We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A ten day stay for a group of 4 mid sixties proved to be excellent at Hotel Aurora. The hotel is on the edge of the busy harbour in Amalafi providing flat walks to town, ferries and buses?
Aside from the obvious convenience the staff are charming, helpful and always on hand when needed. Their advise on restaurants, local and good value for money, and tours, places to go etc was excellent, a driver booked for a day to Hercalaneum, Pompei and Sorrento was outstanding.
The terrace was the perfect place for breakfast and evening drinks.
Early morning and late night bustle on the harbour and local beach could be eliminated by closing the windows, we preferred the ambience.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank BillSue509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear BillSue509

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor sharing your travel experience.

I was very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found all of our team from check in to check out to be excellent. Also that you enjoyed the breakfast and thought the location of the hotel was good for excursions and major attractions as Pompei and Herculanum ruins.

Ensuring our guests experience fantastic quality as well as great value at gives us real pleasure.

Thank you again and I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora _ Man
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 609 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel Aurora. We stayed in a Superior Room with a large terrace overlooking the Bay of Salerno...beautiful...enjoyed gentle evening breezes through lockable shuttered doors. The bedroom and bathroom were a good size, well appointed and with views. The buffet breakfast on the terrace surrounded by lots of potted colour was great start to the day before heading out for a day of sightseeing. Great location! The hotel is located at the quiet end of the wharf and is walking distance to the main town centre, buses and ferries etc.
All the hotel staff were warm and friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms have a large, sunny terrace and are a good size.Located on the 3rd floor.There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Good morning Lyn C

Thank you for your feedback. We were delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed the room that we had assigned to you , the location, the kindness of staff as well as the great breakfast in the morning.
We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards.
Daniela Carrano
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We thoroughly recommend Hotel Aurora - the staff were most friendly and helpful especially Andrew. The room was compact but very clean and offered everything that we required. The balcony allowed us to gaze over the picturesque jetty as the sun went down and lights began to sparkle. The Hotel is well located being a short walk along the seafront and away from the bustle of the square. There was a good choice for breakfast with great coffee and I was amply provided with gluten free breads and biscuits. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning sun is a fantastic way to start the day!
The knowledgeable and helpful staff allowed us to make the most of our visit to Amalfi. I can recommend the free tour of Amalfi by Michaelangelo - very informative. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose either a top floor room with large verandah or a lower room with a balcony. This allows you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Richard H
Thank you very much for your excellent review. Andrew and the staff are really pleased to hear that they were able to contribute to ensuring your stay was a pleasant one. Hotel Aurora location is very convenient for spending relaxing days in Amalfi just few minutes walk from the hustle of city centre. Thanks again to appreciate the guided tour of Amalfi, free of charge, this year.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Daniela Carrano
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Hotel Aurora! The room was nice-a bit small-but who spent any time inside when we enjoyed the fabulous spacious terrace with breathtaking view! The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious with a selection of hot and cold foods. The hotel has so much charm and character, even the hallways are beautifully decorated! Friendly and helpful staff. The complimentary boat ride along the coast to Amalfi was a memorable experience. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Robertbry
Thank you for your positive remarks on the friendliness of the staff and the hotel in general. We are striving to satisfy our guests requirements and needs on a regular basis. we look forward to see you in the future.
warm regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Manager
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent six nights in Aurora Apartment in Amalfi. Having two active children we find apartments preferable to hotels when staying more than a night or two. The apartment is well located behind the Cathedral, close to the main street with its Restaurants and cafes. Hotel staff were very helpful including pointing places where the locals shop. It does not have a sea view but is just 50 steps to the seaside. The apartment was well equipped, comfortable and quiet. There is a small gym located in the building and they play music in the afternoon and evening but it was not too loud and always stopped at 10 pm. If driving, be aware that the coast and mountain roads are narrow with many dangerous bends and parking is difficult to find, i.e 20 euro a day in Amalfi's well organized underground car park if you are staying in town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Good evening Michelle
Thanks for the positive review and I am happy to see you and your family enjoyed your visit. next time, please note we offer a special discount for gym centre to enjoy the facilities we offer at the Hotel Aurora.
There is nothing more I like than to know we have made Mum & Dad plus kids very happy!
Kind regards

Daniela Carrano
hotel aurora - manager
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This apartment was a great find for our first trip to Amalfi. It was located close to the town square (not on the water like the actual Hotel), but it was still in a good location. It included a kitchen, living room with pull out couch, and two bedrooms, and a nice bath. You also have use of a washer and dryer. Andrea, the proprietor, was very helpful and even met us at the bus stop. My only complaints are that there was no view from the hotel and it is located in the same building as a dance studio. (The classes go a bit late...)The town itself is wonderful as well. I much prefer this quaint village over the larger towns on the Amalfi coast. It is centrally located between Sorrento and Salerno and is most easily accessed by taking a train directly from Rome to Salerno and then grabbing a Sita bus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Jenifer P
Thank you for sharing your trip experience with other travelers on TA. As well specified apartments are located in city centre, close to St. Andrew Cathedral, with no sea view, although the sea is 50 metres far. They are targeting for very independent guests but with all hotel services you needed. Aurora Apartments is the ideal accommodation for visiting Amalfi Coast and even Positano, Capri and Pompeii Excavation.
Thank you again for your contribution
Daniela Carrano
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights back in June 2011 when we were on our honeymoon. We had a lovely room with a huge patio and sunbeds, and a beautiful view of the ocean. The outdoor breakfast area is beautiful and was a lovely place to sit in the mornings. I did have an issue with the ban on outside food and beverages...why? This doesn't seem fair.

The hotel was reasonably priced and quiet, located at the far end of town but a five minute walk to the town centre. The little restaurant right out the front of the hotel was lovely. It was obviously family owned and run. We went in quite late one night they cooked us up a delicious meal without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m00dle255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing HOTEL AURORA for your last stay in June in AMALFI. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them. You noticed our ban in the guest’s room to invite people do not bring any outside food or beverages. Unlikely many people left or stored food for days causing bad smells and daily housekeeping problems. Therefore we had to put the ban and we apologise if we seemed unfair for that. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you again for reviewing your experience and we hope to see you again soon at HOTEL AURORA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Protontini 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: $174 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing