We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous roof top terrace for a wedding party”
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel la Bussola
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We met Mena in June 2011 when we were in Amalfi booking our wedding. We were actually looking for accommodation for our guests and got chatting to Mena who showed us the beautiful roof terrace. We decided to book this for our pre wedding pizza party, held at the hotel in June this year. We cannot speak highly enough of the hotel and the organisation put into our event. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was specatular, and the staff so attentive. The location is also fantastic being so close to the sea and Amalfi town.

Our guests that stayed in the hotel spoke very highly of the accommodation. We thank everyone at La Bussola for making our evening so special. Would highly recommend for anyone thinking of getting married /staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsTearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Hotel la Bussola
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 502 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is an excellent hotel, superior to many an Italian 4-star hotel (though seemingly, from other reviews, not reaching everyone's expectations). As with so many hotels, however, the experience depends very much on which room is chosen. The standard rooms with side view of the sea are perfectly acceptable for a short stay, but for a very relaxing holiday with wonderful views out to the Mediterranean across the small harbour you should choose a 'superior' front-facing room with balcony. The room we were given was immaculate, perhaps a little 'traditional' but very good all the same, and the room servicing was excellent.

The balcony was quite small but large enough to sit out on and, although there is a small road directly in front of the hotel, there was very little traffic and we had much amusement watching the antics of those on the wide promenade opposite. We were too early in the season for the private swimming platform but delighted in the rooftop patio–great for sunbathing (and views). We also found the comfortable lounge on the ground floor an excellent place to recover after counting the steps exploring the back streets of Amalfi.

The breakfasts were very good: large selection of cereals, Danish pastries, croissants, fresh rolls, meats, cheese, eggs, conserves, juices etc, and excellent continental coffee (tea if you wish). Dinner was 'fine dining', not cheap but very good; although sweets (puddings) were limited. Unfortunately one of our party was alcohol-intolerant, and the sweets all seemed to be alcohol-rich; and no Italian ice cream!

The hotel is ideally situated, a short flat walk from the town, bus terminus and boat jetty. We highly recommend the tourist bus to Ravello, Minori and Maiori, the boat trip to Capri and the walking tour of Amalfi suggested by, and bookable at, the hotel.

Overall an excellent hotel in a wonderful area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a 'superior' front-facing room for a wonderful view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CSDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Found the hotel by chance, and it was great location on the water, good parking, excellent service and value.would recommend to any traveller seeking value, and location. Excellent staff who were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Being across the road from the shoreline, the rooms have an excellent view of the shore and out to sea from their balconies. The room was clean and well furnished, charming but not modern. If you like hard beds (fairly typical of Italy), it would be perfect. The staff were friendly and the owner has a delightful sense of humour. We would certainly stay there again.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Grahame H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at La Bussola. The location couldn't have been better, very close to the coastal centre of Amalfi, near transportation, seaside view, yet far enough that there was no annoyance from the bustle of people, buses, etc. Breakfast every morning was typical Italian selections. The staff was friendly and their advice on attractions and transportation options helped us make informed decisions on what we did and how we got there. The rooms were immaculate and housekeeping thorough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRTinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

LA Bussola is one of the best hotels in the amalfi region. You will not be able to find any other place with a room with an amazing view of the entire ocean. The staff is friendly and polite. The wi-fi on your computer / handheld device is expense, but you are most welcome to use a computer in the lobby. Though the rooms are small, but are neat and clean with prompt staff who will clean in your absence.

Room Tip: Take the room with the full sea view... it is worth the extra money...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurabh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel five years ago and loved it. I had no second thought of making this my home in Amalfi again for my return trip a few years later. The staff is still wonderful - so very helpful on everything from restaurant recommendations to travel along the coast - they continue to just be so accommodating and friendly at every turn. It does break my heart to say that the property needs some updating. While my room was clean there just are some issues that I hope they get resolved soon around the property - some cracks in walls and holes in the ceiling tiles and just general updates that need to be made. This was a good prepay value but there are better quality properties in the city itself. And - with the bus system you really can stay in any city along the Amalfi Coast and have easy transportation to the Amalfi Coast and have easy transportation to any other city or location along the coast. One note - the wireless internet does not work. The hotel does provide a computer in the lobby for free - which is nice. The breakfast is included and was very good by Italian hotel standards in my opinion.

Room Tip: There are rooms with larger balconies in the center of the hotel. This also is along a popular walk...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dctravelWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
815 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Address: Lungomare Dei Cavalieri di Gerusalemme 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $158 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing