We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    361
    144
    68
    63
See reviews for
164
583
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel was a little on the outdated side but worth every penny for the view. With a convenient shuttle system to the town proper it is easy to get in your shopping and tourist stuff but then hop on the shuttle and get back to a much quieter and beautiful setting. They are also just walking distance from a great restaurant called La Taverna dei Briganti which I highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and found FLEAS in my bed on the first night. Given the outrageous price i was paying, and because i was in a hotel, i called the lobby to ask for a change of rooms. They did not believe me that i had seen bugs in my bed and treated me and my family like we were crazy. They were rude and did not apologize and made us wait for a manager that probably doesnt even exist. I never experienced staff that was more interesting in making fun of guests and not giving solutions than doing their work. Disgusting.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ngaivir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I have just come back from a fantastic two-week holiday at the Excelsior Hotel, Amalfi. Definitely the best point of this hotel is it’s location, high above Amalfi with amazing views. But add to this, excellent food, friendly staff and spotless cleanliness and you have a hotel that, basically, just can’t be bettered. If you’re not happy at this hotel then you won’t be happy anywhere.
OK, the access to the town and beach is by a short trip on the free hotel courtesy bus but that just adds to the fun and character. The beach is private, free, has superb top-of-the-range sunbeds in great condition and even boasts it’s own snack bar, and the town of Amalfi just bubbles over with Italian atmosphere – a great balance of tourism and authenticity.
All the staff are brilliant, but notable are Mariana and Serena who calmly cope with any crisis, Maria and Tiziana waitresses with a lovely genuine smiles, and Antonio the ‘maitre d’ who has a gift for memorising names and room numbers and greets everyone personally at each meal. Mustn’t forget Lorenzo the manager who does a first class job of running the hotel totally professionally yet extremely personably.
Incidentally, I have a wheat allergy and the hotel catered brilliantly for me by offering me wheat free alternatives to every choice on the menu, wheat free bread and a plate of wheat free choices at every breakfast – far and away much better treatment than I’ve ever had at any UK hotel or restaurant.
Because the world is an amazing place to explore we have a policy of never going back to anywhere we’ve already been, no matter how good it is. But rest assured, if we did, the Excelsior would be top of our list. The Excelsior really does ‘excel’!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivor_Validcomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel [room 118] for 10 nights [26.7-5.4]. The views are terrific. Sitting on the balcony in the restaurant for an evening meal overlooking Amalfi as the sun sets is a great experience. The food in the evenings was well prepared, but the menu, for those of us on half board, rather limited. There are some friendly staff serving meals, and in the bars. There is a large pool, and next to it a bar and restaurant that served good pizzas and salads at lunchtime.
The hotel is quite a way above Amalfi, which means a local bus, or the hotel's taxi bus, when going or returning, but these are both quite frequent.
However the hotel itself has problems: furniture in the rooms is outdated and does not function well; public sofas in the entrance area need a good clean; there is no live entertainment at the hotel in the evenings; air conditioning is ineffective and controlled from reception, and this meant that we had to return often to speak to them during the first few days to ensure it was put on; when problems arise, management is slow to act. Example 1: It took us 5 days to get the light sorted in the bathroom so it would switch off, and not continuously flash; example 2: the shower had been repaired with tape, and was not usable until we made a fuss; example 3; returning from a day trip out at eight, we found our room door left wide open, so anyone might have entered our room.
Whilst every organisation has problems/ issues, it was disappointing that the hotel did not address the first 2 of these examples more quickly, or that, in the case of the third one, they had no explanation or apparent concern that it had happened.
We liked Amalfi and the surrounding area.
This hotel, with some money spent on it to bring it up to date, and a change in management culture, could be great. If you are thinking of going to this area and seek a hotel, this one will suit if an attractive setting, and quiet are all important. However, if you value recent decor, cleanliness and management with a real concern for your holiday experience, this may not be what you seek.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNCHURCH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned from our 4th stay at the Excelsior & it was yet another memorable holiday.This was partly due to the initial greeting of the staff which was friendly on our arrival at the hotel & the continuous warmth & attentive staff throughout our stay.
For breakfast there was a large selection of food which also included freshly baked cakes, pastries & rolls. Hot & cold beverages to tickle all taste buds.
The evening meal was always varied with excellent presentation & a wide choice for vegetarians.
This was followed by delicious deserts that were so artistic it was a shame to eat.
Our room was bright, spacious, spotlessly clean & well furnished.
The balcony was also wide & furnished with sun loungers & a table. The view was amazing. Truely a picture postcard.
The pool area including the pool was spotless. Has to be one of the nicest pools I've swam in. The view from the pool area looks down on Amalfi which is breathtaking.
If you get a bit peckish between meals there is a bar, called 'Bar Tato' which do excellent food, light lunches etc.
The shuttle bus is an asset to the hotel. The drivers were both courteous & on time. This is a great means for getting from the hotel down to Amalfi town & back up again.
The village of Pogerola sits just above the hotel (a ten minute walk) & again the views from there are amazing.
Definitely recommend booking into this hotel should you decide to visit Amalfi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in room 506 for four nights in July. Both the patrons of the hotel and the locals will agree, this hotel could be so much more if they just invested in some renovantions. AMC's "Mad Men" could film in this hotel without changing a thing! With all that being said, my husband and I did enjoy ourselves and there were many positives about the Excelsior Grand Hotel.

Positives:
The Pool: It was great to have a pool on site. Since we were visiting Italy during one of the hottest months of the year, it was fantastic to come back after a few day trips and be able to jump in to cool down. It was much appreciated. I think it should stay open past 6:00 p.m. though...at least until supper starts being served on the terrace above.
The Beach: We had a great day at the hotel's beach. Yes, it does involve taking the shuttle down to another building, going down two elevators with a walk through a cave in between, but it was worth it to spend time relaxing and swimming in the waves of the Mediterranean! We had a lot of fun collecting sea glass too! The one negative was the pizza at the snack bar. It was poor.
The Supper On Site: We enjoyed a spectacular supper overlooking Amalfi. We ate from the set menu and enjoyed our three courses (see photos). It was one of our favourite moments in Amalfi.
The Shuttle: Aside from the fact that I suffer from motion sickness, it was convenient to have the shuttle. We used it 2-3 times per day. There were two times where we found ourselves in town and wanting to go back to the hotel long before the next shuttle was due to arrive. The taxis are easy to find, extremely clean, drivers speak English and it cost 20 euro.
Breakfast: Delicious and plentiful!
The Staff: Especially the girls at the front desk. So sweet, patient and kind.
The View: AMAZING! BREATHTAKING!

Negatives:
The Decor: I'm sure the owner and his family know that if they wanted to put some money into the hotel, it could really stand out. It's their choice for keeping it the way it is and your's for choosing to stay there.
The Price: At 250 Euro a night, we felt that it was a bit expensive, but breakfast, the use of the pool and beach, the shuttle, were all included...so in the end, it was probably fair.
The Bed: The hardest, most uncomfortable block I have ever had to sleep on.
The Shower: The shower head was mounted in the middle of the bathtub instead of at one end. This meant that the water shot towards the curtain, which then would stick to you. Ick!
Wifi: Only found in the lobby, worked well as long as there weren't a lot of people trying to use it at once.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. I think when it all comes down to it, the breathtaking view is worth the price and 70s charm.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SweetCDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing