We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Paradise on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miramalfi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Miramalfi Hotel is very affordable compared to other hotels in Amalfi. Spectacular view from any angle of the hotel. Very relaxing atmosphere. Good breakfast in the dining room facing the sea. My room was clean with a balcony and a it had clean bathroom. Nice pool with beautiful surroundings and steps to go down in the sea. The only problem we had was that Miramalfi Hotel is located about 500 meters from downtown. Even though it is not a great distance this is not an ideal walk for every one. The hotel has a van that brings guests downtown at no charge only at certain time of day but going back to the hotel at night we had to take a cab. This was the only inconvenience. Looking forward to go back next summer.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay in a room with balcony and view facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    204
    71
    39
    17
See reviews for
123
307
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently spent one week at the hotel. It has absolutely insane views! It almost feels as if you are in a painting! And laying on the cliffs and using the stairs to swim in the pristine waters is an experience everyone must have!
This was our first time in Amalfi but have visited several other spots in Italy. We were not sure which town on the coast to choose. This is the prefect choice if you want complete relaxation. The hotel is very quiet and there isn't much to do in the town, so this is not a place to visit if you are looking for excitement and noise (except for hearing the plumbing in our room from other people's showers).
The hotel staff is wonderful, Everyone from the front desk employees, to the guys at the pool, to the restaurant staff is so friendly. There must be less than 20 people who work there because you will leave knowing everyone's names.
The reason for the 4 stars is because of the eating situation. Breakfast is delicious and complimentary. The problem is that we are early risers because we wanted to make the most of our days and this led us to eat breakfast when it opened. The dining room didn't open til "1" (in actuality 1:15 or later). This would mean 6 hours without eating. We tried to order from the pool bar 2x, but the food stunk. They only offer sandwiches and the sandwiches were mostly bread and unfilling. It would be great if they added a sandwich that had chicken or some salads. You can go to town for lunch, but who wants to clean up their lounge chair, go to their room change, go to town then come back, change again and scavenge for a chair again (often times it was a fight for the lounge chairs; not enough). And if you eat lunch, the dining room didn't open again til "8" for dinner (really 8:15). And the refrigerators in the room are too small to store any substantial food.
So overall I think this is a great hotel but not excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The views are spectacular, the rooms were bright and comfortable, the food was excellent, and the staff and service can not be beat! What's not to like. My wife and I spent four very relaxing days at the Miramalfi. The pool and swimming area was great and there was always time for a leisurely stroll in town. We had it all!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Whilst this hotel was a little expensive for what you got (room wise) when compared to others in the area it is hard to beat. All rooms have sea view, as they say on their website and are truly amazing. The views from the terrace where breakfast is served is stunning as are the views from the 'lunch time' restaurant. Only criticism was that the air conditioning in our room was very noisy and on talking to other guests this seemed a common problem in some rooms, we did get used to it though!
Service from reception and all the waiters and maids was exceptional and any meals we took here were always of a very high standard. Drinks are reasonably priced for an Italian hotel and compare to what you would pay in Amalfi town.
Be prepared for stairs/steps if staying here and although there are lifts they can get quite busy at peak times. The terracing around the pool and down to the 'beach' (all accessed by steps except there is a lift to the pool level), is brilliant with lots of sun beds, however, despite the rules posted about not leaving your towel etc whilst you whizz off on a trip or go for lunch, this is ignored by the ignorant amongst us and not enforced by the lifeguards! If you want the sun for most of the day, head for the furthest right hand side of all the terraces as you face the sea!
The walk into town isn't as bad as some people make out and it takes about 10 minutes there and a little longer back as it's uphill with quite a few steps. There is a hotel shuttle service but it doesn't run very often.
The boat trips arranged by the hotel were brilliant and we had great fun.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel on it's proximity to Amalfi town, it's service and the stunning views.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kennokent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Worst value for money ever. Very hard to find staff speaking anything else than Italian.
We booked a junior suite as we have two children. We ended up in a standard room with a canape / bed for the kids, useless to say that there were no space in the room. Air conditionning was very noisy and prevented us from spleeping during 3 days. I mentionned it to the staff and I wanted to have a discussion with the manager..... impossible to meet with him as he was never there. Staff not welcoming and not service driven. Anything but a 4 stars hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

....... especially in the hotel's restaurants. Giovanni, Gabrielle and the rest of the staff elevated our stay with old world charm whether dining in La Grande Carte (the main restaurant on the top floor with 3 walls of floor-to-ceiling glass, an outdoor veranda and stunning sea views) or Le Onde (an open-air restaurant perched on a lower floor terrace). The romantic rooftop bar (open in the summer months) offers spectacular panoramic views of Amalfi and occasionally, live music. The hotel is far enough away from the hordes of tourists crowding the downtown area yet close enough to access town on foot or by using the hotel's convenient shuttle. A salt water pool is located among multiple lower level sunning terraces some of which provide direct and private access to the Mediterranean. The superior and standard bedrooms and bathrooms our family rented were clean, spacious and had beautiful hand painted ceramic tile floors. Several guests we met during our stay were repeat visitors and we hope to join that club on our next trip back to this beautiful area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrecker281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
238 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

That hotel has a spectacular view over the amalfi coast and the sea. All the hotel rooms are sea view. And our balcony had some overwhelming scenery. The receptionist was very warm and welcoming. Upon our arrival we hit the pool and the sea. Soooo amazing. The lift is a bit slow though and scary to me. The hotel also is a bit far from the central, where all the buzz is and where the amazing church of Saint Andrea is located. The hotel do grant u some free shuttle bus to the center but they are not as frequent as needed. From 10 until 4:30 no transfers are available. And after 7:30 u have to go walking of course. We suggest the hotel to make more frequent shuttles, like once every hour. The breakfast is a bit normal and refill is slow, but the waiters are helpful. The worst of our experience in the hotel was the clear noise from other rooms. the walls are so thin that what you hear you think the person is with u in the room. for example we could hear the hairdryer for almost one hour while my husband and i were trying to get a nap. It is very annoying and where could we complain!. The price is very high also for such simple rooms and few amenities. But my husband and I were justifying that maybe it's because of the high season. Anyway the hotel is good to try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xena1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Property: Miramalfi Hotel
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing