We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Views were amazing, service was lacking, rooms average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miramalfi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Views were amazing, service was lacking, rooms average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Its all about the views - from the room, breakfast terrace, the restaurant, the bar. Pool was a disappointment but swimming off the rocks into the ocean was excellent. In most other respects the hotel is only average-to-good - check in was efficient, rooms/hallways are noting special, breakfast restaurant staff seemed to rush around clearing tables but failed to notice the many attempts to ask for a second cup of coffee, staff arguing loudly in the kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dillonfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    204
    71
    39
    17
See reviews for
123
308
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This place is truly paradise on earth. Unfortunately we only stayed one night on our way for a longer stay in Positano but the family who run this hotel are so very kind and amazing! The restaurant is newly renovated and our sea food platter was devine. The room was comfortable and clean w/a spacious balcony over-looking the majestic sea. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at Miramalfi towards the end of a lengthy european holiday, so were probably getting a bit tired and there were lots of places to compare it against. It had been recommended by friends who raved about the view, the swimming and the service.

First the positives .... a spectacular view, there would not be a better one on the Amalfi Coast. The pool and access to the mediteranean is terrific. Travel down the 40 odd metre elevator and walk through the tunnel and there you are on terraced sundecks. The pool is in good order, but swim in the med ... dark blue, fish nibbling at your feet, etc, etc. Found the guys down there to be okay, but yes, they were fairly casual (previous review), but easy to engage in conversation. Dinner in the restaurant (the view again) with formal old fashioned service (but scratch the surface and you have the italian quirkiness and sense of humour). Food was excellent and good value. Breakfast was also very good. The reception area was very helpful and attentive to our needs ... you could tell it was a family business. The cocktail bar for a pre-dinner drink was another plus (the view again) and the waiter friendly and helpful. Entertainment provided on a couple of nights. The transport to the town was great, but perhaps could be more frequent. Rooms were clean and quiet.

Negatives .... a bit expensive I thought and I reckon you are essentially paying for the view. Yes, the rooms are now starting to look a bit dated, but this is not a big issue until you look at what you are paying ... I suppose you just sleep there and enjoy the rest of the hotel. We were in room 62 (one back from the elevator, could just hear it) and yes, there is a "cave" odour in the passage outside the room because it is built intot he cliff (like you get in Santorini), but no big deal. It is a bit of a hike from the town back up to the hotel (15 mins), particularly during the heat of the day and a cab can cost between 10-15 euros, so try and time your return with the hotel transport.

Overall a good place to stay, but depends a lot on what you are looking for ... probably suited to more mature couples ... if you are not interested in swimming and want to party and be on the move all the time, stay in the town.

Last comments ... having visited the Cinque Terra a couple of years ago, one can't help but make comparisons. I think I prefer the CT. Access to and the traffic around Amalfi is a pain, ferries are okay but out of season a bit less frequent. The CT with its train access has more appeal, just! While in Amalfi make sure you visit Positano and Ravello, they were great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FHILLAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Was taken here as a romatic treat. The place is fine in itself, clean, nice staff. Rooms are fine though slightly dated in decor. Bathrooms are large and shower is great. The roons do smell damp when you first enter but I guess this is par for the course when you are dug into the side of a cliff! But what really justifies the high prices which are high(but then you are in Amalfi) are the views. Stunning. Sitting on the balcony of our room-overlooking the sea, both day and night -it was bliss.

We ate in the restaurant too. Good quality, good service.

The only real negative was the service at the pool. Not attentive enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Loved this place!!!! Ask for room 16 if you have a child. PERFECT!!!! Double ajoining room, nice size bathroom with tub, it was quite, right by the stairs and elevator. The staff was so kind and the swimming off the cliffs was amazing!!!! There is a cave near by you can swim to and collect sea glass and broken ceramic tile pieces. Bring a bag or have some pockets handy.....:)They have noodles so you can swim on over with it or just float in the sea water, the salt is thick and you float so great in the ocean!!!!! Lunch served at the pool was nice! We really enjoyed our 3 nights here!!! Amazing Views.....We saw all these fish fly out of the water around 6:15 P.M. one night. They were like mini dolphins flying through the air.....

Room Tip: Room 16 if you have children...It was big!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gibsonchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Hard to know how to sum it all up, firstly the views from everywhere in the hotel are absolutely stunning, across to Amalfi and the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. The swimming pool and sea area is incredible too, and the restaurant locations for breakfast/dinner are equally as amazing. However I was disappointed with the rooms, the beds were hard, shower wasn't anything to write home about and was quite small overall. We also had a room which sounded like it was in the lift, so if you get offered 41/51/61/60 then ask to move otherwise you'll get a lift waking you up at 7am! Overall had a good stay, and I can't say anything about the more expensive rooms, but there must be a better hotel for the price in Amalfi..

Room Tip: Stay away from 41/51/60/61!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank immense_skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

After 25 days of cruising and touring around Europe this hotel was where we spent our last 5 days before coming home. The hotel is located at the top of a hill away from Amalfi town and my first reaction was "oh no, how are we going to get to and from town?"...but the hotel has a free shuttle bus but there was also a path which you could walk along and only a small part of it was on the typical windy narrow road found all the way along the coast. The walk would have been less than 10 mins.
The view from the hotel was absolutely breathtaking and the hotel has its own private access to the mediterranean sea. There is also a pool, deck chairs and sun lounges. There is no beach to sit on but the lounges are right on the edge of the ocean which is fabulous.
We were on a half board package which i didn't know about until we got there (just thought we were paying for a very expensive hotel) but was delighted to find we had breakfast and dinner included. Breakfast was okay but dinner was amazing. Four courses every night which was great but the best part was i believe we got alot of authentic Italian food.
Hotel staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful.
One tip if you are making your own way to Amalfi, arrange a private transfer. We thought we would experience the bus ride from Sorrento but I thought my life was going to end a few times going around some of the bends on that coast road. Therefore, on the way home, we arranged to leave in luxury, a private air conditioned car picked us up and drove us to the train station.
A beautiful hotel, highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebricknells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Property: Miramalfi Hotel
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing