We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Easy to find beautiful view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Croce di Amalfi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Croce di Amalfi
Ranked #19 of 37 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Orlando
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easy to find beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, very easy to find with beautiful rooms, spa jet bathtubs, cool blue LED lights, with a simple, very simple breakfast and reception that is only there part of the day, it took us 20 minutes to find someone kind enough to call them for us to have someone let us come check in, but overall great stay for a great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    51
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
8
89
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Croce di Amalfi for three nights. It has been reconditioned in the last two years or so. It is a converted residence from an aristocratic family. This small boutique style hotel was located steps away from the central square, shops, restaurants and the harbor. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. We had a view of the sea, the top of the duomo and of course the mountain cliffs all around us from our little terrace. The hotel terrace where we enjoyed a free continental breakfast each morning had a stunning view. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We throughly enjoyed our stay in Amalfi and the Hotel Croce di Amalfi.

Be sure to visit the little hilltop town of Rovello when you are here. The views are incredible and the Garden of Villa Cimbrone was incredible.

The one thing to be sure visitors are aware of is that there are 77 steps to get to the hotel entry. Steps are not uncommon for hotels in the Amalfi coast, but good to be aware if you are carrying your luggage and have health challenges.

We arranged for transportation from the Naples Airport to Amalfi through Amalfi Car Experience. Definitely the way to go versus other options. So easy and helpful after the long flight from the states.

Room Tip: Request a terrace / sea view if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous location high up, with bedroom and terrace views across Amalfi rooftops towards the cliffs and the sea.
Hotel was finished in 2011, Amalfi style floor tiles, marble decor. Clean, modern, uncluttered.
Bathroom is to excellent standard, large dual head shower, lots of hot water and CLEAN.
Friendly family style hosts treat you to a good breakfast, italian style, fresh coffee, rolls, muffins, cereals, fruit, meats, cheeses and fruit juices.

Only thing is, like most of Amalfi, it is accessible only on foot up 110 narrow stone steps (Piazza to bedroom - I counted every one !!). So not for the weak-of-knees or for anything heavier than a carry-on cabin bag.
Car parking is in the underground municipal park across the town, assume ten minutes walk before arriving at the steps in Piazza Dei Dogi.

Room Tip: Be sure you are up to climbing steps !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgilchri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We found this B&B to be absolutely gorgeous.
It was bit of a climb up ca. 70 steps to the B&B but totally worth it, especially when we had organised a porter service to lug our bags up.
The place was immaculate, it had gorgeous authentic decor with beautiful tiled floors everywhere and so so clean.

The views from our bedroom window over the bay were breathtaking.. The breakfast every day was served on the terrace overlooking the bay and was fantastic. The service was wonderful. We would def. stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Organise porter service! It's not expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spend 2 days there in August 2012. The hotel is very small and ideally located in the city centre of Amalfi. It was strange walking all the steps to get in the hotel but it was part of the adventure. The rooms are big enough and we had sea views so we were happy. The hotel also has a nice terrace where you can have your breakfast in the morning and the view is fantastic. The breakfast is limited by the lady owner is there to help you if you need something special. The hotel location is just 5 minutes to the city centre of Amalfi or to the beach. Overall good experience in this hotel and satisfied with the service provided.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barabbas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel has a very good localization, you will spend less than 5 minutes to get to the beach.. The rooms are extremely well decorated and bathrooms are big enough.
Keep your eyes open with two things:
- There is no parking close of the hotel
- Get prepared to go up 80 steps to reach the reception! Don't go with huge luggages.
- The reception work between 08h am to 07pm. So if you will check-in before or after this time, get the telephone of the owner with you

Room Tip: Try a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Amalfi is not my favorite town on the coast, as other than early in the morning and late at night you have to fight through hordes of tourists. But I was pleased with our choice of the Hotel Croce di Amalfi. It's location up a number of steps means you need to be in decent shape if you're carrying heavy luggage, but for me it was worth it to be up above the commotion in the town. The view from our window, and especially from the large communal terrace, was lovely. (I would guess that hotels closer to the beach are quite noisy, as during the day there's a constant parade of tour buses and cars).

Our room itself was smallish but pretty, with old wooden shutters. The bathroom was probably the nicest on of our entre trip through Italy, with the same lovely blue and white tiles that are maintained as a decorative motif throughout the hotel. We had a great modern shower.

We did have to ring the front bell and wait a bit for someone to show up when we arrived, as I believe the owners live in a nearby house, but with a small, independantly owned hotel you don't expect someone to be occupying the front desk 24/7. In gneral I found the hotel to be well run, and the staff friendly and helpful.

Amalfi is very pricey town, so the rate was not cheap but seemed in-line with what similar hotels were charging. So overall I would say that the Croce di Amalfi is a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croce di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croce di Amalfi

Property: Hotel Croce di Amalfi
Address: Via San Nicola dei Greci 13/15, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Croce di Amalfi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Croce di Amalfi, once an historic house belonged to the aristocratic family Scoppetta, is situated in the ancient district "Vagliendola", one of the most panoramic and suggestive place of the city. Surrounded from picturesque houses and overlying from the bizantinic belltower of saint Biagio's church, the Hotel has an unique and privileged location and offers breathbreaking view. Very closed to the Cathedreal and the beaches,reachable with a a staircase of about 77 steps, the position's hotel makes possible for our guests to reach in a few minutes the bus station and the mole for the boats departures and to visit by foot the historical center and walk along the seaside promenade. The renovation works, finished in the year 2011, kept the ancient look the same as before but inside is made comfortable and modern. Owners' love for the art has made a perfect union between history and tradition, ancient and modern, mediterranean and classic styles. The cross ceilings and the tipical amalphitan capitals give to the structure the historical charm of the ancient sea republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Croce di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing