We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Le Palme(Amalfi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miramalfi Hotel(Amalfi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aurora(Amalfi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveler rating
365
395
167
79
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
395
167
79
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busprivate beachhalf boardgerry's barhotel beachamalfi coastamazing viewslocal sita busminute walk up the hillnice poolbreakfast and dinnerevery hourbus servicesea viewroom numberpublic areasoverlooking amalfi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We traveled to Amalfi Italy in September 2012 for one week and stayed at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. We arrived in the evening after a gruelling 5 hour bus ride from Rome. The minute we walked into the lobby, we were met by wonderful staff that speedily checked us in. We were in time for a late dinner and enjoyed a scrumptious 3 course dinner on the balcony. The views can not be described! Every where you looked it was spectacular.
The meals were outstanding! Yes, breakfast was European with meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, tomatoes, buns and pastries, but we found it to be all very good quality, and quantity. Plenty of beverage choice too, juices, coffees, teas, water. The evening meals were excellent with 3 choices of appetizer, main course and dessert. We found that the portions were more then enough and the pasta dishes were unique to what we have in Canada and we loved them all! The service is undeniably outstanding! Antonio reserved a table every evening for us which was very special. We traveled with good friends and they could not understand the negative comments we saw on Trip Advisor about the food. Giovonni, Maria and all the wait staff were pleasant and efficient.
Our room was on the 3rd floor over looking the north and it was wonderful. We loved the decor... we were in Italy after all and it was furnished with beautiful Italian antiques. We also appreciated the fact that the hotel was quiet. After touring during the day it was a pleasure to get back up to the hotel and sit in peace on our balcony far away from traffic. Listening to the sounds of roosters, church bells and the occasional dog bark was lovely.
We did not mind that there was not entertainment in the evening. We quite enjoyed sitting on the balcony after dinner for a night cap or two. We met some very lovely people to chat with.
The shuttle bus was a very nice bonus. We used it quite a few times. The Sita bus stopped right outside the hotel and was a reasonable 2.40 euros. We walked down to Amalfi twice on a path that goes from behind the hotel. Once just to do it and it took us 40 minutes as we kept stopping to enjoy the views and the sights along the way. The second time was because they were 'cleaning' the mountains and traffic was very slow. That time it only took 20 minutes!
We walked up the hill to Gerry's Bar one afternoon and the valley views there are amazing and the service and food was perfect.
We would highly recommend this hotel for those who want real authentic Italy, not a Hilton hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 310 and had a wonderfully huge balcony!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ron and Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spent a week in Amalfi at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. The hotel was exactly what we had expected but more. The hotel sits high above Amalfi and we arrived from Rome tired after a five hour bus drive from the airport. The drive along the motorway was exciting, but paled in comparison to the drive through narrow streets of Naples and over the Tyrrinian
Mountains (phonetic). On arrival the driver who managed to thread the coast road and road up the mountain to the hotel continued to amaze all of us by backing the bus to drop us at the front door. Quiet efficiency was the rule for assigning rooms, keys and arranging luggage delivery to our rooms while we ate our first dinner.

On completing a very Italian menu of antipasta, main course and desert we wandered to our room. The small elevator to the fifth floor was not equipped for a large number of persons so we huffed up the 4 flights to our room. We were shocked by the size of room. We were prepared for typical small local hotel rooms, but instead were met with what was a well appointed gigantic room, private bath, small satellite tv and a balcony straight out of a Sophia Loren 1950's movie. The view from the balcony, the French shutters and doors were something to behold. Over the next week it was tough to leave the balcony, and head for the bed. Bed was good but not spectacular. European king size I.e. a two double mattresses on a frame. Very firm and comfortable if you can pull yourself away from the balcony.

We often left the doors to the balcony open throughout the night. Security seemed to be a non issue unless someone had spider man abilities. It appears most if not all rooms face the dizzying drop to Amalfi, hundreds of feet below. The drop broken by terraces of lemon orchards, pomegranates, olive groves, gardens and the thin sinew of pavement winding its way from Amalfi.

Meals were consistent. You should expect seafood, pasta, tomatoes, cheese, and little meat dishes. It is all local and well prepared. It is real Italian and you should not expect North American style food. Breakfast was sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, ripe tomatoes, cucumbers and a wide variety of breads and pastry. Coffee of all types, tea, juices all added to a good start for exploring the coast.

The hotel is a bit isolated from the town. You can easily walk Ito the adjoining village, walk down the roadway (tempting but very narrow with lots of traffic trying to make single lane road wide enough to allow to coaches to pass each other)' take te old path and stairs or use the hotel shuttle, public bus or taxi. The latter is cost prohibitive at about 30 Euros one way to the bottom of the hill.

Shuttle operates once an hour in the morning then stops for the afternoon siesta and resumes later in the afternoon.

Staff were fun, friendly, helpful and clearly show respect for all guests as befits a family run operation.

great value for the money! A solid 3 to 4 star by North American standards. If walking or climbing is a challenge you may best be advised to stay elsewhere. However for the cost, the view, service, and cleanliness we would go back in a heartbeat. Unfortunately, it is closed during the winter season.

Room Tip: Any room facing the sea!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Situated high up in Pogerola with superb views of the Amalfi coast this is a fairly good hotel. We had a room on the sixth floor which was large and had a reasonably sized terrace.
The downside was the paper thin walls - especially with loud speaking guests next door.
Breakfasts were of a poor quality and the coffee from a machine appalling.
Lunch was of good quality and for the price of 100 euros a night and the amazing views I would stay here again if on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank davideHoveEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have been here many times and can say our trip in October was excellent.
A busy hotel but we have always been treated as individuals and with Southern Italian Style .
If you like the BBC4 Inspector Montalbano series I'm sure you'll love it here.
If you are a walker bring some stout shoes and walking poles and enjoy the fantastic walks on your doorstep.
I love fish and every night for 2 weeks there was a different type on the menu, cooked just right with delicate flavoured sauces. I usually finish off with a bowl of fruit or one of there beautiful desserts
Antonio, Giovanni,Tizziana, the two Marias,and all the dining room team are very good and look after you very well.
Breakfast is a feast with something for all tastes.
Our Rep Josette Vassalo from Thompsons is brilliant and nothing is too much trouble for her.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank burtoncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel and while I pre-emptied it was going to be dated by other trip advisor reviews, this was not a problem our room was clean and had the most stunning view to make up for it I was dissapointed that there was no coffee/tea making facilities provided though . Also I found the charge of 10 Euros each to use the hotel beach excessive. The public beach was half the price and less painful to walk on!!. However its a great place for a base to explore this part of Italy with plentiful boats and buses to get about if you dont fancy driving (thats not advisable for the faint hearted!!) My partner also found that the eveing meal was extremely small. I would recomend this hotel if you dont eat a big meal in the evening!! We didnt mind being woken by the Cockerel and the Donkey but others may.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews