We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views, great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Bussola to your Saves list
Hotel la Bussola
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent views, great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here in July. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when my partner had trouble getting WiFi. The location was great and our room on the second floor offered splendid views over the sea. The decor was a little dated, but comfortable bed and adequate storage for cases and clothes. The air-conditioning a little disappointing as it stopped when you left the room, so room took a while to cool when you re-entered. There was a strange shower unit, which took a while to get used to, and we didn't even attempt a bath.The towels were very rough. We were a little cross about the mini bar where a charge would be made on any item that you left in the fridge which you purchased else where such as water etc. And the T.V single was poor. The room/hotel information pack could benefit from updating. Breakfast was sufficient and offered choices and served in an excellent room with sea views. We used the sun terrace and the sea front area, both services were good. On the whole we had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: You need to book sea view. Smoking rooms are first floor. You will get waterfront noise as people te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriskirb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    170
    72
    19
    10
See reviews for
74
192
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

La Bussola is more than a 4 star hotel; with a friendly staff who goes out of their way to please. Our room #353 had ocean front view. It was on the third floor, I highly recommend it. The hotel includes fast wi fi, free in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Delicious Buffett breakfast is included with the price of the room and free parking. For a modest price you can have a great Italian dinner with wine at their restaurant while enjoying a beautiful ocean view. The hotel has a private swim platform with chairs, towels and a life guard at no extra cost... I highly and without reservations give The Hotel la Bussola the highest ratings.

Room Tip: Our room #353 had a great ocean front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_ralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a long day's travelling and a stay in a 3 star hotel, I was looking forward to our 4 star experience at La Bussola. It was easy to find and we were impressed by its location. The receptionist was welcoming and saw us up to our room, arranging for our bags to follow. The view from the balcony is amazing and if one could rate on that alone, this hotel would be 5 star! However, the room is very small, as is the bathroom - it's always irritating when there is nowhere to shelve your things, not even a soap dish in the shower. As for the shower, there was no hot water. I tried to phone down to reception to ask what I could do to sort it out, but the phone didn't work. So after trying everything humanly possible, culminating in a hasty and freezing shower, I went down to speak to the receptionist. There is no denying they are approachable, friendly and polite, but they were not in the least bit apologetic and said the problem couldn't be sorted until Monday. I asked if I could have another room with a shower that worked, but the answer was no, they were full. These things can happen, I accept that, but even just an apology rather than an apparent attitude of that's your lot, accept it, would have been better. The Internet reception is patchy at best. The room we are in could benefit from some soundproofing too. So far I feel I have got a 2/3 star experience with a 5 star view.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarynJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary,NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a great family vacation in Italy and stayed at Hotel La Bussola in Amalfi. The entire staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, especially Mena and Vincenzo who I dealt with a lot . The room had a balcony with a great view of the ocean. Amalfi is a great little Italian town with a lot of great restaurants. The town is also centrally located so we took day trips to Capri, Pompeii/Vesuvius, Ravello, and Posintano / Sorrento. Driving the Amalfi coast was an experience and not for the lite hearted. :-) The scenery was beautiful. We were there during the Festival of St. Andrew (Festa di Sant’Andrea) in Amalfi, which was a great experience. At midnight they had one of the best fireworks shows I have ever seen that we could watch right from our balcony. The roof top terrance also gave a nice view of the area. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but that was good. It was a great vacation !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The seafront view of this hotel is stunning. Most rooms offer a balcony opening onto a picture perfect ocean view. There is a rooftop terrace where the guests can relax. The rooms are clean and pleasant. The breakfast buffet offers good variety and quality. The hotel is located within walking distance of everything in Amalfi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The view of the marina and the promenade from our balcony window was like the front row seat of one of the best theatres in the world. In the morning I would open the shutters and there were bobbing boats, early morning passers-by and the sight and smell of the sea. The roof terrace has a fabulous view of Amalfi town and nearby Atrani. On the feast day of St Antonio we watched a fireworks display which lit up the whole sea front. The location of this hotel sets it apart from other accommodation in Amalfi. It is at the quieter end of the town and only a short walk to the busy cobbled streets of shops and restaurants. The room was large and spacious and the bathroom had a great jacuzzi shower and bath for a good soak. There was Wi-Fi internet access through the hotel hub spot. Towels were changed daily and the room was well cleaned every morning by friendly staff. Sun lounge/solarium on the roof terrace but there was no swimming pool. However, decking was being built in front of the hotel for hotel guests to launch from into the marina as we left. Staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Balcony room on second floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillydally8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A lovely hotel with ceramic tiled floors and walls. The staff were helpful and courteous. The rooms were nicely appointed with double paned windows to keep out the street noise during the day. Wonderful hot water for showers and comfortable beds. Lots of outlets to plug in your gadgets (not as easy to find in hotels in Italy). Breakfast buffet was was delicious with a wide variety of eggs, toast, pastries, fruit, colds cuts, cheese, tea, coffee, yogurt. A really nice hotel steps away from the ferry port, bus terminals and main town square. Glad we spent 3 night here. The garden terrace should not be missed. we had drinks out there one night - what a great spot to overlook the sea, listen to the crashing waves while enjoying a lemoncello.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have balconies, but to be sure request one to the front of the hotel. Great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#13 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Property: Hotel la Bussola
Address: Lungomare dei Cavalieri di San Giovanni di Gerusalemme, 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing