We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, clean, spacious and friendly family-run hotel.”
Review of Lidomare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lidomare Hotel
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Great hotel run by a local family who make your visit feel very Italian.

Rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. Ours had a Sky TV, a mini bar, king size bed and large balcony overlooking the sea.

The whole hotel is authentic, yet not tacky. It's right in the centre of Amalfi, just minutes from the cathedral and the sea. It is above the main road but the noise didn't bother us.

The owners speak good English. Breakfast is basic yet generous.

There is no parking but the hotel can put you in touch with a local garage owner who will pick your car up and drop it off; they charged us €18 a day.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 252 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2011

Small family run hotel with the charm we had hoped to find. We had a sizable balcony overlooking the seashore, and the biggest room of our visit. The hotel was in a great location, with lovely owners. There was some noise from the highway in front, but nothing to detract from our stay. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in #42 which had a large balconly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda55Newport_Tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

There was a warm welcome from the lady who owns the hotel. The staff were generally cheery and helpful. Service was good e.g. a light went out in our bathroom and when we returned from breakfast, someone had already fixed it. (we hadn't even reported it - it must have been the maid.)
Breakfast was adequate and the coffee was excellent and in good supply.
The location was central, but quiet as the hotel is part of a small piazza just off the town centre on one side and the seafront on the other.
Our room looked out over the roofs to a lovely view of the Cathedral. Lovely, warm, restful trip in a lovely old hotel (with modern services).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citytripper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I really liked this hotel. The rooms are spotless! I know they should be but this place was so clean it deserves a mention. Our room was big with a sea view - lovely. The bathroom was fine but shower didn't drain very well - no big issue really. Breakfast was simple - croissant, bread roll, yogurt, cereal. Staff were friendly and polite. Overall a lovely hotel, right in the heart of the vibrant Amalfi!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexrich101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Great location. Owners couldn't have been nicer. We got a quad room which was big and the beds were comfortable. Balcony overlooking the sea was great but a little noisy until past 8 pm. Bathtub but no shower. In spite of location in heart of the action, our room was very quiet. Breakfast was not enough (cereal, yogurt, fruit cocktail and some rolls). Parking is about a 10 minute walk up the hill for 18 euro per day. They bring your bags too and from the hotel. Internet was 5 euro for 3 hours. It only worked if i restarted my computer each time before signing on, We loved this hotel as it was quite charming, if not luxurious, and great location. Be ready for a scary drive along the amalfi coast to get there, though.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The hotel is quite attractive if a bit run down. We had a large. comfortable room with pretty majolica tiled floors. The promised terrace with views over the sea never materialised though - breakfast was in a small, ordinary room, but very tasty. The big drawback is the noise, which comes in two varieties: 1) you are very very close to the duomo, and the bells are rung at 15 minute intervals all day long, beginning at 7 am. Ouch! 2) Our room faced a small interior courtyard where the local kids played football for about three hours every night with irrepressible exuberance. I never knew a handful of little boys could make THAT much noise! But it's a very nice hotel, and very well located, just off the main square but tucked awy so it's very peaceful when the bells aren;t rining and rthe kids have gone to bed. (The bells do stop at night.)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Nice Place, direct in Amalfi. Great to reach busses und ferry. Staff was really friendly. My room was very, very small. For a charge of 2 EUR/day you can use minibar for own food and drinks.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanilladec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#26 of 29 in Amalfi
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#29 of 29 in Amalfi
296 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Bussola
Hotel la Bussola
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Floridiana Hotel
Floridiana Hotel
#5 of 29 in Amalfi
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidomare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidomare Hotel

Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: $86 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidomare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Lidomare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lidomare Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing