We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL HOTEL IN AMALFI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marina Riviera
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL HOTEL IN AMALFI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent 6 days at this hotel at the beginning of September. We read many positive reviews before booking and were not disappointed. This hotel is marvelous, the staff are very attentive and overall it is a delightful place to stay in. The breakfasts are fantastic: eggs cooked to order, breads, pastries, cheeses, meats and a special dish each day, e.g. delicious greens cooked with small sausages, casserole type bread pudding with cheese and bacon, I could go on - just salivating thinking about it .., Stunning views from the terrace where you eat, comfortable beds with turn down each night with a wrapped treat (almond macaroon). The pool area is stunning with views to die for where you can be served food and drinks. Highly recommend. Also the Wi Fi is free!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlingorla049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    116
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
112
411
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just had 2 weeks in Amalfi - a wonderful destination for a quiet relaxing holiday. Stayed first in Hotel Marina Riviera then Hotel Residence. Both are on the front and close to the centre of Amalfi, which suited us – many hotels along the Amalfi coast will be isolated, but we could walk around the town, have a choice of different restaurants every night, get a boat to Capri, etc.

From our experience, the Marina Riviera scores so much more than the Residence – we would return to Marina Riviera, but not the Residence. To list the little things that made the difference: at the Marina Riviera we had a bottle of water in our room every day; a bowl of fruit when we arrived; a box of tissues; draws with handles; very attentive staff; a good choice of breads and croissants (that never ran out) and eggs cooked to order; and of course a rooftop pool. None of these applied to the Residence, although it is also a 4 star hotel. The Residence was not terrible, but missed the little touches. Because of the timing of our bookings we paid less for the Marina Riviera (early booking) than the Residence. We had a Double Room at Marina Riviera and Deluxe Double at Residence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Although we had a bit of difficulty finding this hotel we were so well taken care of once we did! Our room was upgraded to a room with a balcony. The room was not particularly large but the balcony,although small,made all the difference. The bathroom was huge and everythimg was immaculate. The rooftop pool area was spaceceous and a perfect place to relax after fighting the crowds in town which was only a short walk. More stunning views could be seen from the pool as well as the terrace bar and breakfast area. My husband hurt his back while we were there and they were very helpful in assisting us to find transportation to our next hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony...you will be very jealous if you don't. We had room 63 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyGite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I can not say enough great things about the Hotel Marina Riviera. We just returned from a 4 day stay there, in between stops in Paris and Rome. First - we flew from Paris to Naples, and had the (not so great) idea to rent a car in Naples. Needless to say, we became completely lost in downtown Naples when the car's navigation system stopped working, and after 2 hours of driving completely lost and absolutely stressed through the city, decided to return the car. We called the hotel on our way back to the airport, and explained the situation. The woman at the front desk (I am so sorry I don't know her name) actually called a driver who she knew was on their way back to Amalfi from Rome, and arranged an airport transfer on the spot! He was waiting for us at the Car Rental parking lot by the time that we got back to the airport! She was so worried for us that she called both the driver, and myself to ensure that he'd picked us up, and we were on our way to the hotel. That was amazing, above and beyond service, and I will never be able to thank them enough for that!

The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. It sits on a cliff overlooking the sea, beach and town. It is less than a 5 minute walk to the town square, beach and anywhere that you would ever want or need to go in Amalfi. The rooftop pool and sun deck are the perfect place to spend an afternoon; you can't get a better view, which you can enjoy over drinks from the pool bar. We had a standard room with a window, which was overlooking the sea. The room was clean and relaxing, very large with a huge window and well equipped bathroom. Breakfast on the terrace is the perfect way to start your day, and the food is actually very good, with a great selection. Everyone on the staff was friendly, helpful and kind, and seemed genuinely invested in ensuring that their guests had a great trip. Service was second to none, and I could not imagine staying anywhere else on the Amalfi Coast. This hotel and stay were the absolute favorite part of our 2 week trip to Europe, and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had an excellent stay in this hotel although it could have been different. We read the reviews on Tripadvisor and also looked at the hotel's own website. 2 things were clear: 1. the hotel had been refurbished to what looked like a high standard and 2. People recommended upgrading to a deluxe room as the rooms tended to be small. So, we upgraded to a deluxe room with a front sea view and were reaaly looking forward to it. when we arrived, we were obviously in a room which had not been refurbished and were very disappointed - there was mould in the bathroom, the towel rail was falling off, the plug in the sink did not hold the water, the room was small and old fashioned and the balcony was only just big enough for the cheap plastic chairs but not really for your legs as well. The view however was stunning. And i cannot fault the service because as soon as we complained about our room we were moved to a beautiful suite with jacuzzi bath, four poster bed and large balcony - but i wonder why we were in the room in the first place and what would have happened if the suite had not been available. my advice would be to check that your room is as described on the website which i believe all but 2 are at the time of writing.
The roof terrace was fantastic, the pool lovely and we had many relaxing afternoons up here after exploring the local area in the mornings. The hotel is really well situated with fantastic views over the town but just 5 mins walk from the buses, boats and restaurants. We also enjoyed having out breakfast on the terrace each morning with fabulous views over the beach and the town. There was a good choice of local food as well as the usual egg options (although thesee were a bit hit and miss - hard boiled eggs when we asked for soft and scrambled eggs that were more like an overcooked omlette). Service was a bit hit and miss and depended on which staff were serving you but the views, ambience and local pastries and parma ham made up for any lack of finesse.
Overall, we had a really lovely week here and i would definitely recommend it - just make sure when you book that you get whatt you're ordering with the room

Room Tip: Look at the hotel website and make sure you get what you are booking. I think there are 1 or 2 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALoh672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Every room is different but all seemed to be comfortable. The views are awesome. The breakfast was plentiful with many selections to satisfy many. Walking distance to the village with restaurants and shopping. I especially enjoyed the view and relaxing with coffee in the morning and a nice glass of wine in the evening on the terrace. The entire hotel was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachFan711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We've just arrived back from the best holiday. From the word go the staff could'nt have been more helpful and friendly. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, as was the whole hotel. The pool area superb. The views from our balcony no less than stunning. The short walk into Amalfi made it so easy for the amazing aray of bars and resturants so spoilt for choice.
Cant wait to get back.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are brilliant. No two are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#13 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Property: Hotel Marina Riviera
Address: Via Pantaleone Comite 19, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing