We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellence at the Excelsior” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Lincoln
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellence at the Excelsior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

This is the first time I have visited the Amalfi Coast and I was not disappointed. The excelsior Hotel is a 10 min bus journey away from Amalfi (the hotel provides regular free shuttle service to Amalfi) and is stunning- fantastic views from our room and pool-side. It is a great place to relax. The most helpful staff I have ever come across with fantastic food. The hotel is a little 1970/80s but not in a tatty way - this only adds to its 'James Bond' charm. My children all thought it was super too- with ages ranging 8-17 this was one for all the family- everyone was made to feel very welcome.
Would I go back there?....like a shot!
Any complaints?- Well, I did think 10 euros each to use the private beach was too much, but that is because there were 6 of us- maybe a concession price for children would be an idea for the future? If it was just me and my wife, then no problem!
Finally, I do recommend the Limoncello!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — price for private beach (because there were 6 of us- made it too expensive)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    360
    143
    68
    63
See reviews for
164
583
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

The Grand Hotel Excelsior is situated 10 mins from Amalfi town. We hired a car but found the hotel shuttle the most convenient way to get to the beach and town. Down the winding road from the hotel Amalfi town is situated with lots of bars, eateries and shops. More expensive to eat and drink in the main square, prices for drinks change considerably the few steps further you take from main square. The shuttle does a first stop at the private beach (if not included in your hotel price this costs 10E per person - so worth the check first!). However once on the beach you have all the facilities needed toilets/changing and a great restaurant. Ample beds and brollies and private area of sea. You can get the boat from here to Amalfi and from there to Positano.

The hotel itself is very clean, the rooms spacious though a little traditional. We also found at particular times when showering the water pressure seems to drop but managed. The balconies are of a good size and all have fabulous views over Amalfi. Good air conditioning in room.

The food at the hotel is very good and the waiters were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was continental and scrambled eggs, plenty enough for us. We stayed half-board and enjoyed each of our meals good pasta, meat and fish varieties and certainly had enough to put the usual holiday weight on!

We had a good time and feel that most of the hotels are probably of equal style and though the Excelsior isn't a walk from town based on the shuttle service that the hotel provides the town is easily accessible.

The hotel has plenty to offer including an american bar, a grotto bar, two restaurants (both al-fresco), a breakfast room with terrace, outdoor pool with deck chairs, private beach with loungers and restaurant bar.

We enjoyed our trip to Amalfi and having visited many locations in Italy it was as good as our best location of Sorrento.

  • Liked — Fantastic views. Hotel has clean spacious rooms and restaurant offering good variety of food
  • Disliked — Could do with updating. Shower pressure. No sun loungers at pool.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxy-of-Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

This hotel has ticked all the boxes for me. From its lovely tranquil views of Amalfi to its friendly hospitality. The location is perfect. With no doubt the hotel offers the best view of Amalfi. The staff are really friendly and helpful from reception to the waiters.
The rooms are very spacious and all offer sea views. We stayed in the Garden Suite, which is ideal for families. The 2 rooms were on two levels each with their own bathroom, jacuzzi, tv, balcony and terrace. The cleaners were very good and friendly as well.
The pool was bigger than I thought it was going to be. It is also a great place to lounge about with your drink looking at this amazing view.
The resturant is a real icon of this place. Every table has a view looking down on Amalfi as well. The waiters are really kind and helpful. The food is off a high standard and there is lots of choice.
There is a shuttle bus that runs very frequently from the hotel to Amalfi, so if you are looking for lively evenings make sure you take a visit.
All in all this hotel has been a great success and I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Its lovely views and great staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlrtc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

Stunning views, Very friendly and hard working staff plus the delightful company of another dis-satisfied Kuoni customer almost rescued this dismal throwback to the 60's. What was good? The views are stunning, there is masses to do on the amalfi coast and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The free hotel bus to Amalfi mitigates the distance from the town, but could be a lot more regular. On the down side, the food in the main restaurant is absolutely atrocious and poor wine is very expensive. There is a slightly better restaurant, but if you are half board, you cannot transfer credit so you have to pay twice for dinner. The bathroom suffered from blocked drainage and a miserable dribble from the shower, which was almost always cold. Other guests seemed also to regularly lament the lack of hot water. The whole hotel requires a complete refurbishment and has massive potential as a highly exclusive 5 star getaway. What a shame it is so underdeveloped. This is not the worst hotel we have ever checked in to (which is also in the Kuoni World Class Brochure) , but it is the worst we have stayed at! The local Kuoni rep did not seem at all surprised at our disappointment and that of fellow travelers at the introductory meeting. They are obviously used to complaints.

  • Liked — Great Views and Delightful Staff
  • Disliked — Dreadful food and non-functional bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim-Susi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

Just a quick note to say how much Christine and I enjoyed our fornight's holiday at the Excelsior. It was I think our fifth time at your hotel and still it was as enjoyable as ever.
The accommodation was extremely comfortable and the hotel just as we expected it would be. Not much has changed over the years which is just how we like it.
The staff at reception were lovely and the waiters/waitresses, bar
staff, domestics, managers all very friendly and helpful.
The food was great - compliments to the chefs.
It was great to renew aquaintances with some familiar faces e.g.
Antonio, Michael, Arianne, Maria, (other waiters.waitresses whose names I don't know), Mauritzio - all staff who made our stay so pleasurable.
The hotel has lost none of it's charm and the views as always were spectacular.
We both felt the benefit of our holiday this year and it was all down to you and your staff.
Please convey our thanks and regards to all of your staff and we hope to see you all again in the future.
"Roberto" and Christine Howieson room 515 20/6/08 to 4/7/08

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bertie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

The Excelsior Grand Hotel probably used to be wonderful, however nowadays the rooms could use a little TLC. The decor was shabby and outdated and the furniture has seen better days. The phone in my room didn't work and when I notified the front desk, there didn't seem to be anything they could do about it. The breakfast buffet is ok. Be warned, the hotel is a bit of a distance to the town of Amalfi, so it isn't the best choice for convenience - there is a shuttle, but it doesn't run too often. The hotel does have gorgeous views of the sea, and therefore I spent most of my time at the hotel on my balcony.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The run down rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Azuremeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

The Excelsior is a good place to stay for those who want to visit the wonderful towns and villages along the Amalfi Coast. It is not the place to stay if you are a sun worshipper and love to sunbathe all day around the pool or on the beach. There are only deckchairs around the pool which is, mind you, a lovely place to sit and admire the view or read or go for a dip but that is all. Nevertheless we enjoyed a couple of lazy days there in between our trips and enjoyed a nice light lunch and drinks in the Tato bistro and bar.
The hotel beach is expensive, ten euros per person (mind you they all are) and a bit disappointing which is a shame because there has been a big effort and expense to lower two lift shafts to get you there, deep down at the bottom of the cliff. The beach consists of black angular stones and grit. While the cove is very private and attractive and the sun loungers comfortable anything other than sitting is really out of the question. The beach bar has changing and toilet facilities and a nice shaded dining area overlooking the sea but it’s a bit of a let down to drink your beer from plastic cups. Maybe they will bring some concrete and timber down and form a nice sitting and bathing area. In the meantime we would recommend Maiori or Minori for the beach. Only ten minutes away by the very regular Sita bus.
But to the many positives. This is a very good and well run hotel with delightful views from the bedrooms terraces, pool and all over this spectacularly situated property. Our room was very comfortable and while the bed was firm we slept beautifully for the whole fortnight. It had nice furnishings and pictures and a lovely balcony with comfortable chairs and of course that view! The bathroom was more than adequate. It had a shower over the bath, a bidet and was very bright and clean. The mini bar was basic but unusually for hotels not a rip off price and got topped up every day by the excellent chamber lady.
There are so many choices to make as to what to do and see. Beautiful Positano, unmissable Ravello, lovely expensive Capri, Sorrento, a cruise to Ischia and so many more
For us it was so great to come back to the hotel after a great day out, have a bath or shower , a relaxed drink on the beautiful terrace and then wine and dine overlooking Amalfi. The staff in the dining area were really good and attentive. They made every meal an occasion. There was no rush, the menu usually catered for all tastes and the food was well cooked and beautifully presented. Indeed the hotel staff all together were really excellent and those on reception were always happy to help and answer any questions.
We would really recommend a stay at the Excelsior bearing in mind our earlier comments as to what kind of holiday you want. We loved it and will return, we hope!

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Hotel beach
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brunnsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#13 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing