We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best kept secret in amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Lara
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best kept secret in amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for a week in the attic room. It was comfortable and roomy. The bathroom was new and everything was clean.
We were made to feel very welcome and looked after by the team at Villa Lara, Thanks to Nello, Luco and Alfonzo for making our stay so special.
We enjoyed the quietness of the Villa. It was only a 5 minute walk downhill to the cafes shops and transport services to the other villages on the Amalfi Coast.
As other guests have mentioned the terrace is a beautiful spot to sit and have your breakfast, which by the way was an excellant spread. Always plenty to eat and bottomless cups of coffee/Tea.
Thanks Guys!

Room Tip: The attic room has a dormer window with fantastic views of the town and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    59
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
40
257
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We loved this hotel in Amalfi, the staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms were spacious. We stayed two nights, and really after the frightening road to Amalfi, didn't want to leave this peaceful beautiful place. It's a walk uphill to get there and a few stairs to the elevator and to the hotel itself from the elevator, but worth the steps. Amalfi was crawling with tourists from the cruise ships, 3 in two days that were in the bay. But at the Villa everything was cool and serene. I would stay here again, and couldn't say enough nice things about it. The scenery from the terrace is pretty spectacular. And a bargain at the price. The only downside to the whole experience was the powdered juice at breakfast Stick with tea or coffee.

Room Tip: We had a standard room in the attic, but it was cool and although it only had a skylight for a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked for three nights for the superior attic room (as we saw there was the bathtub for after that long walk). The first night we were transferred to a neighbouring hotel (Analara) with the same style. The second night we weren't given the attic but--like the first night--we were too tired and just went to bed. We curiously asked the next day and according to Melo, we've been upgraded and he sent a bottle of wine to make up for the mishap. He offered the attic room but we couldn't be bothered to move again. Plus the rooms are all comfortable and nice.

The best part about this hotel is that the view you see from the terrace where the sunshine greets you in the morning while you're sipping your coffee and looking over the beautiful ocean. This hotel is not just one of the highest located but also has an unobstructed view to the see.

Thanks to their effort of providing a lift, we'd otherwise have to take the many staircases after a long day of walking. I took the staircase down in the morning for a good exercise and enjoying the scenery.

We could see a beautiful valley from our room window and we only see beautiful scenery from this place in general. The area is quiet.

I read some reviews about how difficult coming in with the car. Well we were on 2-week road trip in Italy and the ZTL could be an intimidating affair in city centres in Italy. Just stay calm and drive through all those pedestrians and small alley, it adds to the excitement in this country. I wasn't calm at all at the beginning but decided to let my friend drive. Luca guided us to get to the hotel as the hotel sign was not very clear and our GPS screwed up. Then he called the garage to vallet park our car (thank you!). And then Alfonso (?) helped my friend with her luggage although it was fine with the elevator, that was really nice gesture and we appreciated it.

We will stay here again next time we are in Amalfi.

Room Tip: Superior. Attic superior if you want (tiny) bath tub. But attic may have lower ceiling in some parts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Villa Lara is an amazing B&B with one of the most dramatic locations in Amalfi. We loved everything about Villa Lara - the location perched above the town with wonderful views yet close enough to the shops, restaurants and town center, the friendly and warm staff,( with a special nod to our host, Nello) , the delicious breakfasts and stocked in-room refrigerators. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable. We will be back. Thank you, Villa Lara.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rojohn1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we stayed two nights in Villa Lara- one in the superior room and the second in the junior suite and they both were so great. the view from this place is fenomenal, the service is kind and friendly, and the rooms are very comfortable.
the breakfast is very simple but all in all this place is highly recommended. Don't miss the lemon cake...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HananMeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Villa Lara is a peaceful oasis in Amalfi.

We found Amalfi to be hectic during the day while the day tourists were in town, so having a retreat away from the crowds was wonderful. The evenings in Amalfi though are a delight, when the day visitors are long gone and the local people emerge to go about their business.

Circumstances meant that we stayed in two rooms, a room with a view of the sea and one that faces the valley. Both rooms were beautifully appointed, spacious and spotlessly clean.

The only time that we were aware of any other guests was when they joined us at breakfast time.

Two things you must do here are :

1. Linger over breakfast on the terrace. Whats the rush, enjoy the food and the company of Nello, his staff and your fellow guests as you look out over the coast and town.

2. In the late afternoon, sit on the terrace, enjoiy a glass of wine and watch dusk settle over the town.

I thought that Villa Lara would be hard to find, but it was quite easy. Just cross the main square and follow the only road in town until you reach the parking garage, walk under the arch and start looking for the sign on your left. Dont believe the sign on your right that you see that says "villa lara 20 metres" it is probably 200 metres.

We dont like hotels all that much as they all seem much the same without any personality and warmth. So for us Villa Lara was a highlight of our trip to Italy, as you could never say it lacks personality of warmth.

Highly recommeded.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The2Bees2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The biggest asset to this hotel is the staff who are really helpful and friendly. The rooms are small but clean and breakfast is good. If weather permits there is a pretty terrace to sit and have breakfast with lovely sea views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Property: Villa Lara
Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing