We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Central, clean, spacious and friendly family-run hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lidomare Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lidomare Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Central, clean, spacious and friendly family-run hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Great hotel run by a local family who make your visit feel very Italian.

Rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. Ours had a Sky TV, a mini bar, king size bed and large balcony overlooking the sea.

The whole hotel is authentic, yet not tacky. It's right in the centre of Amalfi, just minutes from the cathedral and the sea. It is above the main road but the noise didn't bother us.

The owners speak good English. Breakfast is basic yet generous.

There is no parking but the hotel can put you in touch with a local garage owner who will pick your car up and drop it off; they charged us €18 a day.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    89
    29
    8
    10
See reviews for
27
105
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newport, tn.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Small family run hotel with the charm we had hoped to find. We had a sizable balcony overlooking the seashore, and the biggest room of our visit. The hotel was in a great location, with lovely owners. There was some noise from the highway in front, but nothing to detract from our stay. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in #42 which had a large balconly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda55Newport_Tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

There was a warm welcome from the lady who owns the hotel. The staff were generally cheery and helpful. Service was good e.g. a light went out in our bathroom and when we returned from breakfast, someone had already fixed it. (we hadn't even reported it - it must have been the maid.)
Breakfast was adequate and the coffee was excellent and in good supply.
The location was central, but quiet as the hotel is part of a small piazza just off the town centre on one side and the seafront on the other.
Our room looked out over the roofs to a lovely view of the Cathedral. Lovely, warm, restful trip in a lovely old hotel (with modern services).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citytripper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I really liked this hotel. The rooms are spotless! I know they should be but this place was so clean it deserves a mention. Our room was big with a sea view - lovely. The bathroom was fine but shower didn't drain very well - no big issue really. Breakfast was simple - croissant, bread roll, yogurt, cereal. Staff were friendly and polite. Overall a lovely hotel, right in the heart of the vibrant Amalfi!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexrich101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Great location. Owners couldn't have been nicer. We got a quad room which was big and the beds were comfortable. Balcony overlooking the sea was great but a little noisy until past 8 pm. Bathtub but no shower. In spite of location in heart of the action, our room was very quiet. Breakfast was not enough (cereal, yogurt, fruit cocktail and some rolls). Parking is about a 10 minute walk up the hill for 18 euro per day. They bring your bags too and from the hotel. Internet was 5 euro for 3 hours. It only worked if i restarted my computer each time before signing on, We loved this hotel as it was quite charming, if not luxurious, and great location. Be ready for a scary drive along the amalfi coast to get there, though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KP303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The hotel is quite attractive if a bit run down. We had a large. comfortable room with pretty majolica tiled floors. The promised terrace with views over the sea never materialised though - breakfast was in a small, ordinary room, but very tasty. The big drawback is the noise, which comes in two varieties: 1) you are very very close to the duomo, and the bells are rung at 15 minute intervals all day long, beginning at 7 am. Ouch! 2) Our room faced a small interior courtyard where the local kids played football for about three hours every night with irrepressible exuberance. I never knew a handful of little boys could make THAT much noise! But it's a very nice hotel, and very well located, just off the main square but tucked awy so it's very peaceful when the bells aren;t rining and rthe kids have gone to bed. (The bells do stop at night.)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Nice Place, direct in Amalfi. Great to reach busses und ferry. Staff was really friendly. My room was very, very small. For a charge of 2 EUR/day you can use minibar for own food and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanilladec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#27 of 29 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Antica Repubblica
Hotel Antica Repubblica
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#23 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharon House
Sharon House
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidomare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidomare Hotel

Property: Lidomare Hotel
Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidomare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lidomare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lidomare Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing