We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love MIRAMALFI!!!”
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miramalfi Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

An absolutely wonderful hotel! We are a family of 6 and had 2 rooms! If you call direct you can request 6 in one room which would have saved us money! The hotel was AMAZING, I would recommend this place to anyone! Staff were so friendly, always first to greet us with a smile and ciao! Buffet breakfast was terrific and great value for money! Franca was amazing and when we left it felt as though we were saying goodbye to family! Pool and private beach access was spectacular!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Miramalfi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 714 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. We found all the staff helpful, courteous and very friendly and all made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean and we had the most wonderful view over the bay from our balcony. Good choice at breakfast and the dinner menu was excellent with a reasonably priced wine list. The hotel shuttle bus runs only four times a day (twice in the morning then late afternoon and early evening) so eating out in town in the evening presents you with either a taxi or uphill walk back to the hotel. Unfortunately the walk is partly along the road with no pavement, though for us this presented no problem as we enjoyed eating in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here and as soon as we walked in the door we were told by the lovely receptionist that our room had been upgraded. Our room was a nice size with a spacious bathroom and the view of the coast from the balcony was just incredible.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely with a large variety.
They have a shuttle service, but it only runs 4 times a day so unless you have a full day planned, walking back or getting a taxi will be necessary. The last shuttle leaves at 7.15 so it can be a bit difficult if you want to eat out in Amalfi a bit later.
The hotel does have free wifi, but only in the lobby, and I think it was 8€ a day to have it in your room, but as we didn't use the Internet a lot it didn't bother us.
For a hotel, it's snack and bar prices were very reasonable which was a lovely surprise.
The pool/beach area would be fabulous in the warmer months but we had unseasonal weather so we didn't use these facilities.
Overall we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabro58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous and has one if the best views I've ever seen (and that's a lot). The rooms are pretty and big and ALL are ocean view with a private balcony. The staff was wonderfully friendly, especially the bartender, Gabriele. Because the hotel is perched up a bit on the cliff side (hence the beautiful view), there is a 5-10 min walk or 5 min shuttle ride (provided at no cost by the hotel) into the town. The breakfast was fantastic and is eaten one beautiful terrace overlooking the water. There is a lift or stairs (not too bad) to get down to the pool, beach, and lower restaurant for lunch. There is also a poolside bar with another friendly staff member. I would recommend this hotel as THE place to stay, to all friends and family, while in Amalfi. It's beautiful, very romantic (though not too over the top) as I was there with my mother and we had a great time. Lovely all around, could not recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrLindsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

After reading the recent reviews of the hotel, I am wondering if we stayed at the same place as it certainly isn't a 4 star hotel.

By the time my wife and I arrived in Amalfi, we had stayed in 5 different hotels, and all of them were of a lower star rating, and lower cost than the Miramalfi. However, our stay in them were all far more enjoyable and better value.

Lets break down the problems we experienced:

1) Shuttle bus - the bus runs four times a day. Twice in the morning, and twice at night, with the last one leaving the harbour at 7:15pm. Which is tricky in case you want to eat anywhere else than the hotel at night, and the road leading from the town to the hotel is "tricky" at best. You can get a taxi for 10 euros, which is okay or just walk up, but in all fairness when the hotel has oodles of staff, and the round journey is 10 minutes tops, it wouldn't be hard to offer a few more scheduled times. Especially as they indicate that the shuttle bus runs regularly.

2) restaurant - the breakfast offered was mediocre, with juices being regularly watered down, the coffee more like burnt treacle, and the total absence of cutlery. Now I didn't eat there for dinner, so I cannot speak for their a la carte menu.

3) room decor - I stayed at the hotel in 1998 and while a lot of work has been done to the interiors, such as bathrooms and retailing the floors, I think they brought back all the furniture from 1980. Brown fabric furnishings with green floor tiles.....

4) cost - finally my main bug bear was the cost. At 340 euros a night, for 5 nights it certainly wasn't good value. I had stayed in hotels which charged far less money, and couldn't be more charming, courteous, and frankly offer rooms that didn't have mould in the bathroom ceiling, or blatantly rude receptionists. The woman ( I cannot in good conscience call her a lady) when we checked out was absolutely rude.

Anyway, I was very sorry about our stay in Amalfi. As I said earlier, I had stayed. Here 15 years ago, and had fond memories. The waiters are charming, the cleaners excellent, but the management and reception staff are rude, and blatantly unhelpful. We were never offered assistance during our stay, never offered tours or trips, advice on local restaurants to visit, taxis to book etc. now while I didn't really need these things, its hard to read other reviews that state that these things were all offered so freely like manna from heaven.

Overall, the hotel was okay, but worth at best 3 stars, and max 250 euros a night for the best room. Yes the view is lovely, the pool great, but there it stops in terms of reasons to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel in stunning location!
We stayed at the Miramalfi for 6 days - 7 of us - and we left thinking of when we could come back soon!!

The view from the terrace is fantastic, the food was excellent and very good quality - one week after departing I still dream about the home-made pasta!
We had three different rooms and all were very large and lovely - with incredible sea view and view over Amalfi village. Oh and the bath tub had whirlpool functionalities (!)
Rooms were very clean and towels-change as well as bed-remake happened twice a day (!!)
Staff is very nice and helpful in whatever way you need them !
Around the pool there is various wonderful small platforms were you can lie down and enjoy the sun. Towels are provided for. You can also access the sea from the cliffs (by stairs or simply jumping :) ).

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We only have good things to say about the hotel. It has been nice since we arrived till we left. The receptionist and the helpfer has been resourceful with information and suggestion. The room was neat, clean and nicely positioned with sea view. Incredible view during sunrise where all you can see is blue sea. The shuttle is helpful also. But if you prefer to walk, make sure be back before 6pm from amalfi coz the steps are higher than the steps they referred.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $176 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing