We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a wonderful holiday at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. It is a beautiful place, full of character. Every room has a fantastic view over the sea.
Our room and adjoining bathroom were well equipped, clean and comfortable. We went half board and the food was excellent both the breakfasts and the evening meals.
The staff were all very good. They were welcoming, friendly, efficient and all helped to make our stay extremely enjoyable.
I know that some people have criticised the furnishings and suggested that the hotel should be refurbished. We rather liked the furniture and, particularly, the decor and the beautiful ceramic tiles. I hope that if the owners do decide to refurbish the hotel, they keep the character of the place.
If you like a very modern hotel that looks as if it could be any hotel, anywhere in the world or if you want exactly the sort of food you would get in the UK, then this is probably not the hotel for you. If you want a charming Italian hotel with good food, beautiful views and friendly, helpful staff then I would recommend the Excelsior Grand Hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank JScott371987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Have recently returned from a one week stay at The Excelsior Grand Hotel Amalfi, 7th-14th October 2013. The location was breathtaking. A room with a beautiful sea view. The hotel was very clean and all the staff could not do enough for us. A special mention has to go to Giovanni the Restaurant Manager who did an excellent job and all his lovely, helpful staff. Also Antonio (Mamma Mia!) who was also very cheerful and helpful. We can understand when talking to the guests why they return year after year. Home baked bread, cakes and pastries but to name a few choices on the breakfast menu. Excellent. Hope to return again another year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Law1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The location and views from here are absolutely stunning, our room was in a sort of annex which was away from the main building. We thought this was going to be a problem, however it turned out good and we were very happy there. The staff were friendly and helpful and the dinner on the terrace was excellent. Pool area and pool were also very spacious and well set out with great views over the sea. Free scuttle bus to the town ran regularly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald and Barb... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is located high above Amalfi town and has great views. The good news ends here. The hotel has not been renovated since the 70s? - no wifi, no entertainment, grumpy bar staff and not convenient if you miss the hotel's complimentary shuttle bus. Stay closer to Amalfi town

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We recently travelled to amalfi italy. We stayed at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. The staff there is amazing and couldn't do anything more to make our stay enjoyable. What a view from the rooms!! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The spectacular view was the best part of my 4 night stay at this hotel. Continental breakfast was adequate. The room was large with a terrace. Unfortunately it must have been fly season so I was unable to take advantage of the outdoor spaces. Travel to town required taking the shuttle or city bus service. I had dinner only one night at the hotel. The food was nothing to rave about and the service was lacking.

Note~. Watch your step entering the breakfast room. For some my eyes didn't pick up the step and I almost fell. A traveller in my group did fall and the staff did not even come to assist.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the countryside and harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Excelsior Grand Hotel in Almafi. The hotel was lovely. The bedrooms could do with updating but they were very spacious and so was the bathroom.
The rooms could have done with some information about the hotel, breakfast time, lunch time and pool opening times. They quickly went through some of this upon arrival but when you have been travelling all day and are tired you do not remember everything. The staff were excellent very pleasant, polite and obliging. The food was excellent three choices everynight, meat, fish and a vegetarian option. Hotel bus could have done with running more often as the bust soon got full and you had to wait an hour for the next one. Out of the hotel if you turn to your right and walk up the hill about 15 mins you come th Gerry's bar which served lovely pasta and the owner was very funny and welcoming. He even put on a large screen as football was on when we went in there and could not see the TV properly. They have a entertainment night in there on a Wednesday evening. Outside the hotel a local bus passes for 2.50 Euros single trip. These can be purchased at the hotel or in a tobacconist in Almafi. Once you stamp the ticket you have 45 minutes to use it so if your journey is more than that then you need the 24 hour ticket which is 7.60 Euros. You can use this ticket on all the SITA buses which run to Ravello and Sorrento. If you go to Ravello you are best taking the Hop on Hop n off tour bus this is open top and cost 3 Euros each way which was well worth it for the comforr and coolness if it is hot. At the back of the Hotel is a small lift if you go in it 2 floors down from here you can walk down to Almafi in 20 minutes, but only do this if you are steady on your feet as there are lots of steps, steep and crumbly in parts but fine if you are okay. There are hand rails but if you miss the hotel bus its quicker than waiting and its a nice walk down.
Maria who serves is so nice and funny as are the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: All the double rooms have a balcony with fabulous views except the one we had and my sister and her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $164 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing