We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop on Amalfi Coast trip”
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel la Bussola
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect stop on Amalfi Coast trip”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Recently travelled by bus along Amalfi Coast and stayed one night at this hotel. Amalfi is halfway along this coast so good stopping point. This is a large hotel on the seashore and very close to bus stop so highly convenient. It was low season so hotel was not so expensive as this would be pricey in the summer. Hotel has rooms with balcony facing the sea and a large roof terrace. Rooms are very good with upgraded bathroom but they are not huge . There was lot of trouble with Tv and WiFi while we were there. The hotel was not busy so I guess they fix it for the summer. Staff were good and friendly and the breakfast was adequate. We didnt eat in the hotel.
Amalfi coast is very steep with wonderful sheltered sea and fabulous views. The Sorrento end is nicer than the Salerno end.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TropicalDepression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    190
    88
    26
    16
See reviews for
87
241
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel was situated in a great location. Just a few minutes walk from the bus stations and town center. We had the superior double room, it came along with a balcony and the view was fantastic. There were also a lot of choices for breakfast in the morning, which was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We took a long awaited tour of Europe and spent 4 days at this hotel. It was the highlight of our tour. It was excellent value for money and the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, even catering specially for my wife who needs a gluten free diet. The hotel is beautiful in a traditional style and the view from our room was stunning. The drive is a little daunting but it was well worth it and we were sad to move on.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view its a really nice view and great to watch the yachts coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 21 to 24 September 2013. The shower recess is the tiniest I have been in and a person of average size and weight will struggle. On the positive side, Amalfi is an intoxicatingly beautiful part of the world. The view from our room was just stunning overlooking the sea. The staff at reception were very courteous, kind and helpful - they helped us many times with excellent suggestions. The hotel is a short walk from Amalfi town centre and an even shorter walk to boat services to get to Sorrento, Capri, Positano, Salerno, etc.. We can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evan219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed 4 nights on September, walking distance to amalfi centre of town, other than that people very unfriendly. Food alright but would rather have not had a package with dinner included but they wouldn't do it any other way. Would not return to this hotel even know the location was good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pucar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Location, location, location. Its one of the few hotels that doesn't have loads of steps and yet a couple of minutes from the square and the ferry boats. Try and get a terrace room, best view ever! Great staff, especially at reception, real Italian mamas. Anne Marie especially. Room has all you need, including a power shower that isn't quite. Everything works - most of the time. Like most Italian so called 4 stars, it isn't but its one of the best options for staying In This amazing location of Amalfi.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I booked a trip to Naples, Sorrento and Amalfi. We booked 3 nights at Hotel La Bussola, which was at the end of our trip. I regret to say that we were very disappointed we this hotel.

The hotel is in a great location, with stunning views across the harbour, and we paid for a room with a balcony overlooking the harbour. But when we arrived I was very disappointed with everything. I had read about the décor on TA so was expecting an old fashioned room, but our room was just cheap. It wasn't funky but ugly, uncomfortable and basic. Our bed was rock hard and the room was very dark.

The hotel was the nosiest hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. The windows had wooden shutters and the room had no furnishings to soak up the noise. It was unbelievable. It seemed like everyone gathered outside our window well in to the night talking, screaming, shouting. The walls were also paper thin and we heard everything next door.

I didn't find the staff particularly helpful or friendly. For example we had a late flight so asked whether we could use a shower to freshen up, which they had an outside shower on the roof terrace. When I asked for some towels they said no initially, but relented after me pushing for some clean towels!

Our second night we also discovered lots of ants in the bed as well! Not sure whether they came from but they were unwelcome!

We paid about £180 per room per night for this hotel which was expensive for the service, quality, room, breakfast in the morning - which we received. It was an expensive and disappointing end to our holiday and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel and if you do get a room high up or away from the very noisy front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luckytraveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Property: Hotel la Bussola
Address: Lungomare Dei Cavalieri di Gerusalemme 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing