We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miramalfi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

The hotel was excellent! We booked for 5 days and took the breakfast and dinner option. The food was amazing! The location was a little up the hill on the way to Positano but an easy walk down hill and could be done on the reverse if you missed the shuttle. Spending the day out and about and not having to find a place for dinner was great. There were many options each night and they accommodated a shy 10 yr old who did not want to try too many new things. Our flights were delayed for hours so when we arrived at the hotel around 11pm ( we were supposed to get there at 2Pm) They had a meal waiting for us! The staff were excellent and if you are booking on your own the hotel will arrange transfer to the airport (which you will need). The rooms were spacious and clean with a balcony over the sea. Wonderful place - would go there again without a hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank back2Ravello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    207
    72
    40
    18
See reviews for
126
318
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Hotel Miramlfi was about $250 a night for two people. Paying this much money...you would expect exceptional service.

Every room has a balcony and faces the sea. The view was second to none. It was amazing!

The room was rather big for European standards and the bathroom was very nice. The only issue we had with the bathroom was that the water was not going down the drain at a normal rate in the shower. This was not a big deal though.

The other issue was that the walls were RAZOR thin. You could hear everything above, below, and next to you. This was definitely not good especially early in the morning.

The hotel does have high speed wireless internet..but can only be accessed in the reception area..not in your room

The hotel was in a good location. It took about 10 - 15 minutes walking to the center of town. The hotel also offered a free shuttle bus that operated at designated times.

The staff was not as friendly as could be. They were not willing to go that "extra mile" to help out. Our bus to Salerno train station (to depart for Florence) was taking off at 6:30am. We asked the hotel if a shuttle bus can bring us to the center of town since we would have to bring all of our luggage. They said they would not be able to as the shuttle service did not start until 10am. We ended up rolling our luggage down the hill (10 - 15 min walk). For being as expensive as the hotel was...they should have gone that "extra mile" to help out.

There was a restaurant in the hotel..but it was way too over priced. Each drink at the pool was about 10 euros. Definitely not worth it. Everything at the hotel was over priced.

We bought our own liquor and wine from the center of Amalfi..but the hotel wouldn't let us drink our own stuff except if it was only in our room...which i thought was ridiculous.

The hotel had a great salt water pool that went from about 3ft to approx 12 ft in depth.

There are plenty of nice restaurants to eat at the center of Amalfi.

Make sure to visit the towns of Sorrento and Positano via the SITA bus. Sorrento was one of my favorite spots on the Coast.

Overall..you could probably find a better hotel for the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

This hotel is in a stunning location, perched on a cliff looking back into the Amalfi Bay. Our room had a breathtaking outlook across the mediterranean and coast. The room was small but clean with a great balcony. Make sure you get down to the pool and swimmimng and sunning platforms at the base of the cliff. they are quite surreal. Service was OK, but a bit brusque in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysmore2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

The sea views from the room balconies, restaurants and bars must be among the best in the world. We spent hours just looking down on the bustling harbour, moonwatching or cloudspotting ... beautiful. The service and welcome from the staff were excellent - professional but friendly and unstuffy. The restuarant was superb and the choice of dibnner menu was exceptional for a half-board option. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. We were delighted with our week at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustntgrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Great location, minutes from the center, we would walk down through the tunnel and be in the center in minutes! The view from our rooms were spectacular, rooms were big and clean. Breakfast in the morning was lovely, the cafe is located right on the cliff overlooking the city of Amalfi. The pool is located at the bottom of the cliff and there are stairs leading you straight into the Mediterranean ocean if you wish to swim. The staff was wonderful, and I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank glenisb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

It would have been extremly helpful to have a brochure in the room to explain the facilities provided eg restaurants, opening times, how TV worked and why it needed two handsets to work it, swimming pool arrangements, how to get outside line. One of the facilities (forget which) we only found out the day we left.

Their travel agent for trips hopeless. We booked one trip the day we arrived and told it was full, one other trip was not being run and one we booked was cancelled day before. Hotel then told us they could have used another firm they knew, but too late by then.

Excellent hotel with magnificent views and good food., but attitude generally was here we are providing fine views and good facilities, now you go and get on with it. ie poor customer service

More frequent shuttle bus would have been nice

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogmanLabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

You cannot fault this hotel for its location, the views of Amalfi from balcony, bar, restaurant and terrace were amazing. Also the walk to and from Amalfi was not too much of a problem and I would agree with the other reviews about all of this. The rooms although dated were clean and with the view from the balcony and Amalfi and the region to explore you don't spend much time in the room. We were their on half board and unfortunately we cannot recommend the food or the service in the restaurant which is not the most organised or customer friendly we have encountered in Italy. However the restaurants within Amalfi provide the usual high standard of Italian cuisine. The service from all other areas of the hotel, bar, reception etc. were to the usual standard we expect in Italy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Couple15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Property: Miramalfi Hotel
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing