We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great property, disappointing room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miramalfi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great property, disappointing room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel Miramalfi is located on an amazing property, with direct water access, great dining facility, and a nice (salt water) pool. However, I was thoroughly disappointed with the room furnishings, which desperately need updated. The mattress was very uncomfortable (hard) for my taste, and I found it so odd that one of the pillows on our bed was extremely heavy. Our bathroom, while relatively spacious, had a garden tub with jets with an adjustable shower head, but there was no enclosure or shower curtain around the tub, which caused a lot of water to get onto the bathroom floor. We found the staff to be very friendly, and we very much enjoyed all of our dining experiences (two breakfasts, one sit-down lunch, one lunch from the snack bar, and one formal dinner) and felt that the food was great quality and reasonably priced. We were able to borrow snorkeling masks from the snack bar, which we appreciated, and the front desk also arranged a full-day boat trip to Capri for us. I was a little disappointed with the arrangements, however, as I emailed a month before our arrival in order to secure a reservation for the boat trip and was told that it would need to wait until we arrived. When we arrived, the larger of the two boats (which was what we wanted to take) was already full and we had to take the smaller (rubber) boat. I did not understand why this arrangement could not be finalized before we arrived.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    189
    65
    34
    16
See reviews for
112
287
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It was such an experience that we cannot wait to go there again. The hotel facilities, although build on the cliff of the mountain, are exquisite. But what was indeed to remember was the staff, their hospitality beats any other place we've been, all around Europe, and we've been almost everywhere. Especially the restaurant, starting from the waiters (mainly Tonino but also the others) and ending with the chef. Because how much you can appreciate a perfectly cooked meal served by a numb waiter. On Miramalfi, on the other hand, the atmosphere created by the waiters on top of the delicious napoletano specialties served all day are relly making a trip to remember.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We really appreciated the quality of the services provided by the kind staff of the hotel, fantastic accommodation, amazing placement of the hotel above the shoreline, having an astonishing view towards the sea. The room we stayed in was above our expectations. We loved spending time at the very well taken care of pool and beach facilities, starting each day off with some swimming in the warm water of the sea. The chef of the Onde restaurant prepared some of the best foods we ate throughout our vacation. Overall, this hotel exceeded our expectations and we are looking forward to return here next year.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandru G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Seriously, the view from this hotel is incredible - from every room. The food is absolutely exquisite, the restaurant staff (particularly Giovanni) are true professionals and both restaurants overlook, yep, THAT view. We will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satonamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for 5 night of our honeymoon and we had a fantastic time, the setting of the hotel is simply amazing and well worth the extra for superior room to get a bigger balcony with sun loungers. The staff were all excellent and spoke great English which helps as our Italian is very limited.
We arranged a boat trip to Capri through the hotel and airport transfer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Miramalfi Hotel is very affordable compared to other hotels in Amalfi. Spectacular view from any angle of the hotel. Very relaxing atmosphere. Good breakfast in the dining room facing the sea. My room was clean with a balcony and a it had clean bathroom. Nice pool with beautiful surroundings and steps to go down in the sea. The only problem we had was that Miramalfi Hotel is located about 500 meters from downtown. Even though it is not a great distance this is not an ideal walk for every one. The hotel has a van that brings guests downtown at no charge only at certain time of day but going back to the hotel at night we had to take a cab. This was the only inconvenience. Looking forward to go back next summer.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay in a room with balcony and view facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently spent one week at the hotel. It has absolutely insane views! It almost feels as if you are in a painting! And laying on the cliffs and using the stairs to swim in the pristine waters is an experience everyone must have!
This was our first time in Amalfi but have visited several other spots in Italy. We were not sure which town on the coast to choose. This is the prefect choice if you want complete relaxation. The hotel is very quiet and there isn't much to do in the town, so this is not a place to visit if you are looking for excitement and noise (except for hearing the plumbing in our room from other people's showers).
The hotel staff is wonderful, Everyone from the front desk employees, to the guys at the pool, to the restaurant staff is so friendly. There must be less than 20 people who work there because you will leave knowing everyone's names.
The reason for the 4 stars is because of the eating situation. Breakfast is delicious and complimentary. The problem is that we are early risers because we wanted to make the most of our days and this led us to eat breakfast when it opened. The dining room didn't open til "1" (in actuality 1:15 or later). This would mean 6 hours without eating. We tried to order from the pool bar 2x, but the food stunk. They only offer sandwiches and the sandwiches were mostly bread and unfilling. It would be great if they added a sandwich that had chicken or some salads. You can go to town for lunch, but who wants to clean up their lounge chair, go to their room change, go to town then come back, change again and scavenge for a chair again (often times it was a fight for the lounge chairs; not enough). And if you eat lunch, the dining room didn't open again til "8" for dinner (really 8:15). And the refrigerators in the room are too small to store any substantial food.
So overall I think this is a great hotel but not excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Property: Miramalfi Hotel
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing