We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Spot to Stay in Amalfi”
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel la Bussola
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Reviewed June 18, 2010

My husband & I stayed 4 nights In May 2010 at this excellent hotel. The location is perfect at the shore of the Mediterranean & it's just a short walk to the Main Square where all the shops & restaurants are. No hills to climb! All the rooms have a sea view and we found our room very beautiful & spotless. The breakfast was very abundant. No eggs & bacon but everything else. Italians don't eat eggs in the morning. The staff were all excellent. Vincenzo,at the desk ,spent hours on the phone for us booking us a flight. Anna Maria, booked us tours to Capri & Pompei with a smile. Even the cleaning lady, Assunta, was so pleasant & left our room spotless every day. We would definately return & would highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortadownThunderBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2010

Traveled here with our 78 year old father. Selected the hotel since its one of the few near town with minimal steps. We could not have been happier! Location is right on the marina just a few minutes walk from the main piazza. Great staff and they have parking on site for only 10 euro a day!

We booked two prestige rooms that had great balconies and were recently completely renovated. So this review is for the prestige rooms only, heard that the others were a little more outdated.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurfTwiceDaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

First of all, I want to point out that I grew up in Italy. My family is from Rome and so I am used to the Italian culture. That being said, I did think that the staff at La Bussola was a bit on the rude side. My parents, however, always stay at this hotel when visiting Amalfi, so we took their suggestion and booked a room here for three days during our honeymoon. The staff seemed very frustrated with the American travelers (my husband and I flew in from California). No niceties from the staff. Especially the men who run the free breakfast buffet every morning. Very gruff, almost to the point that you feel as though you are intruding in their home -- how dare us! The breakfast is just so-so, with cornetti (Italian croisants), some ham, cheese, cereal and cookies. The rooms are nice enough, but don't expect posh. Marble floors with basic bedding -- and very, very firm bedding. One small TV on the desk, with a small fridge. The bathrooms are updated and pretty -- but be prepared for the European style: small, small shower located on one end of the tub, with a rounded, closed-in door that will make even the average sized man feel very claustrophobic. We have a shower like this at our house outside of Rome, so I was used to this style, but even so, it felt smaller and tighter. The hotel is a very short walk to Amalfi's main downtown square, where you can find local shops and restaurants. It is also just a few minutes from the pier where you can catch a ferry to Capri, etc. The hotel is on the water, so most rooms, I believe, have a balcony. It's a nice central location, just go prepared that the staff isn't going to be overtly friendly. They have one computer that you may use, for two euro for 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

My wife and i travelled to Amalfi with friends and stayed at the Hotel for six nights. The staff were really supportive, helpful and welcoming. We were initially allocated a standard room which in our view was far too small and dark - bathroom was so small and left no room for storing washroom equipment. However, after requesting an upgrade to a superior room we were delighted. We were allocated room 107 and the pleasant bathroom shower made such a difference. The menu was somewhat unimaginative but the food was superbly cooked and well presented. The hotel is situated near to the town which is very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonywNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Sayed here as part of a tour. Rooms were clean, bathroom was small, beds were good. The food was great and the location near town was excellent. It was beautiful sleeping with the shutters open to the cool bereze and the sound of the water. Nice balcony facing the water. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmc1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed at La Bussola for a week with an organised coach tour in March 2010. Our rooms were comfortable, although basic, since we had only paid for single rooms. The bathrooms could use renovation, but they were perfectly adequate. The hotel is very well decorated, with a welcoming reception and bar area. The bartender serves a large selection of cocktails, although they might do well to limit the number a little more as some of them were not really as they should have been (very cheap though at 4 Euros each)

Service in the restaurant was excellent, although it felt a little dated and overly formal for the level of food being cooked. The main quibble here was consistency. On the first day, we were not impressed by an overcooked seabass with boring vegetables and a bowl of past-its-best fruit as a dessert. On every other day, however, the food was at least reasonable for a 3 star, and on a couple of days was actually very good. All of the pasta dishes, in particular, were cooked well and tasty. On the final day we had a plate of lightly fried seafood that we would have been happy to pay for in a restaurant, and some of the local desserts were absolutely delicious! Breakfast was fairly simple, but better than continental breakfasts in a lot of hotels in Europe, and certainly nothing to complain about.

Without doubt this hotel's main selling point, though, is its location; close to the sea and just a couple of minute's walk into town. Overall, I'd recommend La Bussola if you want a comfortable environment at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 809barnabyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We arrived in Amalfi in early December and, with many of the hotels closed, asked the tourist office for recommendations. They suggested the Luna Convente and La Bussola. Luna Convente was eerily quiet and being refurbed. So went for La Bussola and did not regret it.

We had a beautiful room with lovely sea views. I think it had just been redecorated and had a large bathroom with jacuzzi bath. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was adequate. The restaurant and bar were open on a couple of the nights we were there but we never saw anyone use them.

As to going to Amalfi Coast in Decemeber - we loved it = no crowds and easy to get around and park. Even the weather was good - shirt sleeves for us Brits - sweaters for the locals.

Amalfi was quiet but very romantic with the square in front of the Duomo looking charming with its Christmas decorations. Many of the restaurants were closed but we ate twice at da Gemma near the Duomo - wonderful food and fantastic ambiance.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Address: Lungomare Dei Cavalieri di Gerusalemme 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $140 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing