We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the hotel in "Beat the Devil" (John Huston film with Bogart)”
Review of Lidomare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lidomare Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Like the hotel in "Beat the Devil" (John Huston film with Bogart)”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

First of all, note to other reviewers: Amalfi is on the Tyrrhenian Sea, not the Adriatic Sea.

Secondly, I have to say this was probably the most memorable place we stayed at during our 3+ weeks in Italy. The room was spacious and had a definite old-fashioned feel--some people might say unappealingly shabby but to me, the down-at-heel atmosphere had a peaceful, homey appeal. After having spent 4 days in a dank, dark room in Praia a Mare, I was happy to be in a sunlit, breezy yet warm, place. Our room overlooked the piazza which also serves as a bus terminal. Ordinarily this would have been a turn-off but really it didn't bother me. The buses stop running before 11 pm and then there's virtually no traffic until around 6 am. The shutters did a good job of blocking out noise and light.

The guy who was at the front desk 90% of the time (who I think is the owner) bent over backwards to be a good innkeeper: While we were there, he was in the process of fixing the WiFi so that it will be available in all the rooms and although it didn't happen while I was there, I appreciate the effort. We had to leave before breakfast on our last day and he made an effort to set up the coffee machine so we could have some before we hit the road.

As another reviewer has noted, the shower is crazy. The first and last time I used it, I managed to soak the entire bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlippyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    103
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
35
125
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

really enjoyed this hotel having been a bit put off by some of the less flattering reviews on this site. just shows you sooo have to read between the lines on Tripadvisor. For 60 euros a night this was brilliant value in a very expensive part of Italy. Lovely rooms with high ceilings and rather nice old dark wood furniture. All spotlessly clean. Weather diabolical and cold but room toasty and comfy. Bathroom serviceable and shower mad but great! all immaculately clean. The hotel know how I feel about their rather rubbish old fashioned hair dryer.. grrrr .... equivalent of having elderly man blowing at you from a distance. Breakfast fine and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location brilliant and the steps (maybe 15/20??) were no real obstacle if you're ok on your legs and you're not carrying vast amounts of luggage. had lovely sea views from both our rooms.Bravi e complimenti albergo Lidomare!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dockyrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashmere, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Friendly staff and helpful. The gentleman who was our main contact was always nice and willing to answer our questions. He could give us weather reports, directions, and referral to good restaurants and always willing to do so. Enjoyed the view of the sea and marina. Liked the room and breakfast ws simple but good.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the sea. Alot of steps to hotel but good exercise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Lidomare is right in the centre of Amalfi, just a few steps down to the main shopping street. It is a clean, friendly, family-run hotel. We were welcomed warmly after we hiked up the steps (good practice for all the towns on the Amalfi Coast). The mosaic tiles on the floors are beautiful. The furniture in the rooms was interesting, mostly antiques. One room overlooked the Adriatic and was a bit noisy at night with the sound of gears being changed on buses and motorbikes on the road below. The other room overlooked a little square with restaurants, a fruit stand, shops and a pharmacy. (See photos) The breakfast room was small but we weren't in a great hurry so we managed. One day some of our group ate in the owner's living room because the breakfast room was full. We took the ferry from Salerno and it was easy to find the hotel. It was convenient for buses as well and for hiking to the nearby towns. It was really busy on the main street but when you walked further along the street, it was much quieter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gertie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, R.I.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a room overlooking the Adriatic Sea and it was wonderful. The room was lovely, the bathroom adequate (a little small) but clean and quiet. Everyone who worked there was friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was small but they had another room for extra seating. The only thing I really did not like was all the stairs to get to the hotel. But it is a very hilly region so it is to be expected, I guess. As I am getting older, it becomes more difficult, so I just take my time and hold on to the railings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The furnishings were lovely. Large size room, bathroom a little small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverlyLincoln_R_I_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watlington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Beautiful old, quaint hotel in crowded centre of town. Lovely furnishings, good continental style breakfast. Lots of steps up to hotel but that is part of the geography and can't be helped and part of charm. We were on walking holiday and this provided a good starting point for walks to Ravello and over to Priano

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel Lidomare is a family run hotel in a beautiful old building with antique furniture very large rooms - at least ours was - beautiful sea views from some rooms. If you arrive by boat or by bus just look across the street and look for the white arches opposite the bus stop. This is the back of the hotel and the balcony of the rooms with sea views.
The staff in Lidomare were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic continental but perfectly fine.
Hotel Lidomare is right in the center of Amalfi and is accessed via some steps from the main street on the left after you pass under the arch entrance to the town square. This hotel is very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a sea view. Ours had a balcony and could be a little noisy at night but its wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#25 of 29 in Amalfi
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#28 of 29 in Amalfi
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residenza del Duca Hotel
0.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.0 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidomare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidomare Hotel

Property: Lidomare Hotel
Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidomare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Lidomare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lidomare Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing