We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“what a vista!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miramalfi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“what a vista!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

An absolutely pleasurable hotel with the best views of Amalfi town out of all the hotels on the coastline. We were there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, or that was the excuse.
For such an occasion we had a private car transfer, I'm glad I wasn't driving.

Initially we were disappointed with the standard room we had booked (We were hoping for an upgrade; we never get one) it was at most 3 star, so we upgraded to a superior room, the type shown in the hotel photographs, 40 euros a night, but well worth it. The combination of views, location, wonderful food and great hotel staff, promote the hotel to 4 star, perhaps plus.

The first night we decided to stroll into town, approx. 10/15 minutes; it is down hill and down steps all the way; you have to cling to the edge of the narrow, winding mountain road, hardly any pavement. There was going to be a fabulous assortment of restaurants, NOT! The hustle and bustle of hundreds of tourists does add atmosphere. Shopping is always (somehow) a precursor to dinner, for my wife; but alas not exactly as anticipated, it is not a town of high Italian fashion. Would recommend Naples airport for the good stuff, so get there earlier than you need to.
Anyway, 1st. Restaurant was more or less fast food, it suited the long day we had had.
Spotted, though, an up market restaurant, looked the business, where we headed the following night. Yes looks can be deceiving, it was not cheap and the food, not all that; your local ASK is better value. After this force start, we decided to try the hotel restaurant, bingo! The hotel has the best restaurant in Amalfi, people actually come there to dine from other hotels.

There are 2 restaurants; on Saturday night dinner is here, it is open fronted and looks down on night time lit Amalfi, fabulous view. Sunday night the restaurant on the 4th. floor is the venue, it is inside though the walls are made of glass, windows I guess, on each occasion we could not fault the food. After, there is a cocktail party on the roof, with live music which includes a certain waiter (more later) Thursday night is a buffet dinner, 45 euros, wine extra, on the second floor, everything Italian, have you ever tried Parmesan ice-cream? Live music, and here again suddenly the main singer is joined by Giovanni (The senior waiter) and Gabriel the roof singer (second in command) This is not corny stuff just for the tourists, these gentleman love it, you can't keep them of the mikes. The waiting staff have smart uniforms, they are very professional, remember your name, Mr. & Mrs, pleasure to get away from "You guys" so prevalent in the UK now. After or pre dinner the bar is run by Michael, once again a very nice gentleman, totally professional, knows your favourite tipple, and when you might want it.

We took the ferry to Positano, great to see all the coast, 16 euros each return. Better shopping here for the girls, well worth the trip,

We had to see Pompeii, took bus tour with guide. There seemed to be thousands of tourists from all over the world. It is amazing , a far larger town than I had expected; two storey buildings, so completely buried in pumice and ash, that it was not rediscovered until the 16th. century; 20 per cent is still to be excavated. This is a must.

So the weather was great, eat, drink outside, no need for jumpers or jackets, perfect.

We highly recommend this hotel.

One last tip, get a taxi back from town at night, it's 10 euros for a short trip, it's a hell of a climb otherwise We thought the hotel could have used the hotel shuttle bus far more frequently.

Harry And Anne

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harryscott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    207
    72
    40
    18
See reviews for
126
318
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

First of all, hotels in South of Italy have to be treated with special care...

Miramalfi seamed to us by far hotel with the best cross between location, beach and price out of all hotels in Amalfi.

PROS: location, views, small but nice beach. Nice breakfast, served by excellent stuff, on amazing terrace

CONS:
First of all - beach closes at 18h. Not just pool, also the beach. Which is weird and very inconvenient, especially when you come home in the evening from Pompei trip. I believe I am not the only one urging the management to review this rule.

Rooms - well, they are old. Bathrooms are old and they need maintenance. And getting to them - the elevators are even older...

Wi Fi - really? Not just not free, but expensive. Even third world hotels offer wi-fi for free or at least with reasonable prices. If you are just checking the emails - do it with data service on your phone.

Management issues - well, you are in Italy.

It seams here that I listed more cons then pros. Well, I still maintain that this is the best option to stay in Amalfi, but if they want to claim 4 stars and show 4 points of excellence from TripAdvisor, they will have to... try harder, invest more...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gg_293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stay here a week great views but could be a lot better .our first room the bath shower leaked all over the floor and water was every where , we rang reception they brought towels but we had to clean it all up . Room was nothing like the photos . They next day they moved us still not happy with room but could not move us to the style of room we book . The view is great and pool is lovely . Breakfast nice , expensive for dinner . It was not cheap to stay and is only a 21/2 str hotel . The property needs a good up date especially the rooms . They say that rooms have a spar this is not true , they have a shower with a panel down the side that shoots out water , this is suppose to be spa no enjoyed when water squirting in face . They are very good with people with disabilities .

Room Tip: Ask for the room in here Boucher . Do not o summer very expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Miramalfi for 2 nights. We had just come from a stunning hotel in Annacapri and maybe that affected our view of this hotel.

The good: Service and food at the restaurant at dinner time was above average! The patio/balcony of our room was spacious. The views of Amalfi were spectacular. Service was great! The folks at the main desk were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet was limited but good.

The bad: The room, though spacious, is ugly and dated. The pool chairs are a joke. Aside from being the most uncomfortable chairs ever, you cannot be next to someone...they are arranged (as there is not enough room) toe to head next to each other. The pool was not inviting at all.

Overall, the pictures on-line sold us and set our expectations high; but in person, it failed to deliver.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We visited the Amalfi coast and stayed at the Miramalfi Hotel. Outstanding location and service! We had an excellent stay. Food and service was very good. The whole place is cut and built into a cliff that plunges to the sea. The salt water pool was an elevator ride down the cliff side and had a full view of the town of Amalfi as did all the rooms. Climb down into the sea or dive off various elevations cut into the rocks. Water was warm and wonderful. Food at the Miramalfi was very good and the view from the three locations was spectacular. The village of Amalfi was lovely and well worth the trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalimeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I got married here and I must say that the staff went out of their way to make our day memorable. We live in London so the whole team (special shout out to Raffaela, Francesca, and Gabriele) were amazing and organised all of our requirements for the wedding without any hesitation. On the day, each and every member of staff chipped in to make our day perfect.
We stayed there for 3 nights and on the day of our wedding, I even got a smiley-faced cappuccino and my husband got breakfast in bed just so that we had a great start to our day.
The rooms are spacious, clean and have the most amazing views of Amalfi. They also have the perfect balance to bring the original elements of Amalfi to life.
The food was second to none! We had the pleasure of dining in both restaurants and their breakfast spread appeals to both continental and local preferences.
We also had the honeymoon suite on the day of our wedding night which by far has the best view of the coast! Not to mention one killer jacuzzi.
We are so happy we chose Miramalfi as our wedding venue and choice of stay in Amalfi and like to thank the wonderful team that went above and beyond their roles to make our day the best day ever... We can't wait to come back and celebrate our Anniversary with you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thilithil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel Miramalfi is located on an amazing property, with direct water access, great dining facility, and a nice (salt water) pool. However, I was thoroughly disappointed with the room furnishings, which desperately need updated. The mattress was very uncomfortable (hard) for my taste, and I found it so odd that one of the pillows on our bed was extremely heavy. Our bathroom, while relatively spacious, had a garden tub with jets with an adjustable shower head, but there was no enclosure or shower curtain around the tub, which caused a lot of water to get onto the bathroom floor. We found the staff to be very friendly, and we very much enjoyed all of our dining experiences (two breakfasts, one sit-down lunch, one lunch from the snack bar, and one formal dinner) and felt that the food was great quality and reasonably priced. We were able to borrow snorkeling masks from the snack bar, which we appreciated, and the front desk also arranged a full-day boat trip to Capri for us. I was a little disappointed with the arrangements, however, as I emailed a month before our arrival in order to secure a reservation for the boat trip and was told that it would need to wait until we arrived. When we arrived, the larger of the two boats (which was what we wanted to take) was already full and we had to take the smaller (rubber) boat. I did not understand why this arrangement could not be finalized before we arrived.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Property: Miramalfi Hotel
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing