We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Croce di Amalfi
Ranked #23 of 43 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in Sep '13, and were unfortunately a bit let down.

Upon check in, the hotel manager was lovely and welcoming and told us to ask her if we had any questions at all as she was happy to help.

The next day I had some questions about Amalfi etc, so I asked a few questions. From then on, it sort of seemed like we were interuppting or annoying to the staff everytime we asked something. One afternoon we asked for a couple of cappuccinos, which was apprehensively done with a little huff and puff.

Also, upon check in, we were advised our room was just outside the main building as this was the room given to agent bookings (made through a travel agency). The room had a view of a neighbouring roof top, the WiFi didn't work as we had to sit at our doorstep and it is directly underneath the breakfast room, meaning you're woken up every morning by chair being dragged across the ground. Breakfast was okay but very basic.

The worst part, was the bed. Two singles pushed together, but somehow the middle of the 'double' bed seemed to sag inward. The result - epic back pains in the morning.

The good parts - very close to the port, beach and main town square. Nice, charming coastal property. Nice view from breakfast balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Croce di Amalfi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 137 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Comfortable, spacious, friendly and helpful. Beautifully appointed rooms, views. Oh, and a breakfast well worth waking up for. All very Amalfi - just remember there are steps. Quite a few. Especially with luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentGartons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during the height of summer and the price per night for the rooms were very well priced considering. Our room had a beautiful view to the sea which was lovely to wake up to each morning. The room was very clean and spacious and the bathroom was so big and new! We were very surprised as European bathrooms are usually very small. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is sufficient with various options and the view on the breakfast terrace is gorgeous. Will stay here again and recommend to others. Thanks for providing such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juztina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We loved this little hotel, it was perfect for our 5 night stay. There are steps up to the hotel, but we thought it actually added to the charm. Amalfi is full of steps, and it seems fitting to climb some. Our room was spacious, the bathroom large, and the views lovely. The terrace for breakfast, or a drinking the evening was an added bonus.
The staff were most helpful, and very friendly.
The Amalfi coast is a stunning area, and Hotel Croce Di Amalfi a perfect place to base ourselves.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hugbug23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, very easy to find with beautiful rooms, spa jet bathtubs, cool blue LED lights, with a simple, very simple breakfast and reception that is only there part of the day, it took us 20 minutes to find someone kind enough to call them for us to have someone let us come check in, but overall great stay for a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Croce di Amalfi for three nights. It has been reconditioned in the last two years or so. It is a converted residence from an aristocratic family. This small boutique style hotel was located steps away from the central square, shops, restaurants and the harbor. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. We had a view of the sea, the top of the duomo and of course the mountain cliffs all around us from our little terrace. The hotel terrace where we enjoyed a free continental breakfast each morning had a stunning view. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We throughly enjoyed our stay in Amalfi and the Hotel Croce di Amalfi.

Be sure to visit the little hilltop town of Rovello when you are here. The views are incredible and the Garden of Villa Cimbrone was incredible.

The one thing to be sure visitors are aware of is that there are 77 steps to get to the hotel entry. Steps are not uncommon for hotels in the Amalfi coast, but good to be aware if you are carrying your luggage and have health challenges.

We arranged for transportation from the Naples Airport to Amalfi through Amalfi Car Experience. Definitely the way to go versus other options. So easy and helpful after the long flight from the states.

Room Tip: Request a terrace / sea view if one is available.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous location high up, with bedroom and terrace views across Amalfi rooftops towards the cliffs and the sea.
Hotel was finished in 2011, Amalfi style floor tiles, marble decor. Clean, modern, uncluttered.
Bathroom is to excellent standard, large dual head shower, lots of hot water and CLEAN.
Friendly family style hosts treat you to a good breakfast, italian style, fresh coffee, rolls, muffins, cereals, fruit, meats, cheeses and fruit juices.

Only thing is, like most of Amalfi, it is accessible only on foot up 110 narrow stone steps (Piazza to bedroom - I counted every one !!). So not for the weak-of-knees or for anything heavier than a carry-on cabin bag.
Car parking is in the underground municipal park across the town, assume ten minutes walk before arriving at the steps in Piazza Dei Dogi.

Room Tip: Be sure you are up to climbing steps !!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dgilchri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.1 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residenza del Duca Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lidomare Hotel
Lidomare Hotel
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Costa Furoris
B&B Costa Furoris
#11 of 21 in Furore
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residenza Pansa
Residenza Pansa
#15 of 43 in Amalfi
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holidays Baia D'Amalfi
Holidays Baia D'Amalfi
#40 of 43 in Amalfi
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croce di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croce di Amalfi

Address: Via San Nicola dei Greci 13/15, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range: $121 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Croce di Amalfi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Croce di Amalfi, once an historic house belonged to the aristocratic family Scoppetta, is situated in the ancient district "Vagliendola", one of the most panoramic and suggestive place of the city. Surrounded from picturesque houses and overlying from the bizantinic belltower of saint Biagio's church, the Hotel has an unique and privileged location and offers breathbreaking view. Very closed to the Cathedreal and the beaches,reachable with a a staircase of about 77 steps, the position's hotel makes possible for our guests to reach in a few minutes the bus station and the mole for the boats departures and to visit by foot the historical center and walk along the seaside promenade. The renovation works, finished in the year 2011, kept the ancient look the same as before but inside is made comfortable and modern. Owners' love for the art has made a perfect union between history and tradition, ancient and modern, mediterranean and classic styles. The cross ceilings and the tipical amalphitan capitals give to the structure the historical charm of the ancient sea republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Croce di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing