We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive Place but Noisy”
Review of Lidomare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lidomare Hotel
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The hotel is quite attractive if a bit run down. We had a large. comfortable room with pretty majolica tiled floors. The promised terrace with views over the sea never materialised though - breakfast was in a small, ordinary room, but very tasty. The big drawback is the noise, which comes in two varieties: 1) you are very very close to the duomo, and the bells are rung at 15 minute intervals all day long, beginning at 7 am. Ouch! 2) Our room faced a small interior courtyard where the local kids played football for about three hours every night with irrepressible exuberance. I never knew a handful of little boys could make THAT much noise! But it's a very nice hotel, and very well located, just off the main square but tucked awy so it's very peaceful when the bells aren;t rining and rthe kids have gone to bed. (The bells do stop at night.)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 252 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2010

Nice Place, direct in Amalfi. Great to reach busses und ferry. Staff was really friendly. My room was very, very small. For a charge of 2 EUR/day you can use minibar for own food and drinks.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanilladec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Lovely big, high-ceilinged rooms in a top location from the Piazza Duomo.

Out of season (we went at Easter) there was a little noise from the street but nothing too distracting. The bed looked old and uncomfortable but was actually very firm and comfortable. The host was friendly and the breakfast was pleasant.

There's really no down side to staying at the Lidomare.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thebigsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Just spent a week at the lidomare - basic but great situation atmosphere and sea views - would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlaWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We booked 3 rooms for 8 people at the last minute and arrived to find a charming staff.The hotel is just steps from the towm center square and church with shops and resturants.
Parking is extra, the staff meets you and parks the cars for you. One night for 2 cars was 31 euros.
The rooms are old, large with balconies looking over the port. The bathrooms have been updated.
Breakfast is coffee, cereal, crossiants and rolls.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
Thank JRG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Lovely family hotel which is extremely conveniently located in the town centre. Very pleasant atmosphere, the period furniture, all rooms in own way the unique. To get to our room, some times to rise and come downstairs
, to do some turns. Our room with kitchenette in a case (an unexpected surprise) and well equipped, but here only the window in room has strongly surprised us: that in it to glance, it was necessary to rise on a chair, and there was it small as in a cell, moreover and with a lattice. It was amusing to see a face of the daughter when we have gone one from street to walk on night Amalfi - well simply prisoner of lock If. For one night such window, of course, strongly has not strained us, but here if to arrive for a week …

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AssiaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We stayed 3 nights this time, having stayed here 3 years ago. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly, the rooms spacious and comfortable, and the location is right in the heart of Amalfi. The only drawbacks are the parking (there is none, but they have a service that takes the car and delivers it when you need it for 18 euro a day) the shower (The room had a jacuzzi tub, very nice, but to shower, you had to sit down in the tub. It was a hand-held, and there is no door or curtain to keep you from totally soaking the bathroom), and the internet. They charge 5 euro for 3 hours for wifi, but it didn't work in our room. We had to go into the breakfast room to have it work. The breakfast is okay - same three things every day, but there is no fruit, meat of cheese served.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastwestUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
742 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#26 of 29 in Amalfi
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
609 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#29 of 29 in Amalfi
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidomare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidomare Hotel

Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: $78 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidomare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lidomare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lidomare Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing