We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The worst hotel experience ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst hotel experience ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great views but appalling attitude from several members of staff. Having met the manager, I can see where the culture comes from. Air conditioning works but the manager will not put it on (presumably he is saving money). I was told it is run at 23 degrees set by a central computer and to lower the temperature would discomfort other hotel users! My daughter had a put you up bed for two weeks and it took them a week to provide a decent mattress. The staff do not care about your comfort, patronise any reasonable requests and it is clear the hotel is only interested in taking your money. Half-board is poor with a limited menu choice each night. You are also miles out of Amalfi and away from other restaurants so you are unable to eat elsewhere. Decor very dated- I doubt this hotel has been decorated since 1966. Only redeeming feature was pool and view (that's why it gets 1 out of 5).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    334
    133
    64
    58
See reviews for
144
534
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

After a fab holiday in 2008 here we decided to return. Amazing location with fabulous views. Antonio the head waiter still there and running the restaurants like a well oiled machine. Food and wine is great.
Still with its 1970's James Bond charm, the Excelsior is a time warp but in a good way.
Since we were last there the area has developed and more people have 'discovered' The Excelsior and the village above. A very relaxed holiday.
The hotel would have got a 5 star review if it wasn't for the paper thin walls: I really didn't want to listen to next door bonking noisily every night! (so don't get a room on the first floor folks!) though they did take a hint when I shouted "do you want scores out of ten!"

Room Tip: go for the higher up rooms... floors above 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you are looking for a charming Italian hotel that serves good coffee and juice in the morning do not go here.

The view is more than great. Therefor we took having to shower with a sticky curtain in the room that should have been renovated in the last millennium, as part of the adventure. As well as the hotel rules that can be found on every wall.

Not the warm hospitality that we found elsewhere in Italy and on the Amalfi coast.

The breakfast buffet was totally finished half an hour before closing. We did recieve an omelette on request. At that stage the Nestle coffee with powdered milk latte and the instant orange juice made us wanting to check out after 1 day.

The friendly staff tried to convince us to stay and then let us leave without any financial fuss.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markdb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at the excelsior grand hotel and I have to say it was a wonderful stay. The rooms were very clean, the staff courteous. When I asked the front desk for dinner options, he actually called the owner of a local restaurant and arranged a pickup service for my friends and I for free. The restaurant we went to was a little gem, fresh pasta, seafood and all made with love italian food (all at a great price I might ad, I ate like a queen there).

The hotel itself is a bit outdated in style, but who cares, you are on the amalfi coast people! the views are breathtaking! I can never get tired of waking up, getting on my pretty large balcony and just staring at everything around me. It was so amazing.

The private beach was amazing, please don't go if you are going to complain about it being a rocky beach, you are in europe. The water is stunning and I took a lot of pretty coloured rocks back home as a souvenir.

The one thing I would say is a downfall, the walls are paper thin. We had the unfortunate luck of having a very noisy neighbour and heard every little thing, but thankfully that only lasted one night.


I would definitely go back, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airvixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Exelsior for 7 nights from 12/08/13 to 19/08/13, what can we say, Wow! what a lovely Hotel. We personally can not understand the adverse comments, sorry folks this Hotel is 5 star to us, no it isn't dated it is in a typical Italian Renaisance style like every Hotel and Building on the Amalfi Coast, this area is a Unesco World Heritage site so the buildings cant be modified, The whole staff from the cleaners upto the manager were so friendly and welcoming, the food was realy good with a good choice and both the Breakfast and Lunch Rooms were to die for, around 500foot up the mountain sitting on a balconey overlooking the town of Amalfi and the coast while eating your meals was a site to behold, it was fantastic, our room number 307 overlooked the Meditereanean sea what a site to wake up to it was fantastic,just with the sound of crickets and the church bells from the many churches arround the hotel,and the sea.
Our Bedroom was not only comfortable and clean but had been redecorated recently like most of the Hotel, it is not dated it is typical old world Italian Style Hotel we thourght it was fantastic and would recomend it to any one. To get to the town the Hotel and private beech the hotel provides a courtesey bus every 45mins to an hour.
So if you want to stay in a beautiful oldy world Italian Renaisance Hotel, that serves fantastic food, has comfortable rooms and friendly staff plus a fantastic views of the Amalfi coast from your Room and Dinning Rooms we would thourghly recomend the Grand Exelsior Hotel Amalfi

Room Tip: Any upper room, they all have sea views of the Meditereanean Sea, Amalfi and its Coastline
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Unfortunately we had a bad start to our stay at Excelsior Grand Hotel but to get things in balance I must say after the initial drama of day one, our stay improved and the 'incident' ended up okay.
We went in May and sadly for us the hotel had not been paid by our tour operator, Appian Line, for some months and our arrival day was the day the management had decided to take a stand and not admit anymore of Appian Line tour guests.
I have to say the way they ''managed'' this situation was most unacceptable and the 10 or so of us were not happy at being kept around 2 hours in the dark, sitting in the lounge.
We were even more unhappy as the manager came out and told us we did not have a room for the 2-night stay unless we paid for it. We had of course already paid the tour agencies who had, in turn, paid Appian Line. This tour company went into administration the next day: left us all high and dry!
So, our initial afternoon was wasted being held in ignorance and then getting into our rooms and contacting our booking agents.
By now we were all the best of friends and ''in this together'' so we met at 5pm for conciliatory drinks and we had dinner together, by now in high spirits.
Management came in to our dinner as we were about to end it and shouted us a local lemon drink so we eased off a bit on the ''anti'' about this hotel.
So, that out of the way, the rest of our stay there was really good: we were upgraded to a room with a view and a balcony to see the most wonderful views, down into Amalfi town and out over the step-down levels to the sea.
This hotel is a rally good one to stay at, great views, hotel shuttle down into Amalfi and our evening meals were superb, as were our 5pm drinkies with the most humorous and attentative barman whose name has escaped me.
So, I was left wishing we could stay longer but as the firm had gone broke we had to get our own way back to Rome: thankfully the hotel manager got us alternative transport so but we had to go early Saturday morning so the ''fiasco'' meant our 3-day meander in and around Amalfi was reduced to one day out and about.
The hotel is pleasant, the meals very nice and staff pleasant.... it is not posh, but it is worthy of your travel dollar, value for money I feel.
Hope the receptionist has had her twins safely, Anna was most helpful at all levels of this stay and I wish her well with her new family.
Grand Excelsior started out ''wanting'' in customer management but came right in the end.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.... amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldlylois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing