We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location in Amalfi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location in Amalfi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Aurora and loved the location of this hotel. It is just at the end of the beach area with its own private beach access, close to shopping and all the wonderful local restaurants. This hotel is clean and has lovely balconies with sea views and chaise lounges to soak up the sun. An older hotel that certainly makes the most of what they have. Staff are attentive and helpful with excellent recommendations for dining out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear BarbFry
Thank you! As we get older we learn to make the most of what we have! Come again soon, Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    169
    41
    12
    10
See reviews for
67
349
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This review is based on a 2-night stay. First, having visited Amalfi twice before, at different hotels each time, my experience has been that there really are no bad hotels in Amalfi. It was tough deciding just which hotel to choose for our honeymoon. I chose Hotel Aurora because it just had that perfect view, especially from their amazing garden for breakfast. Amazing! I later noticed all the local artists whose works were found in the city were being from this view.
The rooms. Our room was a double with a sea-view. Not the most private balcony, but the balcony is so big, you have 1/4 - 1/2 of the balcony private with a table, chairs? And 2 lounge chairs. The choices of colors of the decor is unique and quaint. The only critique here I would say is the bathrooms could use a little more counter space to place your things. This was far overlooked by how exceptional the customer service was, so helpful and friendly. Andrea was great, Providing very helpful information, even pointing out which hotels he recommended and with discounts. We took him up on them to find he was right. This hotel also has its own private beach, and everything was so easy to access and understand. This hotel deserves all 5 stars I am giving it today. And we will return here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurostays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on the hotels
We are striving to satisfy our guests requirements and needs on a regular basis and any remarks are always passed onto the relevant department.
I am pleased to note that you will be staying with us again in the future ... I am sure you will notice even more positive changes to the hotel.
Best regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my third stay at the Aurora, and I would not choose another. It has the finest staff and the location is prime - right on the water and tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Yet, it's a short walk to the town center and all its activities. The Aurora's private beach is secluded in its own natural cove, quiet and private. I cannot praise this hotel enough, for it provides a truly peaceful and elegant Amalfi experience.

Room Tip: Rooms 31,32,33,34 are awesome each with a large terrazza opening onto views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polidori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Polidori
Thank you very much for your review. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us especially our location that’s our key strenght. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Warm regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Two years in a row at this hotel(6th-20th Sept)and again it did not disappoint.I can't believe the horrible,negative comments I have been reading about this hotel.We have bsolutely no complaints at all.All the staff in every department were brilliant again.They seem to love working at this hotel & are always pleasant,friendly & helpful to the guests.Breakfasts are very good with lots of choice & again the room was spotlessly clean for the whole of the 2 weeks holiday.Anyone who complains about this hotel needs their heads feeling.Must mention Thomson too....they also looked after us very well.Thank you all for contributing to a lovely holiday.We look foreward to going back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaille F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Gaille
A great five stars response… happy guests who wish they were staying longer is what we like to hear! I’m pleased to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.
Best regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a great time at Aurora, very friendly and good position for the town. We had a superior room with a wonderful terrace view over the bay, well worth the extra. Breakfast was good served on the balcony. Not far to walk into town with the a large choice of restaurants, we went to the ones the hotel recommended and they were very good. Although we had a car, we used the open top tourist bus to Ravello - well worth it. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kei186259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com; it helps us enormously to maintain our standards. I have passed on your comments to the departments regarding reception and housekeeping. They will be centenly happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Many thanks and best regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in a group of a four family members in two rooms for 5 nights in the beginning of September. Excellent location close to the marina and town center; very friendly and helpful staff, clean, comfortable and well maintained and spacious rooms. Breakfast delighted on the seaview terrace. We had the chance of swimming in the marina among the boats, it was fantastic ! Also there is a private beach in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NurK57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TA giving us 5 stars.I was really pleased to see that you had a great stay and found us to be great value, breakfast we offer, service provided ,cleanliness and of course, location, in front of Marina! We love family finally reunited during the holidays! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Best regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora -man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

When looking for a hotel in Amalfi we were weighing up cost (did it fall within budget), value (how much do you get for the price) and location (how well it was situated). This hotel was the best option compared to similarly priced rooms. Very reasonably priced, got a large double bedroom with balcony and sea view. Room was cleaned to a good standard everyday. Rooms are fairly basic as expected but very comfortable and clean (we was not in the room much apart from sleeping). Situated 5 - 10 minute walk from town (nice walk past the marina). Customer Service was excellent incredibly helpful and friendly staff. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Ross L

Thank you for your review, please know that I will be passing on your positive comments to the rest of my team.
I was pleased that you found our bedrooms comfortable and clean.We do try to keep our prices competitive with other hotels in the area so this does make great value.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best regards
Daniela Carrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.3 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Piazzale Dei Protontini 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing