We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$474
$460
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramalfi Hotel(Amalfi)
$472
$449
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$300
$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $329/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Maria Luigia(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amalfi(Amalfi)
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$406
$385
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aurora(Amalfi)
$295
$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Villa Felice Relais(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
$309
$300
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,092
$991
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,322
$1,282
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,135)
Filter reviews
1,135 results
Traveler rating
390
413
172
84
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
413
172
84
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busprivate beachhalf boardgerry's barhotel beachamalfi coastamazing viewslocal sita busminute walk up the hillnice poolbreakfast and dinnerevery hourbus servicesea viewpublic areasthe hotel offersroom number
Filter
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 1,135 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

It is an excellent hotel with a spectacular position and view. They have a very nice beach(extracharge-10euro/day/person) with an interesting access.The rooms are large,clean with a very nice sea-view.They have a parking place at the hotel which is very important on Amalfi Coast and for access to the center of Amalfi and their private beach they have a shuttle bus every 30-45 min.Free internet in the main lobby.
When I made my reservation I didn't know exactly what I was looking for, but now I have the feeling that I've made the best choice because Amalfi town is a HUB center for public transportation (buses and boats) at half distance between Salerno and Sorento. From here you can travel to Positano,Naples,Capri island or Ischia island

Room Tip: It's worthed to pay for seaside-view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paullamar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Me and my husband went to this Hotel for our Honeymoon...
1st things first....if you're expecting any different service or accommodations because of your special day occasion don't !!! (They didn't seem to care...even thought we we're going to stay there for 14 days...!!! )
When we got there after 16 hours of traveling...the girl at front desk was cold...and borderline arrogant.... That didn't start very well with me....!
The room we had reserved with our travel agent...the one's with a bigger balcony ( need to be on 4th floor and up) wasn't available and we we're going to have to wait 1 week to be able to change our room...

This is an Hotel with an AMAZING...AMAZING view....and the food is DELICIOUS.....I don't think I ever tasted better pasta,fish and soups in my life!!!
The staff from the dinning room...is FANTASTIC...and very fast to resolve any issues you may have....if you don't like what you picked out for supper they will change it....!!!
And the VIEW is breathtaking!!!!
We also visited a lot...we went to Amalfi...of course ( BTW k where the DECO shop is...in AMALFI...the water and all other product are a lot cheaper than on the main street...) we went to Rome,Naples,Capri--- a must see...GROTTA AZZURA...!!!--- Salerno,Maiori And Positano....we stayed a couple of days by the pool that was very nice..but it does close at 18h....
My overall experience was Ok...
One of the staff members there ROSELLA ....was the nicest person....I never met....she was very helpful for our daily escapades....and by boat is definetly the best way to go around the island...by bus it could get long...and if you have trouble with curves...and being in a car...I truly recommend the boat....plus the view is unbelievable .....

I will definitely go back to Italy one day....but I don't think that this Hotel will be my next location to stay...


Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Cinde r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

If you don't mind being in isolation this is a place for you .
Positives are view Spectacular.....
Restaurant staff also spectacular ,meals are average

Negatives.. 20 min bus trip as only means to bottom of the mountain or $30.00 one way euro by taxi to the town which is also small and takes 20 min to do...

Rooms are stuck in the 60,s old lumpy extremely hard beds thin cushions and terrible showers no pressure.

The hotel lacks any atmosphere after dinner even though it offers a bar nobody seems to use it ,it becomes a ghost townAfter 9 and if you want to go down to the town of amalfi it requires a hourly wait and a windy road bus trip.
Not appealing to anybody who wants a great night sleep, or a good shower or ,some after dinner action.
The pool closes at 6,and it doesn't get dark in the summer till 9.... Don't no why???

The isolation And boredom was very overwhelming as we stayed there for 9 days, our stay was to be for12 days as,we forfeited 3 days and left early.

We ask on arrival for a room change as the room was dingy and looked like staff quarters we were moved to the 6th floor which was better sized but bed was still hard and a board was used under the mattress...HARD.
For great location try hotel la bussola looked like a great location and nice accomadtion.

Room Tip: Top floor only nothing under the 3 floor the rooms are like staff quarters.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our eighth family visit to the Excelsior in various combinations. We return for the glorious views over the whole bay from sunrise to midnight (perfect for viewing those summer firework displays), the excellent service (any slight problems are dealt with efficiently and courteously) at reception, from housekeeping and in the restaurant; Antonio and Giovanni's personalised greeting; the chance to dine al fresco overlooking the bay every morning and evening; the attractive cliff-backed BEACH (not platform), and the frequent shuttle service down into Amalfi, from where you can easily catch a boat or a bus to numerous destinations. This year our bathroom had been updated, which was a pleasant surprise, and there was a modern tv that we didn't switch on once, such was the lure of the view from the balcony. Yes, the public rooms are a tad dated, yes, the bedrooms are old-fashioned,and yes,the meals are a bit rustic but there are so many bonuses at the Excelsior that you simply don't notice these quirky features after a few hours, and just get into a truly relaxing routine. Definitiely good value for money in these recessionary times...but probably not a hotel for children under 5.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, but the higher up you are, the better the view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hopefultraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

First I want to comment on a couple of the facts from previous reviews of this hotel.

Yes, the room walls are a tad on the thin side, so just be prepared to turn on the TV or plug in your iPod if things get a little rowdy in the room next door. (If it is as hot as when we stayed it won’t last for long!!)

Yes you do have to pay €10 per person for use of a sun bed on the hotel beach, (however, you do get a decent and working bed, and the toilet facilities are lovely and clean).

Yes there are no proper sun beds around the hotel pool just deckchairs.

If you are reading reviews prior to booking at this hotel and the above will cause you a problem, then maybe this is not the hotel for you. For everyone else..... THIS IS A FANTASTIC HOTEL!!

Just back from our belated honeymoon (by 11 months) and there was absolutely NOTHING I could complain about.

Our room was on the second floor (212) at the very end of the corridor so I think we did have a larger bathroom than other rooms, however, it would not have mattered because the stunning view we had meant we were not going to hang around in there too long anyway!! The room was bright and clean and we were very happy with it.

I was unsure why a previous reviewer had said that the breakfast was inedible because we found it to be very good. The bread rolls were fresh and tasty, as were the cakes and pastries. There was cereal and yoghurt, and scrambled eggs, bacon and hot dogs too. Even the coffee from the machine was pretty good.

We only ate lunch in the pool bar once on the day we arrived because for the rest of the week we were out and about. We found it good too, with salads and pizza starting from about €7, and to be honest if you were just after a light snack, both the salad and pizza were big enough to share.

Dinner in the evening was an absolute delight. The setting on the terrace was breathtaking, and the maître d’ Antonio, and his staff offered a wonderful service. The food was typical local cuisine, with choice of three dishes for each of the courses. Starters usually consisted of a couple of pasta dishes and soup, the main course, meat or fish and then desert was the chef’s choice of the night, or ice cream or fresh fruit. Being local cuisine there were many dishes with food combinations I had never had before, however, it was wonderful to try something different. There have been many reviews commenting on the portion size, well my husband is an ex rugby player and he had no problem with this. The pasta starter was always a decent size and the main courses were very rich so you would not want huge portions. Plus bread was always offered and you could ask for more if required.

After dinner we would go and sit in the outdoor bar area and enjoy the warmth of the evening along with a couple of drinks and a coffee. It really was a lovely lovely hotel and we enjoyed our stay there immensely.

A couple of hints/advice

You will no doubt be told about the path that goes down into Amalfi from Pogerola (a village just up the road from the hotel). If you get a change give it a go as it is a lovely walk of about 45 mins (in total from hotel), and although it looks a long way down, the steps are shallow so it is a gentle descent. I had left my walking sandals at home so had to wear my flip flops but it was still ok. There are a few areas with some loose stones but on the whole it is in good condition. If you are feeling energetic it is possible to walk back up it, although I only did it the once!!

Drink prices in the hotel were about what you would expect for a hotel. A bottle of wine started at €13 (and was very good), a large bottle of water was €2.50, and liquors started from €4.

Take the ferry to Positano (€8 per person each way). It takes about 25 mins and gives you a lovely view of the coastline.

We travelled with Thomson and for the first time ever opted to go on one of their trips – Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. It cost €45 each and we were pleasantly surprised by the day. The guide was very knowledgeable and although we only had two hrs at Pompeii it was enough as it was very hot and very busy, but gave a fascinating insight into what happened there. The bus then takes you to Mt Vesuvius (about 1000ft above sea level), then you can opt to take the 25 min walk up to the crater edge. It was not too bad a walk (again in flip flops although not ideal!), and the stunning view of the crater and over Naples was well worth the effort. Bear in mind entrance fees are extra – Pompeii €11 each and the Mt Vesuvius €8 (to do the extra walk). It was a very good day!

If you have a morning to spare, go with your book and sit out on the terrace near reception. We spent a couple of hours there reading and watching the boats, and generally soaking up the atmosphere without even having to leave the hotel....it was bliss!

Oh and ladies, if you have flowing locks that need much blowdrying you may want to take your own hairdryer. As with most hotels I have stayed in abroad, the hair dryer in the room was a little wimpy!!!

Room Tip: Our corner room had a larger bathroom than some of the others.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MrsWatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews