We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sixties Retro Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sixties Retro Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Situated high up in Pogerola with superb views of the Amalfi coast this is a fairly good hotel. We had a room on the sixth floor which was large and had a reasonably sized terrace.
The downside was the paper thin walls - especially with loud speaking guests next door.
Breakfasts were of a poor quality and the coffee from a machine appalling.
Lunch was of good quality and for the price of 100 euros a night and the amazing views I would stay here again if on a tight budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank davideHoveEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    360
    143
    68
    62
See reviews for
164
582
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have been here many times and can say our trip in October was excellent.
A busy hotel but we have always been treated as individuals and with Southern Italian Style .
If you like the BBC4 Inspector Montalbano series I'm sure you'll love it here.
If you are a walker bring some stout shoes and walking poles and enjoy the fantastic walks on your doorstep.
I love fish and every night for 2 weeks there was a different type on the menu, cooked just right with delicate flavoured sauces. I usually finish off with a bowl of fruit or one of there beautiful desserts
Antonio, Giovanni,Tizziana, the two Marias,and all the dining room team are very good and look after you very well.
Breakfast is a feast with something for all tastes.
Our Rep Josette Vassalo from Thompsons is brilliant and nothing is too much trouble for her.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank burtoncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpington, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel and while I pre-emptied it was going to be dated by other trip advisor reviews, this was not a problem our room was clean and had the most stunning view to make up for it I was dissapointed that there was no coffee/tea making facilities provided though . Also I found the charge of 10 Euros each to use the hotel beach excessive. The public beach was half the price and less painful to walk on!!. However its a great place for a base to explore this part of Italy with plentiful boats and buses to get about if you dont fancy driving (thats not advisable for the faint hearted!!) My partner also found that the eveing meal was extremely small. I would recomend this hotel if you dont eat a big meal in the evening!! We didnt mind being woken by the Cockerel and the Donkey but others may.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went on a Thompsons half board deal and found a great hotel with a bit of faded italian chique,excellent food in the evening, very good staff and a great base to explore the Area.
Would happily return.

Room Tip: higher floors better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy9n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Excelsior Grand Hotel is located high up on the hill overlooking Amalfi town and the Gulf of Sorrento. Each room has a balcony and a commanding view of the sea. I had a room in the annex block which is a short walk away from the main building. Rooms 700 - 710 are in the annex block. If you have heavy luggage, you will have to drag your luggage for about 30 meters before reaching the annex block. There are no elevators in the annex block so you will have to walk down the spiral staircase with your luggage. Although the room is basic, the best thing about it is the wonderful view from the balcony overlooking Amalfi. Free wifi is available in the lobby area but not in the rooms. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was sumptous and the serving staff were friendly and chatty. The hotel has a shuttle bus service at regular intervals to Amalfi. Outside the bus schedule, you would have to take the SITA public bus at 2.40 euros per trip. Overall, my stay at the hotel was a great experience.

Room Tip: If you are physically challenged, ask for a room in the main building and not the rooms in the 7xx s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aukahkay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is not the newest one but is in a very nice location. We had the room with sea view which really had an awesome sea view. The rooms are a bit old, no Internet in the rooms. The hotel is very clean. Breakfast is ok - not an international buffet, rather Italian with a lot of different cakes. The hotel has also avery good restaurant with amazing view and really good food! The hotel is about 15 min from Amalfi city centre and 10 min to the private beach! But the hotel offers a regular shuttle from the hotel to the beach/Amalfi and back which is really convenient. The hotel personal was very friendly and helpful! If we would go again to Amalfi we would definitely go to the Exelsior again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AAVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This old Italian style hotel sits in the village of Pogerola, overlooking the town of Amalfi. If you want North American style hotels with modern amenities, this is not the place, BUT, if you want a taste of old Italy where you can have breathtaking views of the Sea, Amalfi, yachts floating by as you rest on your balcony, then this is the place. I really cannot speak to the costs as the hotel was part of our tour package. The head waiter Antonio is a darling, always greeting us with a smile and making sure we had our special seats, overlooking the sea. The concierge, Annie, is wonderful. She arranged our concert tickets for Ravello, made sure any of our problems were taken care of and spoke with perfect English. The free hotel shuttle provided allows you to get into the town of Amalfi where you can take buses all over the Amalfi Coast. This is a charming place when you want to step back in time and feel like a local traveller who will be offered up incredible vistas!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks either Amalfi, the pool , or for a quieter area, a room facing the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#13 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing