We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I only stayed for two days & wished I had had time to stay much longer, but it was a great place to stay and rest my feet after eight days of exploring Rome.
I had a wonderfully large room with all amenities including mini bar, and it was amazing to wake in the morning to the beautiful views of the Amalfi coast. I had a large balcony with table, chairs, and lounge. Just wonderful to rest my weary feet !!! Without having to leave the hotel, there were spectacular views from everywhere in the hotel.
Breakfasts and dinners on the balcony were fantastic as was the food. There was a good selection of everything you could think of and the service was terrific.
I found all the staff , especially the receptionists , to be very obliging and nothing was a problem for them.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and I know I will be back sometime soon and I will be certainly staying much longer.
Thank you to everyone for a very enjoyable stay.!!!.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnneSydneyAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
There are newer reviews for Excelsior Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Excelsior recently and were pleasantly surprised with the standard of the hotel. The views are amazing and the courtesy bus to and from Amalfi was a bonus although it was necessary at times to get to the stop early to be sure of a place. There are other local buses which also run on the same route but they are not cheap and it would have added extra expense if we had needed to use them continuously.
The bedrooms in the hotel are spacious although somewhat dated and tired. The staff were, on the whole, pleasant and helpful and the food in the dining room was excellent with good choices on the daily menu. We were on a half board package and had originally intended to eat out some of the time. We found, however, that the food on the Amalfi coast is generally very expensive and the hotel offered a much better option.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip - fantastic location and breathtaking views from our room and the restaurant balcony!

Décor is dated throughout but the friendliness of the staff and excellent service more than makes up for it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife & I have just come back from a week's half board holiday at the Grand Excelsior Hotel. Hotel, panoramic view and staff absolutely fantastic. The downside is we were all told on day 2 that we were only allowed one tea / coffee per breakfast, any additional will cost 3e each. Now having paid full whack to Thomson of £1350, we didn't expect to pay an extra 54e for the week, water / wine yes but not tea / coffee!
The owners had a cunning plan. There was two menus for Dinner to choose from, one being a la Carte and the other a daily set menu. The daily menu consisted of 3 starters, one being a soup such as Cream of Potato, Chick Pea soup, the others being Pasta such as Pasta with Mussels & Clam. Tons of uncooked pasta a few mussels & clams. 3 main meals such as Braised Chicken Legs (Drumsticks!) Cod in fresh tomato sauce with Potatoes ( Cod was seriously salty & the sauce was just a chopped up tomato). So we had to order off the A La Carte such as Tomato soup with Croutons costing 7e. Extra cost for week for food was 56e. The majority of main meals did not come with veg. Grilled veg was 5e off the a la carte menu and was always slices of aubergines, courgettes and a horrible reddish cabbage.
On the last day we were expected to have breakfast at 05.45 and get coach to airport at 06.00 arriving at airport at 08.20 for a 11.25 flight. After complaining, breakfast was changed to 06.00 & leaving at 0630. The last breakfast consisted of fruit juices, slices of cake and muffin. No tea / coffee!
One of the guests at this point had enough and she managed to find a kettle, tea bags, cups and saucers so we all had a tea. Another problem is because our holiday was off peak the bedrooms did not have air conditioning which was turned off in September. If you left the balcony shutters open then you were covered in fruit flies.The last hotel shuttle bus left Amalfi at 18.45, so if you wanted a red meat meal in town then you had to get a public bus back or an expensive taxi. On the plus side the staff including the Legendary Antonio were excellent.
So I definitely say that the best time for a stay at the hotel is during peak summer days only, don't bother with off peak stays. If paying by Debit Card, keep an eye on the receptionist, as they seem confused that this wasn't a Credit card, and they put my payment through twice. Had to get a refund 0530 on the last day.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a balcony. Rooms have Sky TV with Sky News & some channels in English. Rooms...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GRAHAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

What's not to like about the Excelsior! This was our third stay here in the last three years, and the staff makes us feel like we are coming home! Everything about the Excelsior is pure Italy, and that's just one of the reasons we keep returning! It's the staff ( I won't mention names because they could all be mentioned ), the rooms, the food , the atmosphere and the amazing views that make for an excellent holiday each year. The location gives us access to countless walking trails, villages and easy travel to other attractions along the Amalfi coast. After a busy day, it is nice to get off the hotel shuttle, and enjoy the peaceful sounds of roosters crowing and church bells ringing. Our hats are off to Lorenzo and his great staff! We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I think this is our 24th visit to The Excelsior.
Over the years the hotel has got better and better.
A friendly family run business with charming staff.
The food is very good and typically Italian. Delicious pasta with non creamy sauces and excellent meat and fish. A good choice of desserts
The swordfish, grouper, scorpion and bream were very tasty and moist. Beautiful Roast beef veal and turkey were fantastic.
Contrary to a previous report the Wi-Fi was available in reception and there is also a hotel laptop for guests to use. The courtesy bus is free and there is also a Sita bus from the hotel to Amalfi at E2.5.
The sunrises while we were there were amazing as was the pool. Refreshing after a day out in the sun with hot showers both around the pool and in the cloakroom area.
Although we went at the end of the season the hotel was still busy but never gave the impression of being crowded.
Josette our Thompson representative is the best we have ever met. She really works hard to make your holiday the best it can be in this beautiful part of Italy

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burtoncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a wonderful holiday at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. It is a beautiful place, full of character. Every room has a fantastic view over the sea.
Our room and adjoining bathroom were well equipped, clean and comfortable. We went half board and the food was excellent both the breakfasts and the evening meals.
The staff were all very good. They were welcoming, friendly, efficient and all helped to make our stay extremely enjoyable.
I know that some people have criticised the furnishings and suggested that the hotel should be refurbished. We rather liked the furniture and, particularly, the decor and the beautiful ceramic tiles. I hope that if the owners do decide to refurbish the hotel, they keep the character of the place.
If you like a very modern hotel that looks as if it could be any hotel, anywhere in the world or if you want exactly the sort of food you would get in the UK, then this is probably not the hotel for you. If you want a charming Italian hotel with good food, beautiful views and friendly, helpful staff then I would recommend the Excelsior Grand Hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank JScott371987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
714 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $160 - $1,441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing