedral.
We really were satisfied of this Small hotel , right in the center of Amalfi

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lean70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

The hotel is great. It is a short walk from all the main tourist attractions in Amalfi but it feels like a world away when you are sitting on the terrace watching the sunset. The rooms are large and very clean and the skylights in both rooms mean that they are bright and welcoming. The staff are fantastic. Alec and Nelo were very day managers and very helpful and friendly. Alec provided us with some good suggestions for walks in the hills around Amalfi as well as recommendations to local restaurants. The night managers were also very nice but we did not learn their names.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jc2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

I booked this hotel for 1 night for my next holidays in the Amalfi coast in July. The following day I received an email from the hotel saying that unfortunately they could not accept my booking because they were fully booked for that date.

They explained to me that they had had a technical failure and shown the hotel as available but it wasn't. I believed them and accepted the cancellation but warned the hotel that they were offering rooms available for my date in several websites.

They said that they were working on it and again I trusted them and didn't complain, but at the end of the day I found out that everything was a big lie. The thing is that they did have availability for the date I had chosen (and they still have even today...) but for 2 nights. So they had cancelled my confirmed booking to have rooms available for longer stays.

Of course I lost all interest in lodging in such a place. Beware if your booking is for 1 night only, they could try to do the same to you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mercurio11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

We can't praise the team at Villa Lara enough for a great experience. Service was outstanding, friendly but not intrusive. They made all of our family very welcome.
The rooms were great, Pietro and Nello ensured our children were in a room next to us, which made safety much easier.
The rooms were really comfortable. One of the largest and most comfortable beds we have stayed in. They were spotlessly clean.
Location was perfect, a couple of minutes from the centre of the town, meaning the hotel was always quiet.
Breakfasts were super - either on the balcony in the morning sun (looking out to Gergio Armani's yacht in the bay), or in the comfortable lounge.
Nello, Pietro and Alex were knowledgeable and provided great recommendations for walks and restaurants.
In summary, stay here and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_and_LWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Situated within an old villa, approximately 100 yards beyond the end of the high street, in a quiet location. The villa itself sits on top of a small hill, with it's own lift within the hill, taking you to reception! The seven rooms are all individual and nicely appointed with clean comfortable beds. The best thing about the hotel are the staff, who are unbelievably friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the tiny terrace overlooking the town and the sea is also superb, with great coffee! All in all, the hotel and staff made our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SundrenchedSunBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Property: Villa Lara
Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing