We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful hotel with a lot of personality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lidomare Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lidomare Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with a lot of personality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a beautiful historical building with plenty of personality, great seaviews and a perfect setting in the middle of Amalfi. Great value for money. We stayed 7 nights in August 2011 and will definitely be coming back. Great place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NiklasBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    91
    30
    8
    10
See reviews for
28
108
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Nottiinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed in the Lidomare for 4 nights from 30 May 2011, and found it charming. Our room had large and wonderfully old double doors, and a balcony with a view of the cathedral. Since the hotel is set a little back from the main square on a small courtyard it wasn't too noisy, and we could sit at our open french windows and read in relative peace and seclusion. Very pleasant. As many previous reviewers have said, everything was spotlessly clean, and the hotelier was friendly and helpful. The tiled floors and charmingly mismatched furniture seemed in keeping with the age of the building and the town in general, being old and occasionally slightly eccentric but nevertheless comfortable - although beware of sitting at the small round table in the corner of the breakfast room unless you are very tall!

You should note that if you either can't or won't carry your own luggage up stairs then you shouldn't stay at the Lidomare, but this shouldn't be a problem for most people.

Room Tip: View of cathedral probably better than sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate7760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed at the hotel last week, the hotel was ok for a three star hotel in the centre of Amalfi – a little bit on the expensive side and not great.

The room itself was tired and dated, but looked clean. The TV had limited Italian channels.

Breakfast was a little bit poor, but ok by a cheap hotel standards.

Parking involved handing the car and keys over to a nice guy called Andreas, who seemed to manage all the parking in town in garages - €20/day and also involved getting the bags to the hotel.

The room we had was massive, the bathroom very small. We had a sea view, which meant us being right over the main coast road – the room had double glazing so not so bad noise wise. I would doubt the duvet on the bed had ever seen a clean, so we didn’t use it.

Room Tip: sea view with balcony is nice, expect some noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adomski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Lidomare is everything you'd want from a 3 star hotel, and more. Clean, spacious, great location and views and the cherry on top is really friendly and attentive staff.

The place is well established and a bit dated but I'd rather that over a renovation and €300 rooms any day.

Grazie mille!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nielsmarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Great hotel run by a local family who make your visit feel very Italian.

Rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. Ours had a Sky TV, a mini bar, king size bed and large balcony overlooking the sea.

The whole hotel is authentic, yet not tacky. It's right in the centre of Amalfi, just minutes from the cathedral and the sea. It is above the main road but the noise didn't bother us.

The owners speak good English. Breakfast is basic yet generous.

There is no parking but the hotel can put you in touch with a local garage owner who will pick your car up and drop it off; they charged us €18 a day.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport, tn.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Small family run hotel with the charm we had hoped to find. We had a sizable balcony overlooking the seashore, and the biggest room of our visit. The hotel was in a great location, with lovely owners. There was some noise from the highway in front, but nothing to detract from our stay. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in #42 which had a large balconly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda55Newport_Tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

There was a warm welcome from the lady who owns the hotel. The staff were generally cheery and helpful. Service was good e.g. a light went out in our bathroom and when we returned from breakfast, someone had already fixed it. (we hadn't even reported it - it must have been the maid.)
Breakfast was adequate and the coffee was excellent and in good supply.
The location was central, but quiet as the hotel is part of a small piazza just off the town centre on one side and the seafront on the other.
Our room looked out over the roofs to a lovely view of the Cathedral. Lovely, warm, restful trip in a lovely old hotel (with modern services).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citytripper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#27 of 29 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Antica Repubblica
Hotel Antica Repubblica
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#19 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residenza del Duca Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sharon House
Sharon House
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidomare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidomare Hotel

Property: Lidomare Hotel
Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidomare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lidomare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lidomare Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing