We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent a little more than a week in this hotel and found our stay rather pleasant. The hotel is about 15 minutes walking from the city center of Amalfi, the Hotel run a few shuttle services every day to it, but public transport is also available to and from town. We found the breakfast and the service excellent, staff was always very helpful and gave us a lot of tips; only downside the internet connection, that is only available at the reception and at times at pre-dsl speed, but surely you don't want to spend your days surfing the internet while you have Amalfi and its coast within a stone's throw :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niccogiulianelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    110
    66
    32
    28
See reviews for
66
169
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ended up at this hotel due to a booing error at another Amalfi hotel. We loved the Amalfi coast and were thrilled to be there. The hotel itself was adequate, although very dated. The hotel rooms were so small you could barely walk around the bed. The fan in our room and our children's room was so loud it kept you awake and the shower was horrible. We only slept, showered, and ate breakfast in the hotel so it was fine, The walk down into the square was more than 10 minutes and very treacherous on the road. We took alternate routes that included steps, steps, and more steps. The cab ride back to hotel in the evening was less than a mile and costed 15 euros for our family of 5. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjwest066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at end of June in the villa which was a surprise as thought we were getting a room in the hotel. Yes decor is a little dated but this is a 3 star and who goes to Amalfi to stay in the room or reception area! Staff in our mind were very good and answered everything we needed to know and made us aware of the local beach, restaurants and the feast of St. Andrea the towns patron saint which was taking place whilst there which was very interesting.

Stunning views from balcony area and a huge room which was cleaned each day to a high order. Breakfast was amazing for Italy with plenty of fresh produce. There is a walk into town but due to the weather no problem at all and a chance to be in awe of the views. Taxi back if staying out for dinner is 10 euros which isn't too bad.

We would have no issues with returning to this hotel if staying in Amalfi again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bishopschair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My fiance and I really loved this hotel. It is small and antiquated. The decor is true to the region with our room being tiled such as that in Amalfi and the Isle of Capri.

We did have to wait about 3 minutes for hot water in the shower, but we were there for quite hot days and we didn't have a problem with having luke warm showers, at least until the hot water came minutes later.

We found the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. We met with three different receptionists and they were all good to us.

The breakfast here is incredible. This is the first 3 star hotel where the breakfast had real bakery treats, a fruit salad, Batista made cappuccino, ready made toast (Bruschetta), toasted granola and tomato and cheese salad. They also had packeted treats you could pack in your bags for your day in Amalfi.

They are a 10 minute walk from Amalfi down from an incredible view; but its up quite a hill. They have a shuttle service into and from town but they cease at 5:30pm which means that if you are in Amalfi for dinner you must walk back. The walk to town is along the a typical Amalfi coast road with no shoulders and wide enough only for two cars.

We parked there without any problems. They have a fair size parking lot for the size of the hotel.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and book the room with a view. It really is a beautiful view (we didn't and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warrimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the Villa Meridiana which is managed by the Hotel dei Cavalieri together with 2 other couples. The house has four bedrooms and is located about a half mile outside of Amalfi. This house is in need of a major renovation.... While the house itself is charming in many ways, there are also many many problems. For one thing, it is very very difficult to take a hot or even luke-warm shower!! There was rarely ANY hot water at all in the three upstairs bathrooms. Most days, the 6 of us took turns showering in the one bathroom located on the first floor. We continually asked the manager of the Hotel Cavalieri to remedy the situation.... he would tell us it was all fixed.... but that would prove to be incorrect. Furthermore, the air-conditioner was broken in one of the upstairs bedrooms for 4 out of the 7 nights we were there.... In order to cool off THAT room, we had to leave the doors to the other bedrooms (where the air was working) open..so that we could cool off the entire second floor. For $6,000.00 for the week, this seems to me to be a little ridiculous!!!!! The furniture in the sitting area is in a terrible state.... it looks like it was donated from a second hand shop.... there was nothing charming about it at all!! It should be replaced immediately!! Luckily it didn't rain at all when we were there, so there was no reason to stay in doors. I would NOT recommend this property in it's current condition.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nylady315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived on Sunday and while the room was clean there was no hot water and the beds were really hard.
They also turned off the air conditioning so the room was so hot!
After 2 days of complaining they gave us a room with hot water but still no A/C!
We slept with the window open but there was so much noise from the street!
The place also needs a good paint job!
We will not return and do not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhondathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Information doesn't flow from one clerk to another in this hotel: I called them one week ago to cancel a booking and was told that it was done, only to discover today that not only the cancellation had not been recorded, but they've also charged me one night for the no-show. Any attempt of getting a refund failed, as Mr. Giancarlo, one of the most arrogant persons I've ever spoken to, refused even to listen to me.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ccristal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amalfi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#26 of 29 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#16 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Il Nido
Hotel Il Nido
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Property: Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Address: Via Mauro Comite 32 | Amalfi Coast, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dei Cavalieri 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a panoramic rooftop terrace, Hotel dei Cavalieri is only 1.5 Km from Amalfi. Rooms come with a TV, air conditioning and private bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available at reception. Some rooms are decorated in a Mediterranean style, while others have Renaissance-style furniture. Some also have a minibar and balcony. Some rooms are located in the seafront Villa della Marchesa annex, just across the road. Guests enjoy special rates and free transfers to a partner pool set 800 metres away. Decorated with antique furniture and bronze statues, Cavalieri Hotel includes a relaxing garden overlooking the sea. Friendly staff can suggest restaurants and places to visit in and around the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Cavalieri Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing