We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation in Italy”
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel la Bussola
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Cary,NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family vacation in Italy”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a great family vacation in Italy and stayed at Hotel La Bussola in Amalfi. The entire staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, especially Mena and Vincenzo who I dealt with a lot . The room had a balcony with a great view of the ocean. Amalfi is a great little Italian town with a lot of great restaurants. The town is also centrally located so we took day trips to Capri, Pompeii/Vesuvius, Ravello, and Posintano / Sorrento. Driving the Amalfi coast was an experience and not for the lite hearted. :-) The scenery was beautiful. We were there during the Festival of St. Andrew (Festa di Sant’Andrea) in Amalfi, which was a great experience. At midnight they had one of the best fireworks shows I have ever seen that we could watch right from our balcony. The roof top terrance also gave a nice view of the area. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but that was good. It was a great vacation !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    185
    85
    25
    14
See reviews for
85
231
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The seafront view of this hotel is stunning. Most rooms offer a balcony opening onto a picture perfect ocean view. There is a rooftop terrace where the guests can relax. The rooms are clean and pleasant. The breakfast buffet offers good variety and quality. The hotel is located within walking distance of everything in Amalfi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The view of the marina and the promenade from our balcony window was like the front row seat of one of the best theatres in the world. In the morning I would open the shutters and there were bobbing boats, early morning passers-by and the sight and smell of the sea. The roof terrace has a fabulous view of Amalfi town and nearby Atrani. On the feast day of St Antonio we watched a fireworks display which lit up the whole sea front. The location of this hotel sets it apart from other accommodation in Amalfi. It is at the quieter end of the town and only a short walk to the busy cobbled streets of shops and restaurants. The room was large and spacious and the bathroom had a great jacuzzi shower and bath for a good soak. There was Wi-Fi internet access through the hotel hub spot. Towels were changed daily and the room was well cleaned every morning by friendly staff. Sun lounge/solarium on the roof terrace but there was no swimming pool. However, decking was being built in front of the hotel for hotel guests to launch from into the marina as we left. Staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Balcony room on second floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillydally8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A lovely hotel with ceramic tiled floors and walls. The staff were helpful and courteous. The rooms were nicely appointed with double paned windows to keep out the street noise during the day. Wonderful hot water for showers and comfortable beds. Lots of outlets to plug in your gadgets (not as easy to find in hotels in Italy). Breakfast buffet was was delicious with a wide variety of eggs, toast, pastries, fruit, colds cuts, cheese, tea, coffee, yogurt. A really nice hotel steps away from the ferry port, bus terminals and main town square. Glad we spent 3 night here. The garden terrace should not be missed. we had drinks out there one night - what a great spot to overlook the sea, listen to the crashing waves while enjoying a lemoncello.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have balconies, but to be sure request one to the front of the hotel. Great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I participated in a two week tour of Italy and this is one of the hotels that was in the G Adventures Tour. It was very pleasant, good views, right on the waterfront. Just steps to pick up the ferry to other cities. Close to restaurants, shopping etc.
Morning breakfast is pleasant.

Room Tip: Good location to travel by boat or to have a pickup service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a pleasant hotel, located on the waterfront in Amalfi. Room had a nice outlook and being just far enough away from the main centre of Amalfi tourist precinct to allow the doors to the balcony to be kept open at night.
A short walk to shops and restaurants and very close to ferry point make it a convenient place to stay.
Room a little on the small side, but adequate.
Bed and pillows comfortable, breakfast adequate, very good free WIFI

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
276 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We, a family of three, stayed at La Bussola for three nights in May. The hotel is located on the waterfront, close (but not too close - which is a good thing) to the bus station and boat piers. Guests can easily walk to main town attraction points and enjoy a direct sea view.
Our triple room was spacious and light. We could seat on the balcony, admiring the sea. The bathroom was ok - everything in place, could benefit from better cleaning. We were on a third floor, but it was still noisy during night hours, when people partied at the waterfront in front of the hotel. WiFi was free and worked fine most of time.
Breakfast was served in a vast dining hall with a nice sea view. Food choice and quality was more at a "three-star" level. We used hotel's parking garage, as parking is a real issue on the Amalfi coast. The garage was handy, but very narrow, starting with the entrance which was always blocked by local cars and bikes. The staff was friendly and we did not have any language issues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikolay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Property: Hotel la Bussola
Address: Lungomare Dei Cavalieri di Gerusalemme 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing