We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in Amalfi 6 nights starting with April 6. We were greeted by Antonio, one of the receptionists, who was a very pleasant person, hospitable and had patience to give us a lot of information about the excursions in the area, touristic places and possibility of transport along the coast. The breakfast is OK for Italy (very good coffee) and also the room. I was surprised to see that everyday we had new towels and all we needed in the bathroom and the room was cleaned. Everybody makes you feel welcome. A tip: You have to book a room with sea view, because the view is amazing...you can just stay on the balcony and enjoy the sea...the view of this hotel makes all the difference. There are arround 2 km to the center of Amalfi, but the hotel organizes a shuttle that takes you there or you can walk (as we did many times), but you have o be carefull with the trafiic, because there are sections of the road that have no sidewalks. Really good value for the money. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view! It's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumidobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 332 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We're travelling through Italy, and have always wanted to see the Amalfi coast. We found the Dei Cavalieri online; rode the bus from Salerno to Amalfi to get there. We found the hotel to be AMAZNG! Wonderful views of the sea and Amalfi, very quiet and accessible. We stayed in the villa, on the hotel's lower property--built in 1930.
The staff at Dei Cavalieri made our stay wonderful. They are very helpful, courteous, and gracious; not at all troubled to give advice and directions, and to assist with any needs their guests have. They worked with us to allow us a nice, three night stay. We will be back, and will highly recommend this wonderful hotel to our friends!

Room Tip: Anything with a view! If you don't mind a couple hundred steps to get up to the main hotel, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is simply the best for hospitality.
The breakfast is the best we have ever had in Italy and the staff is great!!!!
Free parking and best value for the money we spent!!!!!.
We booked a standard room but we had a wonderful sea view room.
Nice people, nice hotel & great staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serginho v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent ages looking for a good hotel, but when we arrived here we were greeted by a warm and friendly receptionist. We were given an option of rooms and fortunately I chose the sea view. The room was clean and bright with sweeping views of the stunning coastline. The breakfast consisted of good fresh produce everyday, and nothing was ever too much trouble. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends back home without hesitation. A trip to Capri is a must if possible, probably one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. A great choice of hotel all in all and Georgio well what can I say, so so cute!!! Can't wait to return. Sally and Les Enfield, London.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this property. Everything worked out great.
THe staff was extremely courteous both on the phone and once arrived, and our ocean view rooms had amazing views and balconies you could actually step out on and enjoy. The rooms were extremely clean and functional and we had a mini fridge too to put our things in. Each room also has a small safe. I found the breakfast to be very good: cold cuts, delicious cornetti and sofgliatelle. Also, fruit, juices and a coffee bar with homemade cappuccino. Since they were in season, they also had oranges you could juice yourself. Doesn't get any fresher than that! If you're looking for the big American breakfast, you won't find it here, but really, we prefer Italian breakfast. There's also free wi-fi in the lobby area.

The property is a decent walk away from the center of Amalfi (15 minutes) but it's downhill...problem is coming up, but the hotel provides a free shuttle service to/from the hotel at specific times and by request. We made use of it several times with no issue.

I absolutely recommend the Hotel Dei Cavalieri!!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea view. Not much more expensive than the garden view, but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GC_WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

After a few rough hotel experiences and a dramatic but beautiful drive up the Amalfi coast (my 15 month son got very car sick with the windy drive), we were so relieved to pull up to the beautiful hotel. Where we found free parking, a luxury in Italy, and were greated by the oh-so-friendly and cute Macaw Miro, which my son was enamoured with. The good impression continued with the friendly service with the hotel personnel that checked us in. He made us feel so welcome, and even let us check in early. The lobby was very inviting and I loved the decore. Our rooms were amazing with a beautiful sea view and a neat window that we liked sitting in. The rooms were on the warm side and not really sure if the AC really worked but it wasn't too bad. The views were spectacular, and breakfast was very good too. The cappacino's were excellent, made with a real espresso machine. The conceirge recommended good family restaurants to eat at and would even schedule shuttles for us to be picked up and taken to the places. We felt very well taken care of. It was a good 15 minute walk to town but it was refreshing and amazing scenery, just be careful not get your arm taken off by a scooter whizzing by on the road. We will forever remember this hotel and hope to stay there again one day.

Room Tip: There's pool that is about 10 min drive away and you have to pay euro but it is so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We found that whereas most of the front desk staff were friendly, that one woman, who checked us in and was on duty during the day, very unfriendly, impatient and not helpful at all. In fact, she kept walking off while we were still trying to ask questions. The waiters in the breakfast area each morning were also very unfriendly. We were also disappointed when we were told during our September visit that the air conditioning had been turned off for the year because the weather had cooled down. You definitely needed to keep the doors to the deck open or it was unsufferably warm in the room. There were no screens, and the mosquitos and black flies were a definite problem at night! When we complained they brought us up a citronella scented device to plug in, which did absolutely no good. Overall, we found the staff to be very unresponsive to our needs. We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a balcony, which was extremely small, but offered a great view of Amalfi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#23 of 29 in Amalfi
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
737 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Casamalfi
Residence Casamalfi
#27 of 29 in Amalfi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Address: Via Mauro Comite 32 | Amalfi Coast, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: $59 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dei Cavalieri 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a panoramic rooftop terrace, Hotel dei Cavalieri is only 1.5 Km from Amalfi. Rooms come with a TV, air conditioning and private bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available at reception. Some rooms are decorated in a Mediterranean style, while others have Renaissance-style furniture. Some also have a minibar and balcony. Some rooms are located in the seafront Villa della Marchesa annex, just across the road. Guests enjoy special rates and free transfers to a partner pool set 800 metres away. Decorated with antique furniture and bronze statues, Cavalieri Hotel includes a relaxing garden overlooking the sea. Friendly staff can suggest restaurants and places to visit in and around the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Cavalieri Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing