We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing Honeymoon Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Hands down the best hotel we stayed at along the Amalfi Coast. The manager was incredibly pleasant and so accommodating. We arrived and we're greeted with such warmth and professionalism. We stayed on 3rd floor (I believe) and had a big room with a massive terrace (ocean view at the very East corner-set back a bit from the other rooms for privacy) . It was a beautiful and clean room with a gorgeous view! It was truly paradise. The manager sent up a bottle of preseco and olives that just added to our honeymoon stay that much more. We couldn't have been treated better and we can't wait to go back again. We wished we didn't go to Positano after Amalfi as it was packed with loud and inconsiderate tourists and our hotel stay was twice as expensive as Hotel Aurora with a small room and rude staff (do not stay at Palazzo Talamo!). The town of Amalfi is way better and filled with wonderful locals and great food.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Caligrl_in_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Good morning Caligrl_1

Many thanks for leaving your feedback on TA giving us 5 stars.I was really pleased to see that you had a great stay and found us to be great value. My staff and I always try to reserve a special treatments to honeymooners as welcome drink or free upgrade whenever possible.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    159
    37
    12
    9
See reviews for
64
327
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

A fantastic little hotel in a fabulous location close to the water in Amalfi. Most rooms have a sea view and we requested one with a terrace which was fabulous to sit out on early morning or late at night gazing out to sea. Rooms are spacious. Breakfast is served on the terrace and that is a real highlight. Hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the town square of Amalfi and has a private beach with lounges.
All the staff were really friendly and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

We stayed mid June which was just perfect weather lovely and warm and before the real crowds of summer had arrived.

Room Tip: Request a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kaye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Many thanks for your positive comment on the Hotel location and the friendliness of staff too. Make our clients happy is a pride and joy for all of us Please let me know when you are next looking to stay with us and I will ensure you have your beloved superior room once again.
Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in October.
The hotel is facing to sea side. Our room had a terrace and the terrace had great view ! Only 5 minutes to get to the main street by foot. Both great view & good access to the city center, the location is very good.
The hotel staffs were very kind and helpful.
The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but it isn't a problem. There are many restaurants near there. For breakfast, the hotel is providing a small breakfast at the outside terrace. There wasn't variety of food, but the terrace and its view was really great. If a weather is nice, I recommend to take a breakfast at the hotel once.

If you have a small child, you might need to consider about a baby wagon. Because the elevator is too small to carry a baby wagon.

Room Tip: Of course, higher floor has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hnishi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Good evening
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com; it helps us enormously to maintain our standards. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments regarding the breakfast and there will be improvements where necessary.
I am pleased to hear you will stay with us again and I look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely 3 days at the Aurora Apartments in Amalfi, Andreas at reception was fabulously helpful and always an absolute pleasure to communicate with about anything.
The apartments are away from the hotel in a quiet plaza at the other end of the main waterfront, no views but a very clean, practical apartment in a quiet & safe area.
We tried the restaurants Andreas recommended and were very satisfied with the quality of the food and service.
We recommend this apartment #2, the 3 of us were very comfortable.
Ciao !

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JeniMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam
Thank you, we are always pleased to read such positive feedback! Andrea glowed when he read it and we are soooo pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment, thank you and please come again!
Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 week at the end of May into June. We loved the hotel, we had a standard room with sea view and we found it perfect for us.Large bed, very clean. There are other superior rooms with large balconies which look fabulous, but I suppose it depends on what you prefer to spend your money on. We dont spend much time in our rooms, prefering to be out sightseeing or on the beach. The garden terrace is gorgeous with wonderful views of the coast where we enjoyed the breakfast and the coffee in particular.Unfurtunately there was unusually terrible weather at the start of our week, we arrived to cold, pouring rain and thunder storms, just pure bad luck as the first day was our joint birthdays, we were hoping for a day on the beach! Ah well. The weather improved and was red hot towards the end of the week.
We found all the staff were very welcoming and feel a special mention needed to Andreas on reception and Andrew at breakfast. Would return if had the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tortravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for the super comments and feedback and we have sent your special thanks to both Andrea and Andrew. Please come and visit us again as we love to see folks return to the Aurora Hotel and we always make a special effort to meet your needs.
Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have travelled extensively since our retirement and 5 years ago we stayed at the Aurora and were delighted with everything: since that time it has been at the very top of our list. Earlier this year our friends suggested a joint holiday and we in turn proposed the Aurora - the only time that we have returned to a 'holiday' hotel. None of us were at all disappointed; rather the contrary. In a beautiful small city (yes - there is a Cathedral) midway along a breathtaking coast and with excellent road and sea ferry transport links (and rail from nearby Salerno), the hotel is in an outstanding situation with sea-view rooms barely 50yds from the sea the hotel benefits, in our opinion, with being possibly in the best location in the area. And the Staff could not be more attentative. A return is definately part of our future plans.

Room Tip: Talk direct with the hotel and ask for a top-floor sea-view room with a patio. DON'T BE TEMPTE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear John C
Well time passed but Amalfi and the Aurora try very hard to remain attractive!! PLEASE come again and we will do our best to make your stay memorable.
Thanks, Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It was our first visit to Amalfi and we spent some time pondering which hotel to stay in. Overall our choice of the Aurora was a good one. The staff were very good and the management excellant. Andreas and Andrew outstanding. The hotel would have been even better with it's own restaurant as it is a long walk( for us!) into the centre. However there is a mini bus service into Amalfi on weekday mornings and also a good restaurant across the road from the hotel, the " delle Sirene" so that helps. Not too far from buses and boat trips.The hotel arranged taxi transfers from and back to Naples Airport at a very reasonable 95 euros e/w.

Room Tip: 29 a corner room with good views and large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dderekfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Dderekfw
Thankyou for the excellent review and both Andrea and Andrew were very pleased to read it! Please come back and see us and they will look after you again.
Best wishes, Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#13 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Piazzale Dei Protontini 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing