We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“All good things come back in style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Thetford, Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All good things come back in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We felt welcome in this hotel from the second we arrived to the time we left. We were greeted with an umbrella and a smile on a rainy day. Roseletta at the front desk was one of the nicest people we met in Italy during our vacation. The hotel was built in the 60s and the decor still shows it even the brand new chairs in the restaurant. Call it dated or retro it's like going back in time and a nice departure from some of the new and polished hotels we are accustom to today. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was great and some one of the best we had all week. Our only regret was that we were not staying longer.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a view of the sea so no tip needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    344
    136
    64
    58
See reviews for
156
553
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I loved this hotel! Theservice is excellent and the views are amazing. Not right in town, but they have a shuttle into town. I would stay here again - anytime!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel is all about the view. It is well positioned high in the cliff / hill. I have to say that for North American patern you may feel disapointed but relax, you are in Italy! Enjoy the spectacular views! Ask for a sea view. I stayed at the higher floor with my family. We would stay at the terrace enjoyng the sunset. If you don't get the balcony you will always have the commom terrace. The pool is nice and deep. Not much space around it but it is relaxing. The service is good. Breakfast is fair. There is a bar when you can eat a pizza Marguerita. There were some tourist who joined their friends just for the dinner and the view. They were at Amalfi at sea level and went just to check the view and were amazed.
It is far from the Amalfi center so the beach was not a daily option but we were not in Amalfi because of the beach.
The price of this hotel was above average of all hotels we stayed in Italy but that's Amalfi and I decided to prize myself.
If you rent a car you can easily drive around. The road is narrow and you will feel like inside thise Bond movies.
Wireless internet available so you can access you Trip Advisor and pist nice comments and pictures of this lively area.
You can walk downstairs and check the Yellow Lemon plantation. You could get list walking around the hotel area.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Fdcaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Amalfi coast region (even over Tuscany region) is particularily beautiful as are the views from this hotel. We had a room with balcony on the top floor approx mid building which offered an unobstructed view of the sea and coastline below. If you are prepared to be accepting of the fact this is an older hotel then do not hestitate staying here. Breakfast was on the open terrace and dinner inside overlooking Amalfi town itself..very romantic!... My wife and I drove down from Rome and were able to park at the hotel..(tip- rent a very small car- we had a Fiat 500- lovely)....staff were friendly and more than accomodating and quick to assist ....plan on taking the free shuttle into Amalfi as opposed to driving as there is very limited parking near the town or beaches. Be careful on the road; anticipate the oncoming car or bike coming around the corner on the wrong side and you'll do fine...in warmer temps anticipate long lines of cars and slower progress...We were able to travel around to Sorrento, Positano and had no problems..Took a bus to Pompei and climbed to the top of Mt Vesuvius overlooking Naples....fantastic time....should you have any questions please feel free to contact me...we will return to Italy...next time Sicily:)

Tramper

Room Tip: go with top floor corner room...pool opens later into May
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tramper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

First, the view from our room's balcony was worth the cost of admission...There's nothing that I've seen that quite compares...and I've traveled extensively. The trip on the winding roads through Positano up the mountain to our hotel in Amalfi was breathtaking...although frightening at times. The bus drivers really know what they're doing there and have a great judge of distance. It was October so we didn't use the pool at the hotel but it looked amazing and was quite large...We were there three nights and the meals were nicely prepared and there was a nice variety to choose from. We loved Amalfi and are talking about going for a month when we retire. The only negative which applied to most hotels we stayed at in Italy...is that the mattresses are terribly hard. If you've got back problems you're going to feel it on those mattresses.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jojo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We traveled to Amalfi as part of a semi-escorted tour. Definitely enjoyed this hotel, even tho it had dated decor and a miniature tv, we couldn't help but get up early to watch the sunrises over Amalfi, or spend time on the outdoor terrace bar for drinks, and gaze at the sea and town before our return to Rome. Located high on the mountainside (all the old rooms without sea views have been shut down), every room has a scenic view. The front desk staff all spoke excellent English (one is an American)--extremely helpful and accomodating for extra towels and pillows; as the weather had been cold but turned warm again our room needed help to keep cool and the staff were able to locate a great fan to help us sleep at night. Our room was a good size as was the bathroom, bed comfortable, the shuttered window doors and balconies terrific. There is a free wifi internet spot near the lobby, and one free computer to use if you didn't bring a laptop.

The shuttle bus helped us do our tours of Amalfi without paying for taxis, though there are some missing hourly return times that would have been appreciated (especially on the one day it rained forever). Food was OK, but not a highlight of the hotel. We were particularly surprised one evening when we missed the early seating and were brought into the bar until supposedly a table might open up; we were kept there for at least 40 minutes while other couples in our tour group were seated as we watched them get their dinners. No explanation from the wait staff, and we felt treated like poor relatives. The following day we had a long wait before our bus came to take us back to Rome and went to sit on the terrace; when we stopped by the bar to see if they would let us have glasses with ice since we had brought some bottled water with us, they refused even though they knew we had just spent a couple of days at their hotel and restaurant.

Nevetheless, we would consider staying there again, just not eating at the restaurant for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far side of the hotel away from Amalfi do not have views as good as those closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tigerseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Hotel is in a beautiful location with stunning views.
Reception and all other staff are pleasant, helpful and professional.
It is not by any means a modern hotel; the decor is quite quirky! Everywhere is clean and tidy.
Our room was spacious and clean with a lovely L shaped balcony.
We made use of the convenient and regular shuttle bus to Amalfi and the beach.
The breakfast was fine and evening meals mostly good but only average on a couple of occasions.
We walked to the little village of Pogerola a few times for a change of scenery - this takes about 10-15 minutes.
Our holiday here was lovely and I would recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing break with fabulous views.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank suef29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing