We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly well situated hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Lara
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly well situated hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The biggest asset to this hotel is the staff who are really helpful and friendly. The rooms are small but clean and breakfast is good. If weather permits there is a pretty terrace to sit and have breakfast with lovely sea views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    61
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
42
274
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in Amalfi for 4 nights in October 2012 at the Villa Lara. Everything about it was perfect. It started with the staff - everyone was very polite, helpful, down to earth and you knew they cared about your stay at the villa.

The location was great, it was about 5 minute walk to the ocean, the villa is tucked away in the mountains with a beautiful view. Don't be put off by the strange hallway leading to a creepy elevator - its part of the experience and it whisks you up into a private area you can call home.

Rooms were clean, very comfortable, made me feel at home.
This was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelers_spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Villa Lara in Amalfi as part of our honeymoon. Nello and staff were very attentive, courteous and knowledgeable. The location is perfect - close to the center of town, yet far enough from the crowds to provide a quiet and romantic experience.

The room was very clean and spacious. We were served breakfast on the smaller balcony with a beautiful view of the town and Sea. Definitely worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I reserved a superior double room [@ 150 EUR/night] nine months prior to our four night stay at Villa Lara Sept. 7-10. We were enjoying our accommodation, but were surprised to learn that we could not stay there our final night. "These things happen," we were told. Instead, Luca said we would be upgraded to a junior suite at Villa Adriana, an affiliated property across the street. So we paid our four night fee at Villa Lara and followed Luca across the street. There we were assigned to the Raphael room, which was very small. We balked at its size, but were told by the Villa Adriana attendant that we would have to pay an additional fee to upgrade to a bigger room. Luca did not intervene on our behalf, nor did he explain what happened to the junior suite we had been promised. Since we had already paid full fare at Villa Lara and had to repack and now unpack, we refused to pay the additional sum. Moreover, we were told by the same attendant that the Raphael room usually rents for 100 EUR/night. Needless to say, we felt disappointed and deceived by this experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villalara, receptionist at Villa Lara, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
1 ) I promised you the upgrade for free if the junior suite was available
2 ) you saw the sister hotel next door and we did not force you with a gun to move , you were very happy and entusiastic to move.
3 ) I accompanied you there personally and you could tell me there, you did not like the accomodation , not after left, you wrote the review
4) you paid 150 euro per night as you booked through a travel agent , whom we pay 20% commissions , so directly to us you paid less,
5) we bought a bunch of flowers costed Euro 50 that you did not mention
Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

It was by chance that we found this stunning villa, after a disappointment from another apartment in Amalfi. This villa is stupendous , designed and clean rooms, very nice breakfast, great location , very close to the center, yet far enough from the crowd, fantastic views , very friendly and helpful staff, we definitely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I experienced part of our honeymoon at this absolutely lovely place in Amalfi back in April 2013. I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was. It is nestled high above one of the cliff tops. It has amazing views as we spent so much time just leaning on the railing looking at all that surrounds you. It is quaint place and feels like home. Nello and Luca (and the entire staff) make you feel just like family. Their hospitality was excellent and they didn't hesitate to go above and beyond to answer questions, recommend restaurants, call taxis, help with luggage and a ton of other little things. It was absolutely a pleasure to spend our time in Amalfi here and I'd recommend it to anyone wondering where to stay. Thank you Villa Lara. We hope to see you again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I and 6 month old daughter had the most wonderful week in Amalfi staying at Villa Lara. Grazie mille to Nello and Luca for being such excellent hosts. The hotel is well priced offering a homely charm and breakfast. We loved it.
Thank you Villa Lara.
Mano, Julie Diem and Prosper xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotTheAAguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Property: Villa Lara
Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing