We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect for Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Lara
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
260 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Perfect for Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We loved the Villa Lara. At first, we were a little concerned about the photos of the town on the website because the view appeared from a great height and upon our arrival, we would walk through the town with our "carry on" baggage. But there is an elevator (50 second ride...no kidding!) and the walk through the town is really quite comfortable and pleasant. The view is beautiful indeed. We had a great room with a skylight. The shower was lacking in water pressure, but we would gladly stay there again. Nello is a wonderful host and gave us recommendations for a GREAT pizzaria nearby. It was so great we ate there every night of our stay! The town of Amalfi is most unpleasant during the day because of the huge number of day trippers and cruise ship guests. But after about 5:00, it is charming. We went up to Ravello one day to escape the crowds and took the bus south of Amalfi to some lesser known but charming little towns. If you are planning to go to Paestum, it is not an easy trip. Worth it, but tricky unless you are quite adventurous. We took the ferry back to Sorrento and loved our stay. The Villa Lara completely satisfied our needs for Amalfi. P.S. We had left our car in Sorrento and hired a driver to navigate the Amalfi Coast. It was a wonderful decision which allowed my husband to enjoy the view and unlike the Sita buses, the driver stopped numerous times to allow us to take photos. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SACALosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    59
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
41
265
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed in Villa Lara for 4 nights and found it to be a welcome retreat from the busy town of Amalfi in early July. We stayed in the junior suite which had its own small terrace with stunning views over the town.

Nella and Luca run the place with professional efficiency and were always on hand to advise on anything from restaurants to bus times.

If you want to escape the bustle of Amalfi which sometimes feels like Oxford Street on a Saturday afternoon, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

My best vacation, Villa Lara is very quiet with a beautiful view, great service! Nello it was amazing!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slimmino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

My wife and I just spent the better part of a week at Villa Lara, which we found very much to our liking. The hotel is small and intimate, and the staff is very friendly. In fact, we consider our daily banter with the two simpatico gentlemen, Nello and Luca, to be one of the reasons we enjoyed our stay so much. The other reasons are: the room we occupied was beautifully and tastefully appointed; had those marvellous windows that one can find only in Europe and which open wide to let in the fragrances of Amalfi, and a gleeming white tiled floor; and included a luxurious bathroom with all the latest bells and whistles. The view from our room was a dazzling panorama of the high cliffs that surround Amalfi, and the fabled Amalfi lemon groves which nestle there. The terrace on which Luca serves the guests an ample breakfast each morning, faces the sea and offers another splendid view. Just entering the hotel from the street--traversing the shaded portico and then climbing up those lovely stairs that bring to view all of Amalfi below, is itself a pleasure. Then there is the Amalfi itself...I could go on and on...my wife and I savored every moment of our delectable stay. My only regret is that it was so tantilizingly short.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRONXCOUPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

Wow, the Amalfi coast is just amazing, we felt Italian as soon as we arrived...Amalfi has a really warm (regardless of the hot sun) feel to it and we were so taken by Villa Lara, by the time it came to leave, we felt like we were leaving home. The hotel is stylish and comfortable, but the staff made it feel like we wre staying with family members...from Rosa the chambermaid who is so sweet, we wanted to take her home, to Luca and Nello who looked after us so well. What really touched us was that all the guest felt the same, though the staff made us feel we were the only guests! I highly recommend this experience, we have just booked for September this year!!

  • Liked — The family feel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thepoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

My friend and I decided on the Amalfi coast to get away from wet England. We stayed at Villa Lara by recommendation and it was a brillant decision. The Villa was very stylish, clean and welcoming. The views from the balcony were amazing and the breakfast although simple was just right to start our day. Its the perfect location to visit other nearby towns and villages like Ravello, Positano and Capri.

The Manager Nello made us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble, I am looking forward to going back again this year.

  • Liked — The Rooms
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cigarbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Villa Lara was recommended by my mum and we thought it would be too quiet and “grown up” I was travelling with 3 girlfriends to improve our Italian, and we wanted some night life, but it was the best location for unspoilt, beautiful scenery and a great base to visit the other various surrounding islands.

The Villa was competitive luxury and Nello and his staff kept us laughing throughout our visit. He was also able to recommend some local good night life, thus the added luxury of beautiful Italians!!!

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Property: Villa Lara
Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing