We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Dei Cavalieri to your Saves list
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mauro Comite 32 | Amalfi Coast, 84011, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Loved just about everything about this hotel! The best part was that it was so close to a fantastic beach: Lido degli Artisti! Just a few minutes walk away from hotel (head uphill) and down "many steps" (464 actually) to the beach. For some reason Antonio at the front desk seemed reluctant to tell us about this beach at first--we'd read about it in someone else's review and had to ask specifically about it. If we hadn't already known, we might have missed THE BEST part of our trip. Very clean, spacious room. Generous breakfast buffet with LOTS of choices. Loved Milo the parrot in the lobby. Staff not as willing to arrange shuttle for anything but scheduled times (though other reviewers have said they had no problem doing so). For example, our ferry to Salerno was leaving at 12:45 and we were told by Antonio that the last shuttle was at 11:00. We ended up calling for a taxi to get to the town center. Also, the hotel's last shuttle from town is at 5:00 pm. We wanted to stay in town to eat dinner at a restaurant there. We called the hotel shuttle number after dinner. There was no answer--another taxi trip. Wifi in lobby only--quite variable and slow at times only other negative. Really a great place though! Would happily go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montaine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    110
    66
    32
    28
See reviews for
66
169
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is good. It's close to Amalfi, but I wouldn't walk on the roads. Instead, we took advantage of the shuttle service provided. They even happily ran an extra one for us so we could get a particular ferry. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. We'd had a rough start to the holiday, and they helped every time we phoned them. The alarm call was on time. The room was simple, but very clean and cool and fresh, with a stunning view. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of room in the bathroom. Breakfast was really good, with great coffee and juices and lovely fresh bread that you could toast up or just enjoy as it was. I really enjoyed my stay, and the staff made it for me.

Room Tip: Get a balcony with sea view if you can, it's beautiful. If you need anything, just phone the rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronny-Kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just come back from Amalfi, where we stayed at Hotel Dei Cavalieri. Our trip started horrid with a 26 hour delay. We phoned the hotel and informed them we'd arrive the next day (and they were very nice about it too!) Once we arrived we were showed to our room in the villa (we had been upgraded without knowing). The staff are wonderful and the atmosphere is amazing. We had a beautiful but simple room in the villa. It's pretty basic, a comfortable bed, a simple bathroom with a shower...but it was cleaned EVERY SINGLE DAY! Breakfast is pretty good too, good choice and the melon was amazing. Now, take advantage of the shuttle service but be aware it is a bit of a walk. A taxi will cost to 10 euro to the hotel, I think it is a flat rate for all the hotels though. I'd stay here again, for many reasons...including the incredible Franco who carried my (and I found this out at the airport when they weighed it) 28KG suitcase up all the stairs from the villa to the main road!

Seriously, if you want somewhere not too expensive with good people, then this is the hotel for you. I'd come again!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and sea view, as it is absolutely stunning! Also, if you get a villa, stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in may 2013. There is a free shuttle service to the Amlfi city center. The staff is very friendly and they even adjusted their shuttle timing for us. The rooms are nice and clean. Also, the terrace with the Sun loungers gives amazing view of the town and the sea .
Best part is the breakfast buffet :). We simply loved it !!! Freshly baked Croissants, fruits, fruit juices and a lot more. Best start for the day :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheetss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our room was large, and had a corner balcony with a view of the sea. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The room had a fridge and a small TV with Italian channels and blinds that block out all of the light. The breakfast had a good variety of options available. The wifi only works in the lobby and not in your room. The walk to town is beautiful and you can take the free shuttle back to the hotel at 3 or 5 pm each day. The staff gave us information on the area and dropped us off at the bus station on our departure. The best part of the hotel is the parrot in the lobby, Miro. We enjoyed our stay and would return again if we come back to Amalfi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleGee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just spent 6 nights in this hotel recently, I must say it's a gem of a hotel. It's very centrally located, on the same strip as all the other 5 stars hotels like Hotel Santa Catarina ( best hotel in Amalfi)
One can walk to town in 10 minutes, hotel shuttle service can be ordered at set time . Drop off at 8am, 9 am, 11 am and pick up at 8:15, 9;15, 11:15 am and 5 :15 pm etc. One can also buy bus tickets at the tobacco store in town ( request ones for locals at 1.30 Euros each as they may only sell you the 2.50 Euros each for visitors). Then take the Positano or Sorrento bus from town and told driver to stop at this hotel, they will let you off at the stop a few feet pass the hotel. l. Once you know how to get around , the location is actually very good.
Staffs are very helpful and friendly, room is very clean and functional. We love the breakfast, it's very generous and good quality food. There are many great works of art in their furniture at the lobby.Many great wood sculptures . I highly recommended this hotel to anyone. You pay 3 star hotel price and get 5 stars service,cleanliness and breakfast .Excellent value overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This Hotel is a little bit out of the way, but in a good sense. Its just up the hill from the town centre of Amalfi - a 15 minute walk. We were welcomed by friendly staff.

Our room was very basic, but it was clean and spacious. A great place to stay on the Amalfi. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lukenuke777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#26 of 29 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#16 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Il Nido
Hotel Il Nido
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#13 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Property: Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Address: Via Mauro Comite 32 | Amalfi Coast, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dei Cavalieri 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a panoramic rooftop terrace, Hotel dei Cavalieri is only 1.5 Km from Amalfi. Rooms come with a TV, air conditioning and private bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available at reception. Some rooms are decorated in a Mediterranean style, while others have Renaissance-style furniture. Some also have a minibar and balcony. Some rooms are located in the seafront Villa della Marchesa annex, just across the road. Guests enjoy special rates and free transfers to a partner pool set 800 metres away. Decorated with antique furniture and bronze statues, Cavalieri Hotel includes a relaxing garden overlooking the sea. Friendly staff can suggest restaurants and places to visit in and around the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Cavalieri Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing