We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Aurora Hotel in April 2014, for our honeymoon.

We found the hotel to be immediately welcoming, and the staff were very friendly for our whole stay. The reception manager (Andrea) was very helpful when we needed advice on getting around. They also have an English concierge (Andrew) who made it very easy if we needed anything ordered.

My only gripe (a minor one) was that our room had 2 single beds made up as 1 large bed. It was comfortable, but it always still felt like 2 single beds pushed together.

It is worth upgrading to the 3rd floor rooms, as they overlook the sea and have large balconies. I understand that the 2nd floor rooms face towards the land, with no particular views.

The hotel was clean, quiet and very well situated. It is a short (2 min) walk into the main part of Amalfi, including to the bars, restaurants and ferries. But it was far enough away from the buzz of the town centre to be very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Goog evening Luke_7673

thank you so much for a great five stars response! My staff and I always try to offer special treatment to honeymooners when they say of course. Usually we offer a welcome drink on our garden terrace, free upgrade if available, we suggest good and romantic restaurant...we love honeymooners and we are very proud to pamper them.
We wish you joy, love and a longlasting life together.
Warm regards and thank you again
Daniela Carrano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aurora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 598 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked this 45 sqm apartment with 2 bedrooms and large livingroom
with kitchenette already half on year ago as the hotel is closed during winterperiod but these apartments are available all the time. We were travelling as two couples and it turned out to be a perfect select to stay
in this big apartment. All necessary included like dishwasher, washing machine, heating, ironing etc. what ever you needed. We made breakfast
every morning and used local and other restaurants during excursions.
There is also a coffeebar just at the same piazza and parking garage Lunna Rosso only two-three hundres meter connected with walking tunnel direct fm Piazza Muncipal. Andrea negotiated good price for us but think that during high season you must be aware of higher prices,
From the first beginning reception manager Andrea was very helpful and by arrival he supplied us with different brochures about local restaurants,
maps, bus and ferries timetables. Also nice welcoming basket was delivered to apartment for easy start of holiday.
Location of the apartment at the Piazza Muncipal is ideal for short distance to busterminal, beach and ferries. You could reach in a couple of minutes also Piazza Duomo through the narrow corridores leading beside Duomo to the centre of Amalfi. There are no seaviews fm apartments but that's no problem as all amazing views you can see
daily in live when moving around.
We enjoyed our stay in this spotless and peacefull apartment not to talk about any visitingplaces with very short distance like Capri, Sorrento,
Positano, Ravello, Pompeij, Vesuvius etc.
We can highly recommend for accomodation this apartment for families and couples.
Gruppo Finlandese

Room Tip: Fitness center located in the first floor but daily they closed very early.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Hannu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Good afternoon Hannu H

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com; it helps us enormously to maintain our standards. I have passed your comments to Andrea who was very happy. Accommodation in apartments is for very independent guests but we never leave them alone during the stay, we like to offer our best support.
We look forward to seeing you soon! In the meantime visit our blog about habits and traditions in Amalfi Coast on www.aurora-amalfi.com

Daniela Carrano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Hands down the best hotel we stayed at along the Amalfi Coast. The manager was incredibly pleasant and so accommodating. We arrived and we're greeted with such warmth and professionalism. We stayed on 3rd floor (I believe) and had a big room with a massive terrace (ocean view at the very East corner-set back a bit from the other rooms for privacy) . It was a beautiful and clean room with a gorgeous view! It was truly paradise. The manager sent up a bottle of preseco and olives that just added to our honeymoon stay that much more. We couldn't have been treated better and we can't wait to go back again. We wished we didn't go to Positano after Amalfi as it was packed with loud and inconsiderate tourists and our hotel stay was twice as expensive as Hotel Aurora with a small room and rude staff (do not stay at Palazzo Talamo!). The town of Amalfi is way better and filled with wonderful locals and great food.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Caligrl_in_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Good morning Caligrl_1

Many thanks for leaving your feedback on TA giving us 5 stars.I was really pleased to see that you had a great stay and found us to be great value. My staff and I always try to reserve a special treatments to honeymooners as welcome drink or free upgrade whenever possible.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A fantastic little hotel in a fabulous location close to the water in Amalfi. Most rooms have a sea view and we requested one with a terrace which was fabulous to sit out on early morning or late at night gazing out to sea. Rooms are spacious. Breakfast is served on the terrace and that is a real highlight. Hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the town square of Amalfi and has a private beach with lounges.
All the staff were really friendly and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

We stayed mid June which was just perfect weather lovely and warm and before the real crowds of summer had arrived.

Room Tip: Request a room with a terrace
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kaye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Many thanks for your positive comment on the Hotel location and the friendliness of staff too. Make our clients happy is a pride and joy for all of us Please let me know when you are next looking to stay with us and I will ensure you have your beloved superior room once again.
Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in October.
The hotel is facing to sea side. Our room had a terrace and the terrace had great view ! Only 5 minutes to get to the main street by foot. Both great view & good access to the city center, the location is very good.
The hotel staffs were very kind and helpful.
The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but it isn't a problem. There are many restaurants near there. For breakfast, the hotel is providing a small breakfast at the outside terrace. There wasn't variety of food, but the terrace and its view was really great. If a weather is nice, I recommend to take a breakfast at the hotel once.

If you have a small child, you might need to consider about a baby wagon. Because the elevator is too small to carry a baby wagon.

Room Tip: Of course, higher floor has better view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hnishi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Good evening
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com; it helps us enormously to maintain our standards. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments regarding the breakfast and there will be improvements where necessary.
I am pleased to hear you will stay with us again and I look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely 3 days at the Aurora Apartments in Amalfi, Andreas at reception was fabulously helpful and always an absolute pleasure to communicate with about anything.
The apartments are away from the hotel in a quiet plaza at the other end of the main waterfront, no views but a very clean, practical apartment in a quiet & safe area.
We tried the restaurants Andreas recommended and were very satisfied with the quality of the food and service.
We recommend this apartment #2, the 3 of us were very comfortable.
Ciao !

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank JeniMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam
Thank you, we are always pleased to read such positive feedback! Andrea glowed when he read it and we are soooo pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment, thank you and please come again!
Daniela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 week at the end of May into June. We loved the hotel, we had a standard room with sea view and we found it perfect for us.Large bed, very clean. There are other superior rooms with large balconies which look fabulous, but I suppose it depends on what you prefer to spend your money on. We dont spend much time in our rooms, prefering to be out sightseeing or on the beach. The garden terrace is gorgeous with wonderful views of the coast where we enjoyed the breakfast and the coffee in particular.Unfurtunately there was unusually terrible weather at the start of our week, we arrived to cold, pouring rain and thunder storms, just pure bad luck as the first day was our joint birthdays, we were hoping for a day on the beach! Ah well. The weather improved and was red hot towards the end of the week.
We found all the staff were very welcoming and feel a special mention needed to Andreas on reception and Andrew at breakfast. Would return if had the opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tortravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for the super comments and feedback and we have sent your special thanks to both Andrea and Andrew. Please come and visit us again as we love to see folks return to the Aurora Hotel and we always make a special effort to meet your needs.
Daniela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Protontini 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: $166 - $1,196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing