We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect location, Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel la Bussola
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect location, Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

We Stayed here for a few days on our way to Capri. The Hotel from the outside we found not so impressive but once inside you begin to get a feeling for the character and charm. It was very clean and the staff were excellent, always ready with advice. The price was reasonbale and the location is perfect, a short walk to the town centre. The town centre gets very busy so staying here helps to avoid too many people and the noise that comes with the constant unloading of buses and boats of people like you and me. We had a room with a view and terrace which i would recommend. It really adds something to the experience. We did a fair bit of research and this is perfect if you would prefer not to be climbing up and down hills or taking public transport.

  • Liked — terrace and jacuzi
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank toerocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    181
    84
    23
    14
See reviews for
85
220
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2007

We stayed here for a week on a package tour. We stayed in one of the back rooms with a view of the cliff face, about two metres away. At first we were disappointed. The shower was poor, flooding the bathroom floor every time we used it and the menu always seemed to include veal as one of its main course options. But we soon accepted all that because everything else was more or less perfect. The room was clean and comfortable and we didn't want to stay in it for long because the hotel is the other side of the road from the sea. The view from the bar and the restaurant is wonderful. All the staff were very kind and helpful. On the roof is a large balcony for everyone, again with stunning views of the sea and the town. You can ring down to the bar and have your drinks delivered to you. The hotel is a short walk away from the main town along the harour, or you can walk up the steps at the back of the hotel, cross the main road and take the path along the side of the cliff into town. You must walk along here at least once. A house was being renovated along this path and the only way to transport the heavy materials was by two donkeys. That explained the braying noise we occasionlly heard from the hotel. Yes - an excellent hotel.

  • Liked — Locaton
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2007

This is a great hotel with a wonderful staff -- the best from our entire 12 day trip in Italy. The rooms are wonderful with amazing views that you can see from your room balcony. The location is perfect as it is close to downtown but a block away to avoid most of the noise at night. The breakfast offered was wonderful with some of the best coffee we had on the trip. This really was a wonderful experience for us and the hotel lives up to their great reputation in service, quality, and value.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and the amazing view
  • Disliked — Property is a bit close to the bus barn - if you are a real light sleeper it could pose a problem.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dctravelWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2006

We had a room with lateral balcony, which turned out to be perfect for the night of fireworks. At first I worried about road noise because it lies between the promenade and the main road at a gradient at the back. But it turned out to be of no problem at all.
Ceramic tiles were used liberally, but the wood shutters smelled.
Room size was good, but the bathroom was crammed. The arrangement of the 4 pc bath could have been better without the oversized washbasin. I am not sure how many guests nowadays still need the bidet. The TV needs to be upgraded.
Breakfast included some German favorite spread and pumpernickel. Hotel restaurant food while not great was better than the other eateries on the main drag.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dated, smell
  • Tips/Secrets — those on pension terms will have the table by the window in the restaurant.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bofoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2006

La Bussola, wonderful location & hosts. Just perfect!
Staff helpful in every way...charming swim platform right on the harbor. Walk to everything. Loved it!!

  • Liked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for room facing harbor
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank strategic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2006

My wife and I stayed with a number of people for 5 days with some friends friends for a wedding nearby. The hotel is clean, staff friendly and has a fantastic location, being about a 2 min walk from the main piazza.

We couldnt get a superior room and settled for a standard which is small and clean but with a great view of the harbour in front of the hotel. Breakfast as stated in other reviews is not great but the town has plenty of great restaraunts and cafes so make use of them.

Surprisingly the drink was cheaper than expected, abot €2 for a large 66cl beer and €3 for a cocktail and the barman Matteo was excellent! Theres a nice sun terrace on the fourth floor overlooking the harbour to lie out or have a few drinks.

All in all Amalfi is a nice little town with excursions to Capri, Pompeii, Sorrento etc but you could probably do it all within 5 days. Nice resort for couples and families alike...forza Italia!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank padraicburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2006

Simply wonderful hotel in a wonderful location.......................reception staff so very helpful and friendly - highly recommended.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Deejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Property: Hotel la Bussola
Address: Lungomare Dei Cavalieri di Gerusalemme 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Nozio Netplan srl and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing