We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and wonderful staff”
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Lara
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were in Amalfi and stayed in Villa Lara in mid May and had an amazing time. The hotel was excellent and the view at breakfast was spectacular. It was very close to the town but you felt like you were far away as it was so calm. The staff were fantastic. They were so friendly, warm, attentive, helpful and interesting to chat with. The breakfast was excellent as well as the wonderful cappuccinos. My husband and I highly recommend this hotel. It was our 30th wedding anniversary and the staff made our stay very special. Grazie mille to Nello, Pietro, Roberto and Luca
from Johanne (Giovanna) and Jim

Room Tip: Suite in the attic or a room facing the Duomo and the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohanneLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Villa Lara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 454 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

lovely hotel with the most beautiful views of the water from the terrace where we ate breakfast everyday and often settled in for an afternoon spot of vitamin D with a book or magazine. it's a little bit hard to get to (firstly by car, we had to get help parking and then navigating from the car park to the hotel) and then a bit of a climb up stairs to the actual hotel (but it was worth it for the views and the quiet surroundings). a bit far back from the water but still walkable to everything you could want to see and lots of restaurants and shops. big comfortable rooms with a skylight making the place airy and spacious. very friendly and accommodating staff. would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from our honeymoon in Amalfi. It was perfect.

The hotel is bright and airy with stunning views of Amalfi from the breakfast terrace. Breakfast was really good and served by friendly and welcoming staff - usually Luca and Nello.

We stayed in the junior suite, which was really good value. It's a massive room with a jacuzzi and sitting area and a lovely bathroom. There's also a wide but shallow terrace which is difficult to photograph to do it justice, but it's a really good feature of the room. The wifi was good. We didn't see many other rooms, but the ones we did were equally nice.

The hotel itself is set high up the slopes surrounding Amalfi, meaning you're not overlooked by anyone. There's a fun little lift up to the hotel reception - 120 stairs never sounded fun to me with a belly-full of food and drink, but the wife swore by them.

Villa Lara is about a 5 minute walk from the main square in Amalfi. It's really well placed for some of the more local-feeling restaurants too. Speak to one of the faultless staff (Nello, Luca or Luigi) for their suggestions of where to eat. They know the town really well and helped us book tables whenever we needed. Luigi tends to work during the night, so we took most of our directions from him. He absolutely loves the place and can often be seen patrolling the town on his scooter before he starts work so that he knows exactly what's going on. Everyone spoke very good English and I heard some equally good French as well.

Other great little things the staff did are too many to mention, but special comment must be made for the fact that they're posting my wedding ring back to me here as I left it in the room. They're not charging me for that. Because they're great people.

I'm really surprised that anyone could have anything negative to say about this place or the people running it. One reviewer complains that the access to the lift is dark and damp - it's a tunnel through a mountain!

Anyway, we loved it and would return tomorrow, but will probably wait until next year.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A lovely hotel tucked away in the beautiful town of Amalfi and is central to all the restaurants, bars and attractions of this town. The 200 steps up to Reception was welcomed as it gave us a perfect 'work out' after the pasta and the wine we had each day...there was a lift but we chose the steps!
A great team with Nello, Luca, Luigi and Pietro. We upgraded our room after the first evening as the initial room was in the loft and although beautifully decorated and spacious, we only had a velux window which we didn't feel was sufficient for a week's stay in Amalfi with it's beautiful scenery and views.
The upgraded room had French windows onto a terrace with two sun loungers and this was perfect for our afternoon siesta or relax in the sunshine. Both rooms were very clean and each had a mozzi killer for which we were grateful! The breakfasts were perfect with fresh italian bread, salami, cheeses, yoghurts and cereals but mainly for Luca's mama's homemade lemon cake which we worked off on our daily workout with the steps!
All in all an excellent welcome and perfect position if you want to stay in the centre of Amalfi. It had a couple of communal areas where you could sit in the evening with a glass of wine if you wished and have a good chat with the friendly Luigi.
Amalfi and its one street in this beautiful historic town is wonderful, but parking is limited. We parked our car in the nearby privately owned parking garage in the town at 18 euros per day. This car park was manned 24/7 so you collect or drop off your car at anytime, night or day. It was difficult at times to drive up the heavily populated street - a restricted zone during certain times of the day - but that in itself was an experience and well worth it.
This hotel was lovely but I do think that it could offer more as it is not exactly the cheapest hotel and it only offers B & B. After saying that, I would stay at Villa Lara again if I am ever lucky enough to visit Amalfi again!
Anne-Marie & Paul August 2014

Room Tip: Choose the Junior Suite with a terrace and the lift..unless you want to keep fit!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SandyFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

It was delightful to be met with such a genuine warmth and a cold beer on a very hot afternoon. The villa surpasses expectation in the fantastic views that it commands and the cool and scrupulously clean interiors. We loved having breakfast on the balcony, not least because it entailed wit, philosophical guidance and good advice from all the staff (one of whom is a realist!). The breakfast was lovely with local produce and great coffee. Although it's just a short walk up the main street the villa has peace and tranquility in abundance. We found the villa to be good value considering the high level of thoughtful service, great location and the fact that there are no hidden extras. Oozing charm, it was a pleasure to stay there in the lovely company of Nello, Luca and Luigi. We can't recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nello, Luca and Luigi made us so welcome at the lofty Villa Lara. Sitting high above Amalfi giving the greatest views across the town to the sea yet accessible via a lift in the rock. We found this to be a delightful, quiet location but accessible for restaurants, buses, boats and walks. The walk up through the valley behind Villa Lara with it's refreshing waterfalls and crumbling paper mills was probably our favourite. Nello, Luca and Luigi were always willing to give the most helpful advice and assistance, they organised an excellent taxi service from Naples airport, but on the return we went by boat to Sorrento (via Capri) and then across the bay to Naples, a delightful way to end an excellent stay in Villa Lara.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Villa Lara is a small B&B clanging on to the hillside just outside the center of Amalfi. A pretty shady and damp entrance that was pretty hard to find due to small signs, a lift taking you to the reception. The rooms were clean, but nothing extra ordinary. We had ordered separate beds but got upgraded to superior room and a king size bed instead (?).
The breakfast was good, served on the terrace overlooking the city.
Minus for the "private beach" info, that was incorrect and also for the parking fee that wasn't mentioned at parking, check in or check out (18€ for 18h).

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Cecilia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,006 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
818 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $146 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing