We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lovely Hotel"”
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Lara
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Lovely Hotel"”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A lovely hotel tucked away in the beautiful town of Amalfi and is central to all the restaurants, bars and attractions of this town. The 200 steps up to Reception was welcomed as it gave us a perfect 'work out' after the pasta and the wine we had each day...there was a lift but we chose the steps!
A great team with Nello, Luca, Luigi and Pietro. We upgraded our room after the first evening as the initial room was in the loft and although beautifully decorated and spacious, we only had a velux window which we didn't feel was sufficient for a week's stay in Amalfi with it's beautiful scenery and views.
The upgraded room had French windows onto a terrace with two sun loungers and this was perfect for our afternoon siesta or relax in the sunshine. Both rooms were very clean and each had a mozzi killer for which we were grateful! The breakfasts were perfect with fresh italian bread, salami, cheeses, yoghurts and cereals but mainly for Luca's mama's homemade lemon cake which we worked off on our daily workout with the steps!
All in all an excellent welcome and perfect position if you want to stay in the centre of Amalfi. It had a couple of communal areas where you could sit in the evening with a glass of wine if you wished and have a good chat with the friendly Luigi.
Amalfi and its one street in this beautiful historic town is wonderful, but parking is limited. We parked our car in the nearby privately owned parking garage in the town at 18 euros per day. This car park was manned 24/7 so you collect or drop off your car at anytime, night or day. It was difficult at times to drive up the heavily populated street - a restricted zone during certain times of the day - but that in itself was an experience and well worth it.
This hotel was lovely but I do think that it could offer more as it is not exactly the cheapest hotel and it only offers B & B. After saying that, I would stay at Villa Lara again if I am ever lucky enough to visit Amalfi again!
Anne-Marie & Paul August 2014

Room Tip: Choose the Junior Suite with a terrace and the lift..unless you want to keep fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandyFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    63
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
43
285
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

It was delightful to be met with such a genuine warmth and a cold beer on a very hot afternoon. The villa surpasses expectation in the fantastic views that it commands and the cool and scrupulously clean interiors. We loved having breakfast on the balcony, not least because it entailed wit, philosophical guidance and good advice from all the staff (one of whom is a realist!). The breakfast was lovely with local produce and great coffee. Although it's just a short walk up the main street the villa has peace and tranquility in abundance. We found the villa to be good value considering the high level of thoughtful service, great location and the fact that there are no hidden extras. Oozing charm, it was a pleasure to stay there in the lovely company of Nello, Luca and Luigi. We can't recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nello, Luca and Luigi made us so welcome at the lofty Villa Lara. Sitting high above Amalfi giving the greatest views across the town to the sea yet accessible via a lift in the rock. We found this to be a delightful, quiet location but accessible for restaurants, buses, boats and walks. The walk up through the valley behind Villa Lara with it's refreshing waterfalls and crumbling paper mills was probably our favourite. Nello, Luca and Luigi were always willing to give the most helpful advice and assistance, they organised an excellent taxi service from Naples airport, but on the return we went by boat to Sorrento (via Capri) and then across the bay to Naples, a delightful way to end an excellent stay in Villa Lara.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Villa Lara is a small B&B clanging on to the hillside just outside the center of Amalfi. A pretty shady and damp entrance that was pretty hard to find due to small signs, a lift taking you to the reception. The rooms were clean, but nothing extra ordinary. We had ordered separate beds but got upgraded to superior room and a king size bed instead (?).
The breakfast was good, served on the terrace overlooking the city.
Minus for the "private beach" info, that was incorrect and also for the parking fee that wasn't mentioned at parking, check in or check out (18€ for 18h).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Adorable, charming and quiet, stunning views, perfect location, in the heart of amalfi. Spotlessly clean throughout and friendly staff will welcome you and make you feel at home and assist you with your every need. We LOVED it here and didn't want to leave. Highly recommended. Luca, Nello and Luigi were amazing to us for our entire stay. We are very grateful to them for making our stay so wonderful. Luigi recommended some amazing restaurants to us which made our time here extra special

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelinatucci2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We chose this hotel mainly based on the reviews written by others and we were so happy we did.... We couldn't have chosen a better base to discover this beautiful coastline. The staff were so helpful at all times, nothing was too much trouble and there was always somebody around to speak to. Breakfast on the terrace was just beautiful with stunning views down over the rest of Amalfi out to the sea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We are at the end of a most unforgettable family vacation in amalfi at villa lara. This was the perfect choice for a group of this size (20 people, including 7 small children). We reserved the entire villa due to the fact that we had so many little ones and did not want to disturb others. It is a very charming place, with 7 different and unique rooms. Everything was immaculate and well appointed, and whatever you requested was provided immediately. The staff makes this gem even more special-nello, luca and luigi. Your wish is their command! They made us feel welcome and never uncomfortable with the kids running around all over the place. They anticipated our every desire and offered advice whenever we needed. This was a very special occasion-my husbands 60th birthday celebration with our children, grandchildren, sister and brother with their families and for sure it will be remembered by all! This place is a must for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Property: Villa Lara
Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing