We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you are wary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Bussola
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Amalfi, Italy
2 reviews
“OK if you are wary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel was located in an excellent location, and the staff overall worked hard to make sure that your needs were accommodated. I would recommend this place to others, and would stay here again should the opportunity arise. They do try to steer you toward certain things that I think they get a commission on, so beware. Overall it is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for front or side rooms with view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iggy5Nines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    170
    72
    19
    10
See reviews for
74
192
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a wonderful setting. Our sea facing room, plus partial view for the kids looked great and the trip started wonderfully...until we tried the air conditioning during a major heat wave. Generally we skip the AC but it was hot and as the night progressed, some terrible smells that seemed to be raw sewage filled our second room. The night clerk was great and tried everything but to no avail. When we advised the day manager that our family of five crammed into the one room to avoid the stench, he seemed indifferent. I totally get problems in August in Europe but the service was bad and the options presented were not great (e.g. move your kids to another floor). After another night they eventually found a smaller room on the same floor. So if it is hot, and your an AC type of person, beware. If not, great spot, stunning town and the swimming platform is a real gem on a busy day.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth it but our AC problems came on the South side of the building (i.e. away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJJ1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with a friend of mine at this place. Location is superb and the service is great. The people at the hotel were really friendly. Breakfast could have been a bit better, but that's a minor detail.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I love this place! The warm family-feel, the perfect location – what else does one need in Amalfi. Hotel La Bussola was the 4th and final stop during our European stay. We researched dozens of hotels. Our Amalfi requirements: Location, Location, Location -- a nice place in town, on the beach, easy to book tours, with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, free breakfast and most of all, A DEAD-ON SEA VIEW...Check!

It was enough that the list above was met but the folks running the hotel were so COOL. They were flexible with tour assistance and even allowed us to pay for tours by credit card (not all hotels did this).

And for those challenged by the vertical nature of Amalfi, aka all those dang steps…Hotel La Bussola is perfect. It lies on one of the few flat spots on the Mediterranean allowing your car service to drop you off at the door, and it’s just down the street from the SITA bus hub. La Bussola even has a swimming platform for hotel guests only.

Important: Sidewalks are important and lacking in Amalfi. Italian drivers are intense (aka crazy). Hotel La Bussola’s entrance has a crosswalk which leads to a nice strolling sidewalk that runs along a portion of the Mediterranean Sea so you’re not dodging cars in the street. This is important if you have kids and/or are walking impaired.

Amalfi is stunning. Don’t waste time booking a place that doesn’t meet your wish list. You’ll regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel sits right on the sea front and has lovely views over the marina. The a/c in our room didn't work properly so it wasn't very comfortable and generally I'd say that it is a bit dated. It was very noisy as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBMJ222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights in July and had a prestige room on the 1st floor with a large terrace balcony which we really made full use of and would highly recommend.
The hotel itself is in a fantastic location and this really is the main selling point, located on the waterfront just 250m from the main square and 300m to the main beach you couldn't ask for anything more as this made getting out and about very easy and meant we never needed a taxi when going out at night.
Overall its safe to say we would defiantly stay here again and look forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a prestige room on the 1st floor with a large terrace balcony and really enjoyed the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were here for two nights in three rooms--a triple, a double and a twin. All were superior with water views.

The place is a little quirky--'70s style furnishings. But, the rooms were comfortable and the views were wonderful. More importantly, the location was perfect. In three minutes we could walk to the Amalfi Duomo and main piazza. Two minutes the other direction to meet our chartered boat captain for a day on the water. Plenty of restaurants to choose from.

The only down side to the wonderful views was street noise from vacationers walking the board walk at night. But truly, that didn't really bother us.

I know you get much better views of the coast when you stay out of town on the cliffs, but with a travel group of 7, it was important to us to be walking distance to shops and restaurants so the group could split up at times.

I definitely recommend this hotel and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twocoasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#13 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Property: Hotel la Bussola
Address: Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing