We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

A mixed bag of good and bad. First the good. The views are superb from the hotel and pool area. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good as is the evening meals. The transport links are reliable. The pool bar is fine. Prices are a little high for drinks but comparable for Amalfi. Rooms are cleans and bathrooms OK.

The bad: Beds are terrible and not what I would expect in a hotel of this type or ranking. Air conditioning was substandard and could not cope with the heatwave we experienced. The hotel location means excellent views but it does mean that you have an extra 20 plus mins each way to travel to the hotel from Amalifi The walk from the hotel to Amalfi is only for the fit and even then is a bit of a struggle. I would recommend trips to Ravello, Positano, Vesuvius Pompei. The Pompei trip is worthwhile but does involve a long journey there and back. Amalfi is a lovely location but its location means that the travel to and from can be long and difficult. The pool is OK but there is limited seated so get there early. Bathroom towels are a little on the thin side. The meal associated with the Pompey Thomson trip is a tourist trap (14E per head) is substandard and overpriced and should be avoided.

Overall we enjoyed the holiday but there are flaws in the hotel that you have to accept and overcome. You need to be a little patient with some of the trips in terms of the amount of travelling involved.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wpjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    361
    144
    68
    63
See reviews for
164
583
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

this hotel is situated on the top of a cliff about 7 or 8 hundred feet (maybe more) above the town of Amalfi with the most amazing views both day and night. it's a nice clean hotel with a nice pool. we had a nice room with a large terrace over looking the town...fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ermanno024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We liked the hotel very much. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice with a good variety and you can sit inside or outside on the terrace. The pool was very refreshing and relaxing with great views and drinks and snacks are available. My only complaint was we would like to have ice available in room, or an ice machine in hall to get ice. They charge for ice and there is a note in the room stating that you cannot put anything into the mini fridge or they will remove it from your room. We thought that was funny and got a good laugh from that! Ice is like a hot commodity in Italy! A hotel shuttle bus is available to bring you down to the main square for restaurants, shopping, catching buses to nearby sights, or to their own private beach, which we did not have time to go to. Overall we enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it and hope to return someday. Please see attached photos.

Room Tip: some rooms have a balcony and some do not, but I am sure all rooms have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisaann1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We booked 2 single rooms for the last week in July at the Excelsior, Amalfi, as a 7 night half board package with Thomsons. One of these rooms was seriously substandard. The booking was made 15 months ago and we paid a supplement for single rooms with sea views. Whilst one of these rooms was fine, and fitted the description & photos in the online brochure, the other was nothing like it, though cost the same.
In was tiny, extremely narrow, dark and with a small bed which looked like a child's bed. There was no balcony or terrace, only a long window which looked onto the hill, and my neck wasn't long enough to see the sea view promised. They called this a French balcony, but it didn't resemble any I've seen in France. I haven't seen a black & white TV in a while, but this room had one, though no fridge. It also appeared that the room was being used by a member of staff.
We spent most of the first 2 days requesting another room or even another hotel from the Thomsons tour rep, without success. We were told that all hotels were full, as it was high season. We knew this, as we'd paid high season prices when we booked 15 months previously. After 2 nights, we were given another room which was of the standard expected.
This is a 4 star hotel, and the description & photos in the online brochure give the impression that all rooms are of a decent size & have a terrace or balcony with spectacular sea views. This is the main reason we selected this hotel. Having paid extra for single rooms, we felt that it was unacceptable to then provide a room of such a low standard. The hotel itself was lovely, and I'm sure that most people who book double rooms get what they expected.

Room Tip: Don't book single rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SplashLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We spent two weeks here this summer and it was the perfect place to flop and relax. Its set in an absolutely beautiful location - overlooking the sea from every level. The pool and grotto bar are brilliant, as was the service which was immaculate during our stay. While the hotel was a bit dated and our bedroom a bit basic, we can't imagine a better place to spend 2 weeks unwinding on the coast. Ravello and Amalfi easy travelling distance, and the hotel shuttle bus a great way to get into town.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up and you'll get the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoewilliams_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Excellent hotel! Excellent rooms and bathrooms! Excellent friendly, helpful, lovely staff! Excellent cleanliness! Excellent breakfast! Excellent evening meal! Excellent views! Excellent pool! Excellent holiday!..................................................................................................
Are we getting my drift here???
All four of us had a fabulous holiday here. I really don't understand the negative comments. I suppose there is just no pleasing some people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We were fortunate to be able to travel to Amalfi for a meeting that was held at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. It was our first visit to Italy and the Amalfi Coast, and we were not disappointed. The hotel has an incredible view, as it is perched 1000 feet above the sea. We had our 18- and 16- year olds with us and we had a two-level room with an outdoor terrace and clean bathrooms that accommodated our family nicely. The decor of the hotel is reminiscent of a previous era, but while others on Trip Advisor were displeased, we enjoyed the atmosphere and the lovely decks where we ate most of our meals. The hotel has shuttles to their private beach, but we also enjoyed the workouts of walking up and down the 600 steps to the beach. While we were pleased with the hotel, two things made our stay particularly outstanding: the food at both the hotel and the beach bar/cafe was some of the best we had in all of our travels through Italy - really top rate. In addition, the staff, and Annie in particular, could not have done more to make our visit more memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two-level room which had a pull-out for our kids. Worked great for us, but ask if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CNReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
644 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing