We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic view, good food and great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, good food and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I visited Amalfi, with friends, in the first week of September 2013 and had a wonderful time here.
The first impression was that it was designed in the sixties, but this somehow added to the charm of the place. I could imagine Roger Moore standing at the bar, wearing a linen suit, with a martini in one hand and pistol in the other.
All the staff are lovely, with a special mention for head waiter Anthony (or more likely Antonio).
The rooms all appear to be facing the sea and the view from the balconies come under the breathtaking category.
The food is excellent, as is eating it on a veranda above Amalfi!
Because the hotel is on a hill above Amalfi the hotel lays on a regular shuttle to and from the town - which sticks to its timetable superbly. This bus is always full, but we always managed to get on it.
We'd definitely return.
Make sure you visit Capri when you're there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevieS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    360
    143
    68
    63
See reviews for
164
583
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the excelsior 23rd-30th august,exceptional views are the one positive thing r in respect of this hotel the hotel is dated and need a refurbishment throughout including thee rooms. Toiletries are cheap and nasty. The service from the staff is inconsistent some seem to care some don't. One receptionist shrugged her shoulders when we said we had no coffee for two days at breakfast. Food was good and well presented but menu needed to be more varied orange juice and coffee at breakfast when available terrible. Restaurant manager clearly had his favourite guests and gave them the best tables at dinner this needs to be addressed for future guests. Exceptional views but this is all this hotel has unless you endure a daily gruelling trip down a cliff face in a creaky bus with a crazy driver. The region is so beautiful stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durhamrambelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deeside, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

After reading some negative reviews on Tripadvisor, it was with some trepidation that we checked into the Excelsior Grand Hotel. We need not have worried, good food and plenty of it, helpful and polite staff, nice pool area and a view to die for. The decor could do with updating, but who needed to look at the decor when you had that view.

Ronald and Ann Bridges, North Wales

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food here is soooo good! For breakfast there is an enormous choice of italian breads and cakes to choose from, all home made and absolutely delicious. The bacon and sausage, as usual, are continental but edible, there is cheese, ham and tomatoes, etc for continental version.Several cereals plus milk or yogurt. Fruit juice is made from powder and not much choice of fresh fruit and if you are not there early the choice is limited to what is left out, but you only had to ask for what you wanted and they brought it to you, so that was brilliant. The three course evening meals were fantastic, 3 choices of starter, 3 choice of main, one dessert (but fruit or ice cream offered instead if you didn't like the dessert. All freshly cooked and absolutely gorgeous. The chef does cooking lessons and if you liked that sort of thing I imagine it would be well worth it, he can really cook. They provide pool/beach towels and both pool and beach are lovely. Rooms are rustic, but very clean and comfortable. The only down side to this hotel, and the reason I have given 4 stars is the need to use either the courtesy bus or public transport to get into Amalfi or to the beach, which was often full and one of our party got left behind on one occasion which meant they had to wait another hour to get back to the hotel. The staff are excellent, there is sometimes a problem in translation and misunderstandings did occur, but that is entirely our fault as we cannot speak Italian, at least they try very hard to assist in whatever you ask of them. All in all a really lovely holiday in an extremely beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWalesJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for just a week from 1st July this year and was very pleased. I wish I'd stayed for another week, as in reality, with flights, pick-ups etc. my stay amounted to only 5 days which was nowhere near enough.

I had a grumble on seeing my room, because it didn't have a balcony or terrace which I was expecting - the trials of travelling alone! However, it have a juliet balcony, and by standing the front legs of a chair there, there were amazing views of the sea, and Amalfi itself.

The food was good - the head waiter is very old fashioned - so don't cross him by sitting at a table without being shown to it!

The shuttle bus worked very well - I wish I had gone into town on more evenings (I wish really that I could have had only b& b, but I was on a package and it wasn't an option.

I wouldn't recommend the hotel's own beach. It's much better to stay on the bus and go right into Amalfi, which has better beaches and you have the advantage of being able to wander off and have lunch or go shopping during the day. It's also cheaper - the hotel beach costs 10 euros per day - WHAT - and I paid 5 euros on the main beach in Amalfi.

I would definitely go back to this hotel. I would prefer one in the town itself, but they are so much more expensive, and with the shuttle bus (and also plenty of local buses) this is not really a problem, and I as I say, from the Excelsior, the views are magnificent.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - on the first couple of floors, there is probably not much of a view. Also if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel staff are very courteous and professional. Especially the restuarant manager who seemed to be there morning, noon and night!
Our view from the balcony was amazing but make sure you stay on the "Amalfi" side. At least then you can watch the various boats coming in and out of the harbour.
The rooms are very much traditional and the hotel itself is very 70's. We kept refering to the lounge area as the "Gold Room" for those of you who have seen The Shining. Well, it made us laugh anyway!
Our shower wasn't great (hot, cold, hot, cold) and the shower curtain sticks to you which was very annoying. Otherwise the bathrrom was clean and well stocked on a daily basis.
We only ate breakfast there twice but were quite dissapointed that the coffee wasn't up to much and the orange juice wasn't freshly squeezed (Small things can make a big difference).
Overall the hotel could do with some modernisation but taking all things into account, we feel it was average/good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great views but appalling attitude from several members of staff. Having met the manager, I can see where the culture comes from. Air conditioning works but the manager will not put it on (presumably he is saving money). I was told it is run at 23 degrees set by a central computer and to lower the temperature would discomfort other hotel users! My daughter had a put you up bed for two weeks and it took them a week to provide a decent mattress. The staff do not care about your comfort, patronise any reasonable requests and it is clear the hotel is only interested in taking your money. Half-board is poor with a limited menu choice each night. You are also miles out of Amalfi and away from other restaurants so you are unable to eat elsewhere. Decor very dated- I doubt this hotel has been decorated since 1966. Only redeeming feature was pool and view (that's why it gets 1 out of 5).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#13 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing