We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect location, fantastic service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croce di Amalfi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Croce di Amalfi
Ranked #18 of 36 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location, fantastic service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We found this B&B to be absolutely gorgeous.
It was bit of a climb up ca. 70 steps to the B&B but totally worth it, especially when we had organised a porter service to lug our bags up.
The place was immaculate, it had gorgeous authentic decor with beautiful tiled floors everywhere and so so clean.

The views from our bedroom window over the bay were breathtaking.. The breakfast every day was served on the terrace overlooking the bay and was fantastic. The service was wonderful. We would def. stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Organise porter service! It's not expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
6
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spend 2 days there in August 2012. The hotel is very small and ideally located in the city centre of Amalfi. It was strange walking all the steps to get in the hotel but it was part of the adventure. The rooms are big enough and we had sea views so we were happy. The hotel also has a nice terrace where you can have your breakfast in the morning and the view is fantastic. The breakfast is limited by the lady owner is there to help you if you need something special. The hotel location is just 5 minutes to the city centre of Amalfi or to the beach. Overall good experience in this hotel and satisfied with the service provided.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barabbas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel has a very good localization, you will spend less than 5 minutes to get to the beach.. The rooms are extremely well decorated and bathrooms are big enough.
Keep your eyes open with two things:
- There is no parking close of the hotel
- Get prepared to go up 80 steps to reach the reception! Don't go with huge luggages.
- The reception work between 08h am to 07pm. So if you will check-in before or after this time, get the telephone of the owner with you

Room Tip: Try a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Amalfi is not my favorite town on the coast, as other than early in the morning and late at night you have to fight through hordes of tourists. But I was pleased with our choice of the Hotel Croce di Amalfi. It's location up a number of steps means you need to be in decent shape if you're carrying heavy luggage, but for me it was worth it to be up above the commotion in the town. The view from our window, and especially from the large communal terrace, was lovely. (I would guess that hotels closer to the beach are quite noisy, as during the day there's a constant parade of tour buses and cars).

Our room itself was smallish but pretty, with old wooden shutters. The bathroom was probably the nicest on of our entre trip through Italy, with the same lovely blue and white tiles that are maintained as a decorative motif throughout the hotel. We had a great modern shower.

We did have to ring the front bell and wait a bit for someone to show up when we arrived, as I believe the owners live in a nearby house, but with a small, independantly owned hotel you don't expect someone to be occupying the front desk 24/7. In gneral I found the hotel to be well run, and the staff friendly and helpful.

Amalfi is very pricey town, so the rate was not cheap but seemed in-line with what similar hotels were charging. So overall I would say that the Croce di Amalfi is a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent three nights in this during our honeymoon trip in south Italy. Almost 80 steps to the hotel is an Amalfi standard and it is not a big problem unless you have heavy luggages. Hotel is located in the heart of Amalfi and has a nice terrace with superb coast view. Breakfast was poor and finished breakfast stuff ( like cheese,bread and fruits) were hardly refilled by staff and coffee&tea service was very weak. Hotel was recently refurbished and well decorated but the service and cleanness could be much better regarding the price they charge for the room. Overall a bad value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms without sea view are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Osman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

New hotel with the Amalfi classic style in the middle of Amalfi. Great location, great terrace for breakfast, lovely rooms and very nice bathrooms. Paola, the owner is super friendly and helpful together with her fantastic staff. Definitely an hotel to revisit! It made our girlie weekend amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supermeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sax, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had never been to Amalfi before. What a lovely location, right in the centre of town, lovely rooms, refurbished in 2011, lovely bathroom. Amazing views of the seafront. Great breakfast terrace with lovely views. Staff were very helpful, and Paola (the Manageress) really looked after us, in fact she was the main reason I chose the hotel, as I was so impressed with her friendly professionalism when I first emailed, and then rang the hotel from abroad, as we booked direct. There are some steps to get to the hotel, but its worth the walk up, and they also offer help with the luggage if you need it. We also booked a car through the hotel, who collected us from the airport. This was also fantastic, and worth the money. All in all, a great holiday experience, thanks Paola.

Room Tip: When you book, check with Paola as to the views available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croce di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croce di Amalfi

Property: Hotel Croce di Amalfi
Address: Via San Nicola dei Greci 13/15, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Croce di Amalfi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Croce di Amalfi, once an historic house belonged to the aristocratic family Scoppetta, is situated in the ancient district "Vagliendola", one of the most panoramic and suggestive place of the city. Surrounded from picturesque houses and overlying from the bizantinic belltower of saint Biagio's church, the Hotel has an unique and privileged location and offers breathbreaking view. Very closed to the Cathedreal and the beaches,reachable with a a staircase of about 77 steps, the position's hotel makes possible for our guests to reach in a few minutes the bus station and the mole for the boats departures and to visit by foot the historical center and walk along the seaside promenade. The renovation works, finished in the year 2011, kept the ancient look the same as before but inside is made comfortable and modern. Owners' love for the art has made a perfect union between history and tradition, ancient and modern, mediterranean and classic styles. The cross ceilings and the tipical amalphitan capitals give to the structure the historical charm of the ancient sea republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Croce di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing