We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Flavio Gioia

Bar Flavio Gioia
Ranked #13 of 14 Dessert in Amalfi
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Description: Bar Flavio Gioia is located in front of the Ferry & Bus stops and by the beautiful beaches in Amalfi, offering Homemade Gelato, Freshly Baked Pastries and Sweets, Salads, Panini, Pasta, Night Snacks and more. The Bar Flavio Gioia is a family owned business and the locals and the visitors have been enjoying our Expresso, Cappuccino, Special Cocktails and Fresh Deli since 1985. We are doing our best to offer you quality products with a friendly service so please stop by on your next visit to the most beautiful coasts in the world!
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

When we holiday in Sorrento, we always spend a day in Amalfi and this where we head to for lunch, everything is made fresh to order and the service is very good too.
Prices are very good, especially considering the seafront location. Good cocktails too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon_M-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    6
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I had lunch here today, we previously ate here in October 2011.

Lovely freshly prepared food which was quick and very tasty, the Bruschetta Amalfitana comes highly recommended, such a simple but amazingly flavoursome dish.
Good gelato too and excellent and friendly service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon_M-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Gelato of the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had some time to kill before catching the ferry to Salerno. This is the closest restaurant to the ferry ticket office so I thought it would be a good place to have an espresso. Then I notice they had gelato. I hadn't had an off the charts gelato on my trip up until this point. I decided I would try the chocolate and the pistachio. WOW!!! They were so creamy and flavorful - just like the name. I liked them both so much I decided to turn my gelato treat into a feast by ordering a second cup. The gentleman at the counter was so nice too. He explained about the ferry ticket office hours and pointed out when my ferry arrived.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Be aware with the service fares !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you just want a coffee, better go to another place: they charge the same service rate for coffee than for a meal. 2 coffees plus un cornetto, 9 Eur

I will not come back again !!! This is not the way for taking care of the turists

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joossee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Bar, cool staff & the best Vanilla Tea in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We travelled length & breadth of Italy, drinking tea...but when we found Bar Flavio - we found the best Vanilla Tea in Italy...it was warm, aromatic & exotic! Also highly recommend the fresh orange & lemon juices. The host, Andrea is an awesome & unassuming...a hot spot for chillaxing, people watching or making plans!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Flavio Gioia also viewed

Pontecagnano Faiano, Province of Salerno
 

Been to Bar Flavio Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing