We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Would stay again....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miramalfi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Would stay again....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Nine months after staying at the Miramalfi...I still miss it. Leave your expectations for Four Seasons or St.Regis elsewhere...it is a relaxed attitude hotel with an amazing location.
We (family with three kids) spent a week at the Miramalfi last August, and had a wonderful time spending complete days at the pool and the ledge to the sea. Jumping off the ledge into the sea is still one of the funnest things we did over our four weeks in Italy.
I would like to state that one of the best qualities of the hotel is the staff at the restaurant...especially Gabriel. He welcomed us very warmly everyday for breakfast, and made sure we had whatever we needed. He genuinely is a kind person...we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our rooms were located on the north end of the hotel...connecting rooms...awesome views of the Medit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    190
    65
    34
    16
See reviews for
112
288
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Ok so although I'm reviewing the hotel, this is really a summary of what it's like to visit the Amalfi coast; the Miramalfi was poor but not shockingly so. Would I ever stay there again though...? Absolutely not!

We had our honeymoon on the Amalfi Coast seven years ago and stayed at the now closed down Furore Inn. We had a great time and many wonderful memories. We booked the Miramalfi on line having discovered the Furore Inn was no more. Once we arrived it became apparent that the pictures on the web site are a masterpiece of deception. The exotic imagery maybe had some Photoshop assistance and certainly the pool area (closed anyway in March) was in reality a decaying and faded version of the stylish vision presented on line. To be fair, the room was pretty good and spotlessly clean with fantastic views even though the white bed linen, though laundered, had clearly seen better days and was covered in some worrying looking stains.

The poorer side of the hotel was revealed upon asking if we could get some lunch; "Just something light, a sandwich and coffee perhaps?". The curt advice was "I suggest you walk down into the town". I downgraded my plea to "Perhaps just some biscuits and coffee" and we were then given three small croissants and little cakes that we later discovered were simply left overs from the continental breakfast table. For this we were charged €20. In fact, here-in lies the theme at the heart of most of our irritations throughout the five day stay; we constantly felt like we were just "in the way". From the transactional car rental agents who managed to take €444 from me after hiring a car on line from Avis for £120 (the rest being entirely for insurance that I was scare-Mongered into taking after being shown a list of fees that would apply if I so much as returned with a small scratch) to the sullen waiters in the cafés in Amalfi and Maiori; from the indifferent and self important owner of the Miramalfi who could barely bring herself to make eye contact with guests to the aggressive and permanently angry drivers we diced with death against on the narrow roads....the message was drummed in "You're in the way!".

I've driven all over the world, I'm a good driver, many would say a fast driver; not fast enough or crazy enough to be tolerated by local drivers who time and again we encountered coming at us on the wrong side of the road, overtaking on blind bends who then waved their fist at me for being in their way. Unless you enjoy near death experiences, my advice is don't drive; get a transfer to your hotel then walk and use taxis! This is also immensely cheaper than giving your life savings to Avis or any of the other vultures operating at the airport. By the way, Italians don't queue so expect to have to fight your way onto the shuttle bus that you have to get from the airport to the car hire centre a couple of miles away.

Overall, the Amalfi coast is still a unique location and on many people's list of dreamy places to go. But, you have to REALLY want to go there to accept the overheads of danger, irritation, conflict, costs and being treated like you're in their way, to take it on. Did I mention we felt in the way....? Compared to 2007 the whole place felt tired and run down; a bit like Jaywick in Essex...? It looked like a lot of places had gone out of business and I sensed a bitterness amongst the people that wasn't there before...?

Like I say, the Miramalfi wasn't terrible and had the weather been better we may have seen it in a rosier light. The one saving grace was as we departed; our bill was prepared by Alfonso. It was the first time we had met him and he was the only person in five days, at the hotel or anywhere else who smiled, made us feel like he cared and spoke to us like we were human beings. Well done Alfonso; you should go work up the road at the Santa Caterina Hotel which costs three times as much but offers a different level of experience, has well trained friendly staff and seems the sort of place you would fit in very well!

Room Tip: All the rooms have spectacular sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony150357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco M, Direttore at Miramalfi Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Client,

We thank you for your recent stay at Miramalfi,and we are very sorry about your disappointment with our hotel and about your bad experience in the Amalfi Coast.

We apologize for the inconvenience you had in our structure.

During the low season our restaurant is closed, as well as our pool area, which is in ordinary maintenance all winter long.
Usually, we let our clients to have a look of the pool, accompanied by a staff member, but we always point out that the pool is empty and the area is without deck chairs and sunbeds.

We hope you can reconsider your idea of no returning in our hotel.

Kindest regards
Mr. F. Mansi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Visited the Amalfi March 2014 for our 30th wedding anniversary. Picked this hotel for the description of the hotel the food menu and locality to the boats. You probably will not get a better view from another hotel, we had a corner bedroom amazing scenery. On arriving asked to book in restaraunt only to be told it is closed (never had this on their website) and boats do not start running until 14th or 15th April. Great start. I think the hotel has 49 rooms but I think there was only another couple there so it was very strange. So spent 4 days up and down coast Road on the bus. Just unfortunate we went out of season thought I had done my homework. So I recommend if you do use this hotel go in season. Breakfast medioka. No where to get a drink in the evening at the hotel . 8-10 minutes walk to Amalfi, beautiful town do not recommend
walking back on the coast road in the dark. I give this hotel a very good for location and scenery. My friends stayed at Villa Maria and they said it is well worth it great food and the man who owns it really nice dropped them at the opera and told them if they needed picking up from anywhere just call him.

Room Tip: I think we had room 26, corner room fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while we enjoyed the Amalfi coast. I really can't put into words how great the views are from this hotel and our room. The coast is obviously known for its views, but the way Miramalfi is positioned, it really does benefit from spectacular views up and down the coast. Beyond the views, the staff was really friendly and really wanted to make sure that we had a great stay.

The rooms themselves are nothing special, but that's what I expected on the coast. You're there to spend your days outside of your room, not stuck indoors. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are large and clean, and the bathroom is nice. You're really staying here for the views though.

Breakfast was included and it was good. There are a variety of foods to choose from: cereals, eggs, meats, cheeses, granola, fruit, etc. The coffee was really good (important if you're planning on touring the area all day).

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Miramalfi and we would stay here again. It's in a great location and it's a very pretty walk down into town (10-15 minutes at a leisurely pace - they have a shuttle too).

Room Tip: We had a corner room looking out towards Amalfi and Salerno and it was a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amATX512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed 4 nights there in march 2014. It is a splendid hotel, with a pleasant and competent staff. Rooms are very good, modern, clean and with a very good bathroom. The hotel is cut into a perpendicular cliff, and with courage you might take a dive into the med from your balcony - but not advisable :-) The food in the restaurant is good, breakfast with everything you'd dream of , and yes - it looks like the photos. We will be back, a longer time next year, burt later. March is a bit early, but acceptable with day temps about 17 C. I have travelled a lot, and I can't find anything wrong here. Maybe the parking fee is a bit high, but there are no possibilities for parking on the Amalfi coastroad.

Opposite the hotel is a small restaurant, driven by a very gentle old man looking like Mr. Scripps from Heartbeet. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: The rooms in the ends of the corridors have the best balconies. Not saying the the other ones are ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkr6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel was the best we stayed in while touring Italy. Every room has a sea view. The staff were friendly.

We had an amazing dinner with attentive wait staff, though best suited for a special occasion as it was a little pricey.

They do provide a shuttle into Amalfi in the morning and afternoon. However it would be more convenient if these ran throughout the day and later into the night (the last shuttle is at 7:30pm, too soon to be coming back from dinner in town). It is a short walk into Amalfi. I would suggest using the stairs at the end of the marina to avoid the tunnel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billytheblacksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Miramalfi was awesome. Built into the side of a cliff, it was easy to spot from the ferry ride from Capri. The hotel is very low profile from street level but spacious and well appointed as you descend into the lobby and main hotel below. The view of the azure sea is beauty and you can also see most of Amafli from your balcony, including the Duomo di Amalif. The pool is wedged into the side of the cliff with a nice patio at sea level to dive into the water and paddle around in the warm water. The service was really good, pool side and in the restaurants. The food was good too - the sardines caught cliff side were served at a special dinner that evening.. A 10 minute stroll into town is a comfortable distance. Eat, drink and shop, don't mind the cruise travellers..

Room Tip: By all means, sit and have a nice meal on the piazza but don't be afraid to take a few espressos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BajanMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Property: Miramalfi Hotel
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing